Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Burrito Socorrista‏

by Gipzo - Jam Entry

What happens, when Zombies meet burritos? A tastiest zombocalypse! See for yourself as you try to survive with only burritos at your disposal.
Explore the city, find ingredients, make burritos and fight zombies with’em.

Move
A,D - move
W or Space - jump
Left click - throw left Burrito
Rightclick - throw right Burrito
Mousewheel - switch burritos while in Burrito Maker

Find Ingredients
Zombies come in waves and get stronger with each wave.
There are 4 spots on the map where you can find ingredients. They respawn each wave. So you have to check them often to find most ingredients.


Make burritos
You can make them in you trailer, using ingredients that you find. Let your inner chef out and experiment, as each ingredient have different effects and combined they make have powerful cominations.

Dead? Play again
The game has 6 types of zombies, with different abilities.
5 types of wrapping, 5 main ingredients, 11 additional ingredients and 5 sauces - it have great replayability :)

Tools
Unity 5
Blender
Sketchup
Paint.net
Photoshop cc

People
Artyom Shambalyov aka Gipzo - Modelling, Programming, Art
Nikita Bobchenko - Game-design, Testing

Thanks
Kevin MacLeod for awesome music
Google SketchUp Warehouse for some background models

P.S. By the way, some of old-old cheatcodes are working ;)

Updated 21.04.2015:
- Added OS X Build
- Changed WebPlayer hosting to Itch.io
- Right click is working in WebPlayer

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#97Humor(Jam)3.76
#159Theme(Jam)3.85
#165Fun(Jam)3.60
#237Mood(Jam)3.46
#267Overall(Jam)3.52
#373Graphics(Jam)3.57
#595Innovation(Jam)2.98

Comments

NoxiiStudio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:02am

A really funny game, a little repetitive, the first waves being a bit too long. Nice graphics (but not that sexy).
I really likes the mood of it! It's a fine piece of Burrito!

mandolin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:04am

Love the graphics and the survival aspects. Crafting was cool and would love to see more of it in later iterations

Gipzo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:11am

The game has 6 types of zombies, with different abilities.
5 types of wrapping, 5 main ingredients, 11 additional ingredients and 5 sauces - it have great replayability :)

P.S. By the way, some of old-old cheatcodes are working ;)

Sublustris says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:07am

Nice game :)

Shimmergloom says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:20am

Very cool and funny. Only problems I had was understanding why I ought to make new burritos and hitting the zombies right against the burito stand.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:27am

Good game. Interesting replayability. However I find it a bit repetitive, try to add some variation in the level.

But still a great idea, I've been all my life wondering why didn't we have some zombies&burritos games :D

Gipzo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:38am

Yeah, we didn't had much time for play test. After third or fourth level there are new types of zombies: jumping, throwing and "die and spawn 3 more" types :)

The main point to leave burrito stand is to get new ingredients...

By the way, cheat codes are iddqd and idkfa ;)

Big Cow says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:41am

Really nice graphics, fitted the mood very well. Solid mechanics, felt very satisfying to throw a burrito hard at a zombie and make it explode.

koredozo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:42am

Awesome game overall, very funny and fun. I think the area is a bit too large and samey though, it's tedious to run through the whole thing when there's no reason to explore besides 'you might find a bonus.'

Gipzo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:56am

Well, you always find bonus in bonus points. We thought players would go in one direction to the end at first wave. It takes about one wave duration time to get the end. So after first two waves you will return to the stand with 4 new ingredients and couple of drop bonuses...

But yeah, area is a bit large. Though it was larger at first :)

Perjoka says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:41am

Nice game, well done! Rightclick doesn`t work in webplayer.

ChronoDK says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:41am

This was pretty fun - never knew burritos could be so deadly!

alpha_rat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:44am

The waves are a bit too long, especially the first ones
It's a bit repetitive but becomes more in,teresting as the upgrades appear

I like that you implemented leaderboards

Gipzo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:07pm

Perjoka, fixed rightclick.

I guess we should make separate version with more fun waves... now I'm trying to port this to OSX.

camlang says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Had fun with the elceltrifying stuff and zombies going apeshit flying all over the place, walking in the background looking lost =) It's almost impossible to loose standing on the roof of the burrito stand.

Hjalte500 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Pretty awesome game but you can basically just spam both mousebuttons and run. But the real question is how do I make the zombies jump? Great game.

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:58pm

This was pretty fun! Good art and controlled well. I think the waves were a little long, and I experienced some frame-rate drops. At first I was getting bored but more flavors really helped with that. Great job!

Drauthius says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Wow! Really nice game. I especially like the pixel art in the 3D environment, really slick.

nonetheless says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:50pm

holding arrow and spamming buttons lets you go all the way, but nice entry in general :)

dydx says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Nice effects and environments. I wish the special zombies started showing up earlier in the game.

Blobo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Freaking hilarious! laughed the whole way through. killing zombies with rapid-fire burritos. this made my day!

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Good mood and nice gameplay. Good job!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Really funny gameplay.
I wasn't able to unlock more than one ingredient though, you should make it easier to do it.
It is funny and satisfacting, but the difficulty curve is too flat.

Biliogadafr says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Wow. Thanks gods that wave 15 was the last one =). I like gameplay and graphics. Music also was great. I was surprised with such big detailed level with a lot of objects on it. Good job.

goblin says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:54pm

No esta nada mal, es entretenido aunque el sonido se oye demasiado fuerte. Un gran trabajo :)

SimianLogic says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Do the different burritos actually do anything differently? A pity you don't want ratings for sounds, I thought that was the funniest part!

The gameplay itself is pretty repetitive -- there needs to be some sort of ammo constraint or cooldown to keep you from just spamming burritos.

Gipzo says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 1:22pm

SimanLogic, burritos' ingredients, wrapping and sauces modify burritos damage, making speed and have some different effects - fire, acid, explosions. For example, falafel ingredient makes burrito split into three chicken ones (which explode on contact). You can read more about different effects in burrito-making windows on tooltips.

Now we're working on slightly modified version of the game - I guess we'll do a post with links on this week...

PaperBlurt says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 9:21am

I myself have always wondered what'll happen if zombies eat burriots.
Finally I get an explanation!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]