Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Unconventional Time

by OccamsRazor - Compo Entry

Welcome to Unconventional Time!

There's you and a diamond, and a jungle full of obstacles between you and it. You have exactly one weapon at your disposal - Time!

You play a jungle explorer with the wonderful - and not at all inexplicable - ability to manipulate time. Send objects forward or backward through time to make your way through the jungle.

-----

WASD or Arrow Keys for movement.
Manipulate Objects under your mouse cursor:
Left Click - Speed Up Time
Right Click - Reverse Time

-----

Unity Web Player is my only web build currently, so if you want to play it in a browser, you'll need to use something other than Chrome.

However, I've included standalone builds for Windows, OS X and Linux to attempt to make up for it.

<<Had some early build problems, but new builds are uploaded and packaged properly, hopefully everything works now>>

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#90Innovation3.89
#103Theme3.97
#231Overall3.55
#339Fun3.32
#523Audio2.75
#684Graphics2.84

Comments

Somnium says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:57am

I get the following error, when trying to run the windows executable: "There should be 'UnconventionalTime_Data'
folder next to the executable"

Croze says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:58am

You didn't export the game properly, you can't just have the unity EXE as the file you need that _data file, so it isn't playable right now my friend

jbasinger says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:59am

I think you're missing something with your entry. I'm getting a "Data folder not found" error, and the web player isn't working either. =(

OccamsRazor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:59am

Whoops, my fault, made a mistake in what I uploaded. New builds coming up, check back soon!

ZQMony says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:01am

Nice job on the game. It's very unique and fun to play.

Toby Pinder says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:03am

Actually quite clever! Some great conceptual stuff in there. Felt a little bit padded because the trees took a bit too long to [interact with] but I can see this concept going further!

ErikU says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:04am

Wow, this game is really nice. Great application of the theme, very nice usage of the mechanic in surprising ways. I especially like the solution to the arrows - the first time I thought it was to bubble yourself with slow to repel, but they snuck through anyhow. Then speed on yourself - great idea. Well done!

Multiplexor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:05am

I like the concept :D The puzzles feel very nice. The only thing i didn't like is the trees, they are too slow to ungrow... The lasers,arrows, and turrets are very nice tough :D

Keep the good work!

khahem says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:06am

Good idea, it was a bit hard to use on an AZERTY keyboard though, but still playable enough to have fun.

OccamsRazor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:07am

New builds are up now, so hopefully Windows build will work now!

Thanks for the feedback. Yeah...the trees might be too slow, no real reason for them to be that way.

@ErikU - that was one of my favourite puzzles :) You can sneak through by slowing time, but speeding up yourself is much easier :)

rantt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:50am

Yay, I got the diamond. Fun game, very clever mechanic for using time. Fun game, I really enjoyed it :)

Jon Reid says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Great! Really loved the idea of messing with time in a controlled area. Would have loved to have seen more things that used the time going forward, as pretty much everything was just reversing time.

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:57pm

I like the idea of time, and I like how it only affects where the cursor is. It is a bit tedious to fire the bullets back at the thingys, but it was a good idea nonetheless!

Garris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:58pm

I liked the music and it was a fun and challenging game! The use of time as an unconventional weapon was neat, and defeating the enemies with time was clever!

AlexDJones says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Clever mechanic, reasonably well executed with some neat puzzles. Nice entry!

Dungeonation says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Very interesting concept! Using time to manipulate your world? Nice job.

jordyadan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Grat game, unique mechanics and intuitive gameplay.

scorder says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Nicely executed.
I foolishly tried to accelerate the trees so that they died, but they did not want to.
The difficulty is good, I did die a few times, but thanks to your checkpoints, that was not frustrating.

Good job!

OccamsRazor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Thanks everyone! I'm glad people are enjoying it, its great to hear! Ya, the 'combat' is a little slow, but that ended up being almost a product of the mechanics.

@Scorder That.....that would have been a great idea. Probably something I should have done, if my sleep deprived and over-caffeinated brain thought of that.

Infernobomb says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:28am

It is a very original idea, and I enjoyed it. Although, I have to say, that soundtrack is kind of repetitive, and I jumped every time I rusted the iron door :P . Overall it is entertaining, and unique

Beege says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Nice idea and use of the theme. I'd have liked it if you could have made the trees grow older and die as well as younger and smaller as my first intuition was to make them older and die. Overall fun little game :-)

nonetheless says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Nice idea :)

dreadzilla says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Nice game. I liked it a lot!

Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Nice game and ideas !
I gave up at the crossing lasers with the 4 tanks.

Zinhet says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Really neat game. One thing I noticed was that bullets would still hit you even if you were placed back on a previous map.

KloudRazor says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Awesome concept, although the collisions were a bit clunky and the aging of trees could have been speed up a little ;)

Shivur says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:54am

Very good concept! The only things are that the puzzles are a little bit repetitives and the forward time mechanic is underused.

pixzleone says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Cool but hard! Great effort!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]