Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The TV Remote

by Leandrus - Compo Entry

In the game you get absorbed by your TV and the only weapon that you got it's your TV Remote. But the remote buttons are missing. You must find them to travel throw the different channels (levels) turn off enemies and get to the exit door in the main room.

PS: Be careful with your choices on changing the channels because you will appear at the same position but in a different environment and that can be harmful.

Tip: Orange Stars tips you that it's a safe zone for you to channel up/down/prev


Note: I needed more time to help players on the game, there is no tutorial at the moment. for now it's try and error type of game.
Also didn't have time to establish a remote on the screen for use so you don't have to memorize the keys.

All made with:
Construct2, Inkscape, PixiTracker, MediaHuman Audio Converter and Audacity.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#46Innovation4.06
#211Theme3.78
#359Graphics3.38
#373Mood3.14
#411Overall3.32
#412Humor2.98
#530Audio2.74
#531Fun3.08

Comments

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:56am

Really nice. It seems to me that our games are singularly similar. Neat. A good entry ++

winmac32 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:28am

That is such a neat idea. Great job.

Multiplexor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:31am

Very nice, I like the concept of shifting between planes. Tough it's a bit hard to know where you will teleport!

mcmahoniel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:31am

Reminds me a lot of all the weird games from the '90s. Took a little bit of time to figure out exactly what I was doing, it's really great concept.

Move127 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:35am

Interesting idea. It's pretty tough, you have to die a lot to figure out where you will go.

sliphtrex says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:36am

I think front loading the controls was kind of confusing. the only keys I really used so far were the arrow keys along with e and d. If you had maybe put them in the level like a tutorial it probably could've helped a bit.

Wow says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:38am

Nice visuals, love the monitor effect, the art looks really stylish and the concept is amazing! Very interesting type of puzzle, very fresh. My only gripes are that the sound is abrasive and I wish I could access the remote diagram without having to start over.

Leandrus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:54am

I planned to set the remote on screen as easy visual/reminder and or a initial tutorial. but time was my enemy jejejeje :)

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:55am

The Channel switching is really clever. Good game.

MattV says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:25am

This seems like an amazing idea but there's no way I can remember what all the buttons do.

ZQMony says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:27am

Very cool idea and game. Very tough, but a well done game.

Garris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:57am

Presentation is really nice overall. I found some of the sound effects a little bit grating, and some guidance would have been helpful, but the concept is really interesting, and the bits I did manage to figure out were fun.

KedumeBits says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:28am

It's hard to understand the logic of the game. Finally, i undertand it, and i like the logic. It's a nice concept and game. Congratulations.

helekopeter says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Nice concept, but really confusing

khahem says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:36pm

It took me a bit of time to get it, but the idea if changing channels it really well done here.

It actually felt more like a puzzle, I'm wondering if the game would have been better without limited lived at all, just trying to figure out how to progress and explore.

Great game !

Mimus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Very interesting, I liked the game alot!
(Google Translate, I'm French)

generic_ghost says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:39pm

The channel changing mechanic was really cool! I found the platform mechanics restricting though, it was hard to move through the levels. With a few fixes and testing this is worth expanding into a fun game. Great job!

ashtonharding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:08pm

I thought it was pretty cool. :)

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:00am

Hey, that's really cool. using different channels as different maps is really cool. ItÅ› a bit hard to get started, and some more guidance would have been great. But it's a solid concept, and a fun on to boot. Thumbs up!

Finn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:54am

Great idea, though bit irritating to change a channel and get instant death.

Headmade says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Very interesting idea and well implemented too.
However it seems to be impossible to predict if it's safe to switch the channel or not. I think there should be a way of knowing otherwise it's very frustrating to explore the world especially since you have limited health.

Interface says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:26am

Nice game, but pretty hard with insta death on switching (without knowing where you'll end up), and complicated controls. Perhaps a way to get back to the help screen, or on-screen tutorials of some kind.

Iak says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:17am

Very cool game. Maybe a bit troublesome that I have to learn by heart the game before I can do anything without dying, but hey there are games like that, too.

Zener says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:40pm

Excellent idea, and very well implemented

bace1000 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:31am

Quite confusing at first, but it made sense in the end for me! You should have explained which controls mattered as they were introduced, and also made the jump slightly higher. Well done!

ccglp says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Very nice idea, the channel switching mecanic is good

C.Lodwick says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:06pm

really interesting gameplay design. tough to master, but fun to explore. felt great when a channel switch worked out. controls should be accessible from game also i just read the orange stars tip that's pretty cool but probably hard to figure out one's own.

Kitch says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:48am

Really cool concept, and could be a lot of fun. The limited lives felt a bit punishing, especially when starting out. But a really cool idea and great concept.
Thanks

Blobo says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:10am

Really cool game. i love the concept. i found a glitch allowing you to infinitely double jump by switching channels though.

nameoftheuser says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Love the crt shader you did

Leandrus says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Thanks all. A lot of good feedback here on the comments.

May 4, 2015 @ 2:44pm

I loved the concept, but it was too hard! I couldn't find out what to do, I tried to channel up on the orange stars but ended up dying all the same! :(
I hope you keep working on this title, nice job! :)

Leandrus says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 1:48am

Thanks for playing it.
Yes it's a bit frustrating the way it's the game set now.
indeed I'm working on a full/polish version of the game.

May 6, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Very interesting idea, had fun figuring out the mechanics

jk5000 says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Brilliant ide!

Pietdagamer says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Very cool idea!

joppiesaus says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 3:10pm

What an complete game! Theme fits perfectly, really innovative. Graphics and sounds are really neat.
I found it hard to get started thought. Maybe when picking up something, display it's control? Or just a portable legend?
Awesome work.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]