Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Super Banana Bullet Hell

by helekopeter - Compo Entry

kill bananas with bananas

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#336Humor3.14
#608Theme3.28
#621Fun2.96
#914Innovation2.55
#949Graphics2.33
#950Overall2.69
#956Mood2.31

Comments

Blobo says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Pretty good game. the shooting could use a little work.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:57am

this was a fun game, I like how the bananas could stop the bullets and how they flew curved through the air.

Would have liked it a little more if aiming the bananas was more straight forward.

Dohxis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:36pm

That was fun!

Suvidriel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Aiming was a bit difficult but otherwise really nice game :)

cgriff says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:03pm

It's a bit confusing to start with and could do with some more SFX and feedback on what is happening. Once I got the aiming sorted I was able to make a little progress - an interesting game.

ajopart says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:06pm

whatever you took to boost your creativity during your brainstroming session, I want it. Fun little game, original design, psychedelic effects. Well done

helekopeter says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:07pm

plz send me suggestions on how to improve the aiming.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:33pm

I like the idea, but the graphics are highly aliased. The fonts should be a bit more smooth atleast. Good game though.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Pretty fun, great use of the theme.

As for aiming suggestions, maybe have the aim follow the mouse cursor? I think that might be a lot easier.

helekopeter says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:49pm

that won't work because the bananas are always turning direction. so if i aim at a banana it will miss the target completely.
and no i'm not removing the turning.

kidando says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:54pm

"Kill bananas with bananas" I like that :D. That was pretty fun. I destroyed the big banana!!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Neat game, funny concept! I included it in part 1 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/-ZkAqIe6FiQ

zatyka says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:48pm

That was trippy. Simple, but enjoyable. Having the floor at different angel was a good design choice.

Controls were probably my biggest issue. As for a suggestion, I'd say use the mouse, but not like cross-hairs. Perhaps hide the cursor, and make character's arm range from 180-360 Degrees (360 is facing right)depending on the mouse's X coordinate. For example, if the screen is 200 pixels wide, set the arm angle to:
180 + (mouse.x/200)*180)

tonypai says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Ha! There's so many banana! This game is very funny and innovative. Especially I love the bgm, but the sfx is a little squeaky.

tonypai says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Sorry I misunderstood, that bgm is from another game in different tab of my browser. :P

helekopeter says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:54pm

@zatyka i dont think you can hide the cursor in c2. But thx anyway

flummox3d says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Oh god NO. NOT THE BANANAS.
Fun little game, although I also had trouble with the aiming. But fun nonetheless :)

marinalucio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:10am

I had fun!
I love that the graphics are retro looking. Nice entry :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:42pm

I will tweet you with a link to a gameplay and review video of this game.

agilejoshua says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:30pm

Impossible to play on macbook air since you cant hold right click on touchpad and left click at the same time...

colludium says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:52pm

I think something has crashed. Not scored - the 3 bananas in the middle were rotating together and they were spawning hundreds of red squares that spiraled off the screen. Eye catching, but I suspect not what was intended! Played in Chrome.

helekopeter says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:00pm

No that was intended @colludium

Leandrus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Crazy game. Crazy weapon. hahaha :D
Thanks for sharing.

zatyka says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:08pm

@helekopeter

Yes, you can. Action->Mouse->Set cursor Style->None

Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:15pm

This game made my day, just hilarious ! I really enjoyed playing it ! Crazy gameplay, pretty memorable ! Good job.

LukuluK says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 10:45pm

I love bananas and danmakus so I enjoy the concept :p
But concerning the controls, it would be easier to shoot in the direction of the mouse directly, no ?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]