Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Tsurara Donna

by Thingo Studios - Jam Entry

Tsurara Donna is a woman born of the snow, whose sojourns through the harsh winters of Ancient Japan bring her face to face with streams of deadly yokai. She has neither blade nor magic charm, instead favoring an unconventional weapon: the icicles forming in the permafrost of her world.

~~~~~

thingo.plippi.com

~~~~~

DOWNLOAD THE SONG: https://thingostudios.bandcamp.com/track/maiden-of-the-snow-theme-from-tsurara-donna

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#392Audio(Jam)3.03
#577Graphics(Jam)3.17
#671Theme(Jam)3.14
#691Mood(Jam)2.81
#774Fun(Jam)2.67
#789Innovation(Jam)2.61
#852Humor(Jam)2.12
#868Overall(Jam)2.78

Comments

MiniBobbo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:31am

This was fun! I totally missed the fact that you meant to double tap the keys to throw and stomp.

The music and graphics were nice too.

flwns says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:43am

I just wish the window was larger, I really like the game and the arcade style graphics.

Azure_Kyte says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:49am

A fun little game. Reminded me of Ice Climber (As I'm sure it was intended to do) with different mechanics. Good job :D

Jokerbomb says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:52am

Really fun game! The controls need to be a little tighter, but I liked the take on the classic Mario Bros style, including the title screen =)

Docjekyll says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:18am

This was a blast to play. I feel like this could be really fun if fleshed out into a full competitive/cooperative game.

It did take me a while to realize that you had to grab the ice in order to shoot it sideways. Overall, very nice!

cdrch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:29am

A nice little game with unified aesthetic. I never got the hang of stomping, but I had a lot of fun. The limited amount of time you can hold the icicles before they melt was a great touch. Good job!

rogberth says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:10am

You sure like double tapping haha, nice little game. Love the art.

Zeriver says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:14am

Cute, fun game, my strategy was to "camp" on the lowest level, jump over enemies and throw "ice drills". The fact you stick to the ceiling for a moment when you touch it was really helpful, don't know if that was intended effect or not but i'm glad it is in the game :)

Stomping is pretty hard to perform successfully.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:09pm

I had a spot of bother double-jumping so I couldn't get off the bottom level, but I managed to throw a lot of icicles.

Great tune, and the graphics are spot on for the game. It has a nice aesthetic too. I liked the fact that everything was double-tap.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:09pm

too vaporwave for my style

elitegoliath says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:35am

I liked the nostalgic feel. The music fit too. One think about the controls is using only arrows is ok, but incorporating at least another key to help control the character would have been good, but no stars taken for that, just personal preference. I thought this was fairly innovative, had a Mario meets Mega Man feel.

One bug I noticed was that if I hold the up key when jumping and hit a brick, I can hang there in place until I release.

goblin says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:05am

Cool little game, the music and graphic are awesome
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:03pm

The controls didn't feel really tight, but I like the idea and using the ice as a weapon felt satisfying.

MonoS says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Cool art and sound, thought i'd preferred a bit more detail in the protagonist.

There is a little problem with the jump [when i hit the ceiling jumping i don't fall off] and with the spike that don't fall off when i press down twice.

Had some fun with the game in the end :)

ZYXer says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:15am

Great game! I like the arcade-style graphics and sounds. The ice spear mechanic is quite interesting. I wasn't able to ground pound, how exactly does that work?

May 1, 2015 @ 1:31pm

very very good game, love this style

JonathanG says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 9:50am

After I got over my fear of touching the spikes I enjoyed the frantic nature of running and dodging the enemies. A lovely retro feel to the graphics and sound. I think the controls should have been split onto other buttons though - just mashing the arrow keys made my hand cramp up!

Jakob37 says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 6:16am

I liked it! A small, polished game. The visuals, music, backstory and gameplay blends together nicely :)

Dejvo says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 7:29pm

pretty neat. i am not sure if you've copied from very popular game but still pretty neat

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]