Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

MicroGrave

by raisedmedia - Jam Entry

It’s Ludum Dare time! And for the first event of 2015, the elected theme was “An Unconventional Weapon".

After some brainstorming and a few crazy ideas later, like self destructing kittens and deficating drunk pigeons, we’ve come up with something that really embodies “unconventional”...

What’s the game, you ask?

We present.. MicroGrave!

Battle against the evil Conventional Oven with your Unconventional Microwave in a street fighter style fighting game with full of special attacks, fatalities and face-melting effects, I assure you that “face-melting" is not a hyperbole.

If smashing electric appliances is not your thing (how could it not be?!) stay for the awesome soundtrack by Windom Earle (https://windomearle.bandcamp.com/album/gold-wave).

1 Player vs. AI
2 Player (Local) Multiplayer

Controls:
Player1
Move Left - A
Move Right - D
Jump - W
Attack1 - C
Attack2 - V
Attack3 - B

Player2
Move Left - Left Arrow
Move Right - Right Arrow
Jump - Up Arrow
Attack1 - I
Attack2 - O
Attack3 - P

ESC To Quit

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#184Humor(Jam)3.54
#317Audio(Jam)3.20
#369Fun(Jam)3.25
#516Theme(Jam)3.36
#627Graphics(Jam)3.06
#651Overall(Jam)3.06
#722Mood(Jam)2.76
#753Innovation(Jam)2.67

Comments

chipcaramel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:08pm

I can't... even. I will never look at a microwave the same way again.

kivano says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:23pm

I like the graphic effects, nice particles and shaders when someone dies :) The idea is rather crazy: a battle between microwave and oven.. I would try to put some special little less conventional abilities to make diversity between oven and microwave.. Don't know what really, something like gravity steering or slowing time.. Anyway we found this game very fun and funny especially in two player mode :)

43iscoding says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:28am

Man, you're crazy :D Something's horrible is happening on screen, but its pretty fun!

SkyWolf says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:44am

I've got the urge to trash my microwave now. >_>

Suvidriel says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:46am

This is wonderful! Love the music too

Horsed says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:07pm

Weird but cool stuff going on there :-) I was bad at controlling the microwave using both hands.

MGhareeb32 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Is that what they do when no one is looking? :D

Very suitable graphics, concept fits theme perfectly, and awesome fatalities. Although the controls weren't very smooth, I beat the AI every single time. :D

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Lots of fun, answers the age old question of who would win in a fight. my oven or microwave

nonetheless says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:38pm

heh, well done :)

thaaks says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Nice game although controls are a bit complicated. Graphics, sound and music are well done, so are the particles and graphics effects.
Controls could be improved/simplified.
Well done! Luckily we don't have a micro wave and our oven is a pacifist ;-)

peterkirk says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:03pm

I never thought I'd be playing a game like this. Some of the effects and art were good, but it lost some of it's awe when I noticed the outside of the map.

oinariman says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Crazy! I want to see more player characters (a fridge or a washing machine?) in this game's style.

borgi says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:40pm

I have no idea what was happening :D But crazy cool idea!

goblin says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Great game, loved the graphics effects. Good job!
check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

MegaPonies says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:42am

Haha! Eat fire you damned appliance!
Very cool game :) Awesome death effects!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]