Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Great Shooting

by holgk - Compo Entry

The Great Shooting

Hollywood during the war. Your CO assigned you to a new post. The National Movie Studios are your new post. Build your own movie studio and produce propaganda movies. Be profitable and keep up the moral of the nation.

How to play: inside the game (top left "Help Me" button). I forgot to add to the HOWTO that you can zoom with your mouse wheel.
Additional info: build and upkeep costs bottom right button

INFO: For those who still have problems reading slected buildings/objects info. Focus the popup and zoom in on it (mouse wheel).

Tools used:
- Unity 5
- Cinema 4d
- Audacity
- Substance Designer
- cgMusic
- Photoshop

Web build:
I created a old fashion unity web build. The HTML5/WebGL build was totaly garbage. For those Chrome users please use the standalone build for your platform. The builds are quite small so try them out.

I changed the size of web player so for those who had some problems reading the text, I hope that makes it a bit better.

I added builds for linux and OS/X.
I don't have a device for testing so if there is a problem with this (and other builds) please tell me. I do my best to fix this problems.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#359Graphics3.38
#419Audio2.95
#620Mood2.85
#683Innovation2.91
#752Overall2.95
#795Humor2.25
#836Theme2.96
#925Fun2.54

Comments

nurabsal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:53am

my studio was a bit... special =/

micahcowan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:57am

Text is too small/blurry for me to read (didn't rate). :(

Fanttum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:02am

AN interesting idea for a type of game I think we see to much of, but mostly well done. Text was really small...

indigo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:07am

I felt the controls were a little bit rough, I had trouble moving objects (like scripts) around. Nice game though.

OccamsRazor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:12am

Cool concept! Reminds me of The Movies, an old sim game I used to play :) Quite fun!

One tip - if you need to use right click as a control in your web player build, in Player Settings, choose "No Context Menu", that way a menu doesn't appear when you right click :)

holgk says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:36am

Thank's OccamsRazor for the tip totaly forgot this option.

MrDave says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:02am

Its nice to see a game of this complexity. A good theme and feeling to the game. gj

Birke says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:09am

I could not figure out how to place the scripts in the casting office so was not able to progress from that point on

KloudRazor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:17am

Although the controls were a bit clunky, the game is fun and I would like to play a finished version of it.

marccspro says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:35am

Nice game ! I like the fact that you can make tons of different studios :D

syawqy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:41am

it make remember the movies game

Thijs Tak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:13pm

Fun game, though the text was sometimes hard to read.

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Cool graphics, but text was hard to read.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Kinda complex which is impressive.

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Surprisingly micromanagey. You can start to get multiple loops going, when I started I was curious why the studio was so large and it is because they take so long to write/film it, that to make it profitable you need to do multiple of them simultaneously.

EwChap says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Neat concept. I like that you took the theme in a non-combat direction.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Idea is great. But is a bit difficult to find out what you are supposed to do.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Cool game! Innovative idea, great graphics and a new take on the Ludum Dare theme - Bravo!

Good luck!

Matsuki says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:27pm

The was a lot of fun, They way to move the items around (movies, scripts, etc.) was a little weird but other then that it was great. good job!

PeerPlay says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:28pm

I am very curious to how you made painting terrain, and placing objects, so thumbs up for that in 48 hours. I didnt understand the game how to get my movie line working though haha

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Pipeline the propaganda!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:41pm

I wish more people would make rts games. I have had a bit of experience on sets that take place on locations(like where people live). I can imagine a level where you have to watch out for the little people. The controls are a bit off near the edge of the screen probably due to the distortion of the perspective. This is is quite ambitious for 48 hours. Good show!

calavera says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Wow very nice! I made some strange strange films it seems..

LTPATS says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:04am

This was cool! Took a little while to get the hang of how to play, but once I got into the groove it was fun! The screen was too big for my monitor and the text was pretty small when zoomed out. I'm not sure if the grass and other scenery actually added anything so I never really used it much but I won anyway. Overall I really liked it, great work!

Wevel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Quite difficult to start, also it doesn't tell you how to put a script or movie into a building - took i while to work out.

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:46pm

I won! After trying to figure out how to put a script into another building, or rather on top of the X beside it. :-)
But nice work!

jhell says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:41am

Very impressive entry. The flow is good and the UI mastered. It lacks a progression element IMHO (unlocking new buildings) to really hook the player but then again we only had 48h. Good job!

cgmorton says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:41pm

This is a great assembly line type game, but I don't know why you decided to make it in 3d. A simpler interface would have improved the experience for me, as I had a lot of trouble clicking on the right things and moving them around.

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:03pm

nice graphics.. but too heavy..

GAFBlizzard says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Creative, solid entry. You might be able to expand this after the compo if you wanted.

GAFBlizzard says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 6:10pm

I forgot to mention, it was kind of difficult to place the scripts. Doing the game in 2D, or snapping things like scripts to the slot, would make it easier.

Madball says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 2:52pm

That's an unusual entry! I liked that you give a lot of possibilities. However, they seem excess. So much things aren't required, like grass, or rotating the camera, and the game is too short to use them.

At first I was doing well, but then I lost before publishing my first film. You should make the approval rating wait for you to make your first step, I lost a lot while reading help. I didn't even finish reading it, and the first script I made got stuck inside a casting office, as I thought I need to place in the center of it. Indeed, if a script is next to a building, it might be hard to move it.

The film publishing strategy is repetitive and simple. Drag the film with you mouse from A to B, from B to C etc. Repeat.

I liked the story elements and the film names. This game looks like a sandbox, with cool customization features, but the gameplay runs out quickly.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]