Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Super Burning Mummy!

by WhoaConstrictor - Compo Entry

Super Burning Mummy is a puzzle platformer about leveraging your flammability. Help the mummy escape his tomb, because if a mummy is animate, their tomb is a very boring place to be.

This was created with a self-imposed challenge of "no in-game text". I tried to teach mechanics as organically as possible.

Was working on this down to submission deadline, and there's still a lot of polish that is missing. Had to make some rough choices when deciding what to keep and what to cut. Definitely going to keep working on this, though.

Controls:
Move: A + D / left + right arrows
Jump: Space / up arrow

Engine: Unity 5
Music: FL Studio
SFX: Audacity + sfxr
Art: Art Rage 4 (Hand Drawn)

Download soundtrack: https://soundcloud.com/npaavo/super-burning-mummy

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#13Fun4.17
#13Mood4.24
#22Innovation4.17
#27Audio4.09
#36Overall4.00
#56Theme4.13
#68Humor3.86
#93Graphics4.04
#1811Coolness36%

Comments

Mano says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:30am

Quite fun, unique idea. Only thing is I'd like the controls to be less sensitive. Has the potential for many levels to be made.

kyyrma says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Fun idea, nice polished game. This is something that could actually work in a full game - maybe on a mobile platform. Right now the biggest issue how floaty and sensitive the controls are.

crazya02 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:33pm

It crashed when I reached the first flag...

joaovitorbf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Nice job making the game! The mechanic is really great!
Good luck with your game

chaosed0 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Essentially what others said - good idea, good fun, finnicky controls. Well polished presentation.

huminaboz says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:42pm

Cool mechanic and fun to play/solve puzzles.

th4t says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:45pm

Really awesome entry.
Very polished and unique puzzle elements.
Clever implementation of the theme.

cicanci says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Great game! Loved the art and gameplay!

ChrisGaudino says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Very unique and fun idea. Well done!

nassi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:53pm

Level design was pretty clever for the most part, but I gave up at the "endless climb of fire with leap of fates and water jugs". The one where you start on a platform with two fires and deadly red stuff under it. I tried it at least 30 times, but was still unable to pass it. I think I got close once, but I'm just not good enough at platformers. Felt too fast and unprecise especially when lit on fire.

Good game design and atmosphere, but the gameplay could use some fine tuning.

skiper4e says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:02am

Love the game! I agree with Mano, the controls could use some work.

Sim says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:08am

Clever idea and lots of well designed levels with plenty of variety. It took me a while to realise that the mummy could be wet, and that hitting the fire once extinguishes the water. Making the controls less sensitive and slippery would make the platforming less frustrating, especially that last level >:(

Wow says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:16am

Interesting mechanic, and the amount of depth you were able to reach with the gameplay was really impressive. The graphics were neat and I loved the music. Some work on making the controls a little bit less frustrating and I would have no idea this was made within a time limit.

NoSoupForYou says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:17am

I really enjoyed this interpretation of the theme, and the fire/water mechanics introduced a lot more depth than I thought possible at first. These mechanics were intuitive for the most part, which is due in no small part to the excellent level design. On top of all this, the art and music were very well done. One of the best games I've seen this LD.

Pix3M says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 9:14am

I think you accomplished your goal pretty well, the game can be picked up very easily. Visual and audio agree with each other and work well, and overall a pretty good submission

Aik says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 6:57am

Really good, but yeah - controls are a bit painful, especially at that endless climb level, where I think I'll call it quits.

S0lll0s says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 7:04pm

Like others have said, very floaty controls. Aside from that a great entry, definetely very cool mechanics with a lot of potential. I do think a little more polish would've been possible.

May 11, 2015 @ 4:23am

I greatly admire the no in-game text goal, although the percentage health meter is arguable :-)... personally I'd make that meter a major part of the ui (e.g. even stuff like fire around the edges of the screen when you're getting low, faster music, etc. to increase the panic). Some sound effects to go with the cool (if a little repetitive) music would go a long way. The controls are a little loose and it's a bit challenging to be precise with some jumps when you're on fire.

All that said, I think this definitely has the base mechanics, humour, and idea needed for a more fleshed out game and I'll keep a lookout for it post-jam if you keep working on it. Really nice job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]