Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Love is a Weapon

by MdotEdot - Compo Entry

This is about Procedural Generated Robots you 'fight' with love.

The Robots are generated by a seed you can enter and you can select different generated robots.

Made in Stencyl with some Haxe extension code for the generation as well as some ListBox behavior.


Thanks for all the comments.
* 'Game'play : select heart and move mousepointer to robot : touch = love used
* No rating : on purpose

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1952Coolness32%

Comments

hunttis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:40am

I had no idea how to play this. Can you explain it a little bit?

ChronoDK says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:50am

I like the look of the random generated robots - abstract, but still resembling robots somehow.

ThreeUp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:51am

I think the hearts are supposed to match some pattern that is the heart inside the robot? I like the robot, not sure what to do with them

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:58am

i don't get it..

LTPATS says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:04am

Gameplay seems interesting but I can't seem to figure it out. I liked looking at all the different little robots :).

Jagang says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:54am

Same problem for me. I guess I won my fight, but I have no idea why. First I thought I have to touch it with the sharp end of the hearth but it looks like it doesn't matter. I'm lost.

xWarZonex says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:13pm

I don't understand how to play...

tmpxyz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:40am

not quite sure what to do

lcarpentier says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:57am

Was not able to play :(

Donni11 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Wow ! cool game !

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:09pm

I, like most of the others, don't really understand this game. It looks pretty nice, but it would be better if we had some explanation on how to play. :)

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:42pm

No fighting. Only love.

User instructions, ability to lose, and more challenge would make this a more interesting experiment. Also, the procedural generation element is unclear, making the central gimmick of the game ambiguous.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Interesting idea of procedurally generated robots, but there could be more variation between seeds, most robots are very similar to others. I don't get the gameplay though - are there game over / winning conditions?

I cannot rate this game - there are no way to vote (?!?)

Rahazan says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:16pm

I'm not sure how to play, but the robots were nice to look at.

grillaface says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Having trouble understanding this one (nor how to rate).

rzfmzn says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:13pm

absolute no idea how to play, but I like procedural generated stuf :P
(and reading the comments I am not alone heheheh - if you care to explain drop a message at my game :D )

philipp says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:13pm

Too ambiguous, defeated two robots but don't know how. Needs more explanation, though I like the basic idea.

raisedmedia says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Well I won, I think?

lanza says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:44pm

In the end I could work out how to play, but instructions are necessary

Diventurer says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:23am

Well, nice list boxes at least... :D

redding says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 3:33pm

I like the art, but I'm a little confused on what to do.

kunzbe says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 11:48am

Hmm, I dont get it :/

KaiseanGames says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 12:26pm

I am not sure what I'm supposed to be doing.

nassi says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Neat idea to opt out of the rating completely to secure that first place.

Didn't play the game. I guess I feel somewhat cheated. I wan't that mouseclick back!

binarycoder says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 11:52pm

Neat concept. I gather it was unfinished?

MiniBobbo says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 12:26am

Love defeated every robot! At least, I think it did...

sputnik says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 12:55am

Strange game (  ・ิω・ิ) But with love, everything is possible!

freeholdgames says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 1:15am

Doesn't seem finished, the robots always seem to just vanish.

May 7, 2015 @ 1:29am

Why did decide to forgo review scores ?

May 7, 2015 @ 3:54am

I'm not sure I understand the game.

myachin says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 4:02am

very strange
need a tutorial

FrederickK says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 4:10am

The idea of generating an robot depending the word that you write is cool.
Too bad I don't see much difference. :\

Crowbeak says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 10:37am

I have no clue what is going on.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]