Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Ultimate Booter

by Druid - Jam Entry

Game info:

Game from ancient times, when floppy disks were capable of destroing world!
This one is my firs game which is not just interactive story based on creepypasta :D I was inspired in megaman and dead pixels game. (as you can see on screens).



Controls - AD move SPACE interaction and mouse buttons. (Controls are more explained in gamr tutorial.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#127Audio(Jam)3.67
#194Graphics(Jam)3.95
#346Overall(Jam)3.41
#355Fun(Jam)3.27
#387Mood(Jam)3.24
#418Humor(Jam)3.07
#654Theme(Jam)3.16
#666Innovation(Jam)2.84

Comments

dylanigan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:07pm

Loved the graphics. Nice job!

napoleon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Very fun game !

bpvelloso says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:18pm

Great game, I don't like the controls, and this compromise the fun, but the final result is awesome!

mcburrobit says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:30am

Man I LOVE mega man!

Domicuc says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:31am

I enjoy this old school style :-). Games from u are my favorite.. so good work again!

TideS says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:36am

5 for graphics!

PohyCZ says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:39am

I really like everything about your game, apart from the difficulty. I wasn't able to get past the second level...

Thijs Tak says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:40am

Love the old curved TV effect.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:43am

Great game! Im a child again, thank you!

MJaawa says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:44am

Nice one, especially liked the graphics and music!

jk5000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:59am

Graphics 5++.

Druid says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:53am

Thank you guys! I am really glad you like it!!!

rgehan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:37pm

I really think your game is gonna be well ranked. It's so awesome. There's not a single flaw.

The graphics are magnificent, the music is perfect, the ambiance is so "i-don't-know-what". Well, it's a 5/5 for me.

Really really good job. Keep doing this !

Chikoness says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:25pm

So much nostalgia, thank you!! Love the floppy disc idea

ps: lol sticky hands....

ElectroYak says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:55pm

I really enjoyed it. Anything that's like mega man is good to me

Firaa says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:39am

The floppy disk idea was pretty cool, as was the screen effect. The only thing that really bothered me was the jumping seemed iffy while standing on the ledge of something.

Overall, this was a pretty good entry.

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:44am

pretty fun game~! cool retro art style, neat !

guigrillo13 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Love the game and graphics!!

Ithildin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:37pm

I loved the retro vibe of the whole game, from the graphics to the music AND the difficulty, even if some part of it was caused by the controls, that felt a bit awkward.

Also, there's this minor bug that I found: playing on fullscreen at a widescreen resolution, the detection area for the floppies was offset, so you had to hover around the second floppy to select the first one, and so on.

Despite this, the entry is very solid. Great job!

Solifuge says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Fun, challenging platformer with an interesting powerup mechanic, a solid level worth of content, and a look lifted straight from Mega Man (I'm fond of the style, so you get a pass :P). The tutorial level didn't prepare me at all for the difficulty of the gameplay, though; it wasn't a difficulty curve so much as a difficulty cliff... particularly the gauntlet-run at the start of the second level. It got easier after the first checkpoint, but MAN what a sudden change.

Gameplay wise, I think it would have been nice to have more safe spaces to pause and get your bearings between jumps and plan what to do next to deal with turrets or spikes, (again, particularly the blind drops into spikes or point-blank turret fire at the start of the second level) and maybe some passive puzzles using specific disk powerups like the block-breaking one. Also, I'm not as fond of the blind leaps onto spike pits when I have no ability to see what I'm jumping toward until I do; it's unfair to the player, who doesn't know the level layout like you do. As bus go, the CRT effect seems to have distorted the hitbox on the disk-selection menu, since in order to click on the 4th and 5th slots I was clicking on empty space.

All that said, nice work on your entry, and thanks for the fun! Good luck carrying this idea forward too.

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:23am

I like the screen shader, would love to see more story and original graphics

OberynMartell says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:27am

The graphics and gameplay really resembles a lot the old games. The second stage was very difficult to me, but it wasn't frustrating because I was making progress bit by bit. Very well done!

Tommyno222 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Awesome game! I love the screen effect, after going fullscreen it really feels like a good old game. Music is also pleasing. I understand that second level was intended to be hard but I spent a lot of time in it and weren't able to get far. It'd be great if there was one more level between first and second with lower difficulty but still requiring to use the powers and also possibility to control the game without using mouse would made the controls more user friendly. Anyway really good job!

Mouch says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Still have sticky hands!
10/10

Keep it up mate!

rnlf says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Sticky hands porn program :D And it looks cool. Very good entry!

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Love the art style to this game and would love to see this developed further.

-Neith

Aevek says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Really cool game. Nailed that retro gameplay vibe.

ermrk says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:40am

Great graphic!

plams says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:18am

Sorry couldn't play your game in Wine - got a vertex shader compilation error.

Jwatt says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:55am

Textboxes are wonky and written in lackluster English, which doesn't help with the first impression. I'm conflicted because the design is generally amateurish with some fake difficulty and things like jumps into unknown, but the floppy system is kind of creative, and the production is surprisingly good. It's weird, but I can't tell whether this is somehow fundamentally crude or a solid but rushed game.

Skiddings says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:27pm

This was good, it looked great too, although I found the jumping controls on the second level too frustrating and didn't finish it.

Filip says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Wow, very nice art and music! I'm too soft for the second level though. :(

puppetmaster says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 11:24pm

+ tutorial
+ stylish music
+ retro art
- activating help with jump
- for me jump is to high
Very, well done!! congraz!!

MiniBobbo says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 12:24am

This was a fun entry with a lot of good parts. I do feel that everything played a little too quickly and the assets were a little too large to really get a good grasp of what is going on. If the gameplay was slowed down and everything shrunk by about 50% I personally would have enjoyed it more.

sputnik says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 12:32am

Ahhhhh good old time...

Tommislav says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 9:06am

Great graphics and awesome entry! Only thing that really bothered me was that interact and jump was on the same button =D

AdamW says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 6:31pm

Fun and professionally made game! My only complaint is that space is used for both jumping and interacting.

Yoon says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 9:59am

Dat TV screen effect. The floppy disk mechanics is a cool idea.

One thing that I didn't like was that the character itself felt too much like Mega-Man. I think (personally) you should have made a character that feels 100% yours. Of course I'm taking into account that this was the desired effect.

I'm not gonna nitpick any further because the graphics are great, the game is polished, challenging, the controls feel right and there are a lot of floppy disks to try out !

May 8, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Wow, really polished game - i love the mega man style graphics and audio! Lots os features and a hard last level. One of the best entries i played in this LD. Congrats! :)

ajopart says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 7:49pm

Waow ! Well done. I like the humor !

Dir3kt says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Nice entry. I think the floppy mechanic has lot of potential and could lead to very interesting puzzles. 2nd stage wasn't using so much of them (I gave up after dying 30 times trying to avoid the spikes though).

Oh yeah liked that retro feel :)

May 8, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Man, loved this game! The audio is awesome too! Pretty funny and entertaining :)

Just one annoyance: spacebar to activate the helper system. Sometimes had to jump near the helper, but when over it, the same key activate it, so I tried to jump, but already had read the message... so maybe using E for activate these things, and using spacebar only for jumping could be cool!

Want to see more games from you, see ya!

Druid says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Thank you so much guys! I writing down all yours tips :)

Os_Reboot says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Very fun game, surprisingly well polished. Music is incredible, game play is very smooth. You might want to bind the dialog to a key other than the jump key. Overall very, very well done!

May 9, 2015 @ 12:29am

There's a lot to like about this game-- the score, the curved screen effect, the core concept and the kind of funny powerups (porn gives you sticky hands! hahaha)

But there are two problems with this game that really suck given the genre: your physics are kind of weird, and your level design is kind of bad. You have a lot of leaps of faith where you have to die a million times before you can progress because you have no idea where the platforms are.

Still, I'd like to see this turned into a full game.

May 9, 2015 @ 5:41am

Nice idea with the floppies

UrbanHelsing says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Very good! What to improve: To fast movement for that small screen. Mouse was not at the right pos at fullscreen.

Dejvo says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 3:40pm

the controls are a bit weird and there would have to be a lot of polish done. but pretty neat game.

Xanjos says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 6:23pm

I loved the CRT style effects and the MegaMan inspired gameplay but the game speed is probably a bit too high (especially when the player character jumps)

Zeriver says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 10:21pm

I really like retro games like this, good job on recreating this style. Graphics are the strongest side on this game but gameplay is solid and entertaining, nice mechanics.

nameoftheuser says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 1:19am

Very very nice job!

Jakob37 says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 9:06am

Nice game :) Could maybe make initial instructions briefer? Really enjoyed visuals and music!

OadT says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:29am

The game seems a bit unfair to me. It fells like you need to know the level to complete it, because you don't see some platforms before you jump. So maybe increase the field of view, so that the game is fair even it is quite difficult.
Apart from that it's a great Game, nice art, sound, funny idea! Also it made a lot of fun. It has a lot potential if you do some fine tuning

Nomys_Tempar says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Sweet !

spin-down says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Fantastic graphics and a nice idea with the floppy powerups. I wasn't a fan of the blind jumping and it seemed alot of trial and error was needed to progress, but apart from this it was a good solid entry.

sorlok says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 1:45am

Cool idea, and fun mechanic! Really fits the theme, and the graphics/audio are great! Controls are a bit off sometimes (esp. mouse in fullscreen mode) and gravity seems a bit high. Otherwise, lots of fun!

LTyrosine says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 3:30am

Nice graphics, amazing music! Good work.

Plustech says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Great entry, nice art, nice sound, nice scanlines effect. Not a big fan of the messaging system to teach features. it felt off for me at the 5th message box. Also, jump and interaction same button made it really hard to overcome the first message box. Besides that, good experience overall, good job mate!
BTW the fullscreen button is not activating the Fullscreen.

kyyrma says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Now this was really sweet. A fantastic throwback that still manages to feel fresh. This one is destined for the top 100!

I did have some issues with the last line of text being lost while playing windowed, but that is a minor complaint.

Also, if you are looking to exchange votes:

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=8424

RyanNielson says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 6:55pm

I like the graphics and it seems like a nice throwback to the NES. It did seem unfair though with the spikes you couldn't avoid unless you knew they were already there. The jump physics could also use some work, and perhaps consider making interact and jump different buttons. Well done overall though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]