Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Time Bomb

by Deozaan - Jam Entry

Find your way to the bridge and activate the self-destruct sequence (red panel). Then make your way back to the teleporter you started at and activate it (via the blue panel on the wall).

GAMEPAD STRONGLY RECOMMENDED!

Uses gamepad dual-stick controls by default. Left stick to move, right stick to look. Shoot with right trigger. Activate panels with A (assuming Xbox 360 controller). Invert Y look axis with I. If you use the keyboard to play, it's oldschool DOOM controls (move forward/backward with W/S or turn left/right with A/D).

Controls are customizable in-game (only during the part of the game you can control your character) with Escape.

Win64 build uses DX11
Win32 build uses DX9

I personally couldn't get the WebGL version to work in Chrome until I updated to version 42.0.2311.135.

*************************
Post-Submission Updates/Fixes:
*************************

* Changed default keybindings to allow turning with WASD (oldschool DOOM style).
* Fixed character moving/shooting while control rebinding window is open.
* Music now loops.
* Fixed look inversion not saving when changed from the default.
* Fixed potential null reference exception on Menu.
* Fixed music staying in slow-motion when losing/winning while slowed by a time bubble.
* Fixed decorative vents in engine room being too high on the wall.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#148Mood(Jam)3.64
#215Theme(Jam)3.78
#315Innovation(Jam)3.39
#543Fun(Jam)3.00
#558Overall(Jam)3.17
#1713Coolness39%

Comments

TaoPhoenix says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:31am

The graphics are stunning!!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:43am

Nice art, but I have not certainty that you made all of it, that char is from asset store, but since you are not being evalluated in graphics its ok, Nice gameplay.

Deozaan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:57am

@TaoPhoenix: Thanks!

@Hyoga-3D: You are correct. Most of the art is from the Asset Store or other open art packs. That's why I submitted as a Jam entry and opted out of ratings for the graphics. (Same with the audio.)

Sean says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:00am

The time slow mechanic was cool, although it would have been nice if there was some more visual feedback when you came into contact with enemies and lost.

mildmojo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:08am

A pacifist shooter; I like it. The time bubbles worked really well and those one-touch-kill robots were super creepy. I'm glad they stopped following you when you were out of sight. It took me a few tries to get through and I had to dig out a gamepad, but I made it. I really appreciate the control rebinding and inverted Y option; the stock settings didn't work well with a PS4 controller.

It would've been helpful if the robots made some noise to let you know when they were closing in behind you. Even just some soft whirring or something would've helped. It felt like the projectiles didn't collide with the enemies, either, just the floors (yay Quake rocket splashes). It'd be a little more satisfying if you could peg them in the chest to slow them down.

I wanted a little more environmental art for the teleporter. Maybe just a few shafts of light to show teleporter pads.

Cool idea, though, and you totally pulled it off.

Aevek says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:59pm

Really like the mechanic of only being able to slow time locally, instead of any kind of combat. Really cool take on the theme, great job.

boateye says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Maybe I'm thick, but i was unable to find anything to shoot/interact with aside from the orange self-destruct panel, and the blue panel in the room you started at. As such, i just booked it from the start zone, to the orange panel and back and i won. Not sure if this was intentional, but that's possible.

Catwheel says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Graphics are great. I like the idea of the weapon. I think it would be really awesome to add puzzles to this game that you solve using the gun.

someone says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:09pm

The time bubbles were really cool. Too bad the game doesn't really do much with the them. You can complete it easily without firing a shot.
It has the potential to be quite an interesting game if developed further.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:33pm

That robot was really scary, this ship looked really good. the style was cohesive, died many times.

Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:51am

Got more fun once I realised I could rebind controls. Solid entry!

Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:18am

pretty good! the time bubble gun was clever. even though you didn't make the graphics , they all seem to fit well together. sometimes i could run past the robots and sometimes they killed me.

jsmars says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:32am

Really nice graphics and those robots were scary as hell, I think the high tempo music and frozen screen did a lot of it, nice job!

tmpxyz says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 3:22pm

The mechanics is great, some more interact-able object would be better.

Boberro says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:13pm

All my FUN was killed by most terrible controls ever :) (it might be my fault that I play games on PC without console peripherals though)

One thing that bothered me was alarm sound when you're inside the time bubble - it should speed up, not slow down.

Technical note: since unity 5 was released, even in free edition you can create navigational meshes, so your AI does not walk into walls. Oh, and it seems that you forgot to loop the music - I had to go away and when I got back, music was gone.

KaiseanGames says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:26pm

I hoped for strafing :) Also, I wanted to shoot the balloons straight at the robots' feet, but I can't look down on keyboard. With better keyboard support, this game would ROCK.

I read your story and I'm glad you decided to participate in spite of lack of inspiration.

KaiseanGames says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Me and my wife - we played together. I was moving with WASD, she was looking around with arrows. That's when you realize a gamepad would be nice.

Guard13007 says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Holy shit that was amazing! Very fun, and terrifying. Those robots are scary. I had to play many times to beat it.

justthestudio says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 9:39pm

I got a mini heart attack while playing!

Ogniok says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 8:35pm

A good entry and a very nice idea, but the controls were awful! :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]