Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Light of the Living Dead

by careless - Jam Entry

Light of the Living Dead - a cute horror random dungeon game.

You play Lanny, a female who is fighting her way through infinite rooms with only a torch to fight of nasties.

You have limited torch but recharge points that will top up your batteries, point the torch (cursor) at the bats and devils and burn them to bits. As long as your pointer line cuts through the enemy they will be hurt.

Missing from the game is difficulty progression and a boss fight, amongst other things. This is my first ever LD jam but feel free to be honest about the game.

Install: Make sure you extract the files

** Running on a mac? After running the jar check... Prefs > Security & Privacy > General you will have to allow the app to run if you only allow apps from the Mac App Store.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#139Fun(Jam)3.65
#152Overall(Jam)3.69
#157Mood(Jam)3.61
#172Audio(Jam)3.53
#215Theme(Jam)3.78
#322Innovation(Jam)3.38
#331Graphics(Jam)3.67
#611Humor(Jam)2.66

Comments

Josh Riley says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:00am

Really cool lighting effects! The game also plays really nice too, it makes a shooter 10x better when there's a mechanic that gives you a reason not to shoot. Great work!

ruerob says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:54am

What a great atmosphere and what a great game! I like this entry a lot! Very great work!!!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:34am

This is amazing! The fact that collecting the power for your torch makes the room go dark really adds to the tactics of it. Good job!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:09pm

Fantastic Art and Design! 5 Stars!

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Really amazing game! I enjoyed the RPG elements to Upgrade your Weapon. Graphics were good too. I had fun while playing this.

SadSmile says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Realy cool man!

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:33pm

My idea was to use light as a weapon too! Of course, you accomplished this much better than I did! It was well polished and just felt great!

terpin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Thank you for doing your lighting this way! So many made it a straight shot, having it dither off to one side or another really improves the experience and makes me want to keep exploring. Good job, creator!

OrkyOrks says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Great game. I like the concept and using light as your weapon is awesome.

reiknight says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Wow, the game is really something! It's like "Attack on titans" meet "Alan Wake" or something like that hehe, great work. As a minor complain... I got stuck on a level so maybe your algorithm for the dungeon generation have a little bug. Keep going!

StrayByte says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Great game. Spot on and in place with the theme. Good job.

Ryusui says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Very intense, not to mention difficult. I never made it past the second level myself. ^_^; Very professional-looking, on top of everything else!

Smiley says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:05pm

mmm.. Box2dlights <3 I used it a lot in my entry last year :)

silentbaws says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:07pm

JNI error occured

Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:10pm

Great game. A 2d alan wake? Why not?!

careless says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:15am

Thanks for all the great feedback so far.

I would really like to add more variety and a boss fight.

@silentbaws did you extract the game? What OS are you on please?

F. Wiktora says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:05am

Nice one! The effects are amazing! Keep it up!

DKoding says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:29pm

One of the most playable 'use the light as weapon' games so far. I'm a sucker for lighting effects as you probably can see in my game as well. :-)

elitegoliath says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Slick game man! Well done!

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 3:24am

This is by far the ludlum dare game that kept me playing for the longest so far. awesome game. Would be really awesome with a sense of progression, like the missing boss fight you were talking about. The trembling camera makes me expect something big and scary! good job =D

PaperBlurt says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 9:18am

This atmosphere is through the roof!
So eerie and spooky.
Nice use of lights.

HolyBlackCat says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Can't launch it: "A Java Exception has occurred.". Also, "Web" links are for games that can be played in a browser.

But screenshots look nice. :D

smokecastles says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Nice atmosphere thanks to the great use of light effects. That sense of uncertainty when you know enemies are around but you can't see them is very well done! A really good work, congratulations!

careless says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 11:38pm

Thanks for all the great feedback.

@HolyBlackCat - my mistake I should not have put a web link in. Did you unzip it before running it? Sorry it didn't work.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]