Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Fight The Sleep

by McFish - Compo Entry

Avoid sleepy sheeps (or throw them with coffee cups), while trying to stay on scoring area as long as you can. More coffee can be found from the coffee room, but don't get lost as the office is large and sheeps don't know mercy ;-P

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#221Audio3.30
#443Humor2.92
#554Mood2.93
#630Theme3.25
#792Graphics2.64
#832Fun2.71
#937Overall2.71
#964Innovation2.43
#1305Coolness49%

Comments

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:14am

Fair simple little coffee-shooter. If I had one main complaint, the point at which the screen scrolls is pretty close to the end, made me worried I was going to walk into the sheep :p

tomdeal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:14am

Solid Attempt. I like the background music, makes me feel sleepy :-) I don't like how the screen moves, I can't see where I am going. Also, I find it very hard to aim at the sheep because I need to run towards them to fire in the direction.

minnouu says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:20am

The background music is good. It's really hard to aim, and it would probably be better if the camera kept focused on the character rather than scrolling when the character got to the edge of the screen.

Jadernak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:21am

Hard to know where you are shooting and agree with Dragon XVI about the camera. But otherwise fun game and nice concept.

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:06am

Add pointer where is current see direction, so player would be easier to aim.

10FingerArmy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Hm, the download was flagged by Avira Antivir as infected with "TR/Dropper.Gen". Not sure how to proceed here. Probably a false alarm? Anybody else seeing this?

sawyerWeld says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Interesting take on the theme, I like it! It is odd that the sheep can go through walls and their shots cannot.

Alice says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:48pm

I also found it hard to aim, but this is a fun little game.

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Its hard to aim the coffee cups. I like the music though, kinda enforces the fighting sleep part.

McFish says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Yep, it seems that avira really flags the exe as Dropper.gen, but that's false positive. Most likely avira doesn't like gamemakers way of building exe files?

But none of the other scanners react to the file:

https://www.virustotal.com/fi/file/fca79d936f412d458bfea12def9a9f6e290cea6fa01a1476c11368e72435ad6d/analysis/1429553213/

McFish says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:13pm

@sawyerWeld: My intent was to make sheeps use path finding to go around walls, but the a* algorithm I managed to whip up, sucked badly and caused the game to become just boring. And on the other hand, if sheeps could shoot through wall the game got too hard to play at all :)

plams says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Great music! The aiming reminded me of Binding of Isaac

2Bit says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:34am

The aiming has already been mentioned but I think one of the problems with it is that it seems to be slow to aim in the direction that you're trying to aim in. Other than that it's a nice game.

shrapx says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:08pm

top score for audio, i loved that track :D, aiming is really hard, and the camera tracking was behind the player instead of in front, but i guess that is what its like when we feel sleepy :D im falling asleep thinking about it.. zz

Xanjos says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Pretty simple but I like the concept. I think it might be better if you keep switching the placement of the coffee room every now (because I find it a bit too easy to just camp there and hurl coffee cups like no tomorrow). Also is it me or does the player character look a lot like Brock from Pokemon :P?

jushii says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:27am

Fun little game! It's a bit hard to aim without taking hits since you have to move towards the sheep at the same time. :(

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]