Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Blanket Girl

by Chippington - Jam Entry

Story Synopsis:

A girl, dreaming, awakens at the entrance of a spooky dungeon with only a blanket. Unable to wake up on her own, she must push through, solving puzzles and defeating monsters using her trusty blanket in order to find her way home.


The game is unfinished, but still playable!

WASD - Move
Space - Jump/Glide
E - Interact with switches/Buttons

LMB - Whip
RMB - Air blast (can power turbines)


The finale level is where it's at, the first two levels aren't too hard to figure out.

In the finale, you have to blast wind at the textureless models (looks like an arm and a sphere) to get it to spin.


Curious to see what the finale looks like when beaten? [Spoiler]
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/13564422/2015-04-20-1518-35.webm

EDIT: Fixed bug with shadow not rendering, and sound sometimes not working.
EDIT2: Fixed bug where the game crashes when you interact with a button twice.
EDIT3: Removed WebGL build because of a multitude of problems
EDIT4: Forced quality setting to "Fantastic" because people were complaining about there being no shadow below the character.

NOTE: Make sure the game is played in 'Simple' quality or higher! The shadow below the character may not show otherwise.



PLAY THE UPDATED GAME HERE:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/13564422/Blanket%20Girl/Updated/Windows/Windows.zip

Changes:
Added a landing target below the player to better show perspective
Fixed a number of non-gamebreaking bugs
Added some sound effects

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#147Graphics(Jam)4.09
#179Theme(Jam)3.82
#184Mood(Jam)3.54
#205Overall(Jam)3.60
#221Audio(Jam)3.40
#432Innovation(Jam)3.21
#473Fun(Jam)3.13
#620Humor(Jam)2.64

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:34am

This was really cute. A blanket certainly is an unconventional weapon, and the art is cute. The lack of a drop shadow on the character makes platforming a little hard.

fixedgerald says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:16pm

I like the cute graphics, they remind me of Wind Waker.

pixzleone says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:41pm

With some polishing, I would buy this game if it was on Steam. Awesome work! Keep it up!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:43pm

The character is really cute and nicely animated. Sound and shadowy background make a good admosphere!

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Nice little game, I love the graphics. It would be nice if there was a shadow under your character though, it makes it a little hard to see where you're going to land :P

boateye says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Art style is EXCELLENT! I love the main protagonist! She's super cute! I would buy a plushie of her, and she'd make a great studio mascot!

The game felt pretty good, too. the aesthetic reminded me of PS1 platformers. The platforming felt right, and well tuned. However, a small blob shadow below the player'd feet would help immensely because it was hard to tell if i was going to land on a platform or not. being able to use a shadow to aim my jumps would help a great deal.

Otherwise, great entry! The soundtrack fits well, too.

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Ohhh how cute! This deep jumps and the sailing down was really cool. And the towl as a weapon is a great idea. Really awesome game :)

scumbly says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Beautiful work, loved the sound and especially the gorgeous graphics. A little fine-tuning on the platforming would have helped with all the jumps I missed due to perspective confusion. Great job!

bradur says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:54pm

I like the idea and the graphics. The platforming itself requires some polishing, as it is at times hard to tell where exactly the character is in regards to z axis. Music and atmosphere is quite nice, really felt like a dream world.

Dickie says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:01pm

yeah, I can't do that kind of platforming with a keyboard and mouse.

otherwise very cool looking game, the character art was killer and I liked the juxtoposition between that and the env art even if it was a bit incongruent.

blanket was a super cute choice though it didn't seem to have any relation or reason in the game. otherwise handled pretty well, sure I would of perceived with a controller. good job dudes.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Nice Idea! I like it!
Great Entry!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Cute graphics. Nice work. Needs a little bit more polish for gameplay but otherwise nice.

Paulozz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Lovely music and graphics.

Backlund says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Nice game.
Crashed if you push the same button twice.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:38pm

I like the Idea of the game. I was having a difficult time getting a sence of where I'm at on the floor. Pressing the button while it was still in its press state crashes the game.

Dege says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:39pm

I really loved the 2D character in the 3D world! This has a lot of potential, keep on developing it!

nassi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:17pm

Great atmosphere but the mechanics and level design definitely need more work. Still managed to finish it though.

yuigoto says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Been wanting to play this one since I've seen the sketches. :)

Nice work on the characters, concept and level design. If you don't mind, I did take a shortcut to the last level at first unintentionally, by falling and gliding. :P

The soundtrack is really nice and completes the whole package in a nice and adorable way. :P

Totally want to see a full version of this. :P

P.s.: in the WebGL version, the door that opens with the first switch doesn't render here, it looks invisible.

knarf2011 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:37am

Great everything! The art style and music went perfectly with the mood, and the gameplay was fun and interesting. It would have been a little better if there were sounds other than the music, and it was a little difficult to activate stuff and use the power flap. Otherwise, it just needs more levels. It kinda feels like Super Mario Galaxy.

Hambone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:37am

This was a very pretty game.

HapaxStudios says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Blanket Girl was a treat to play! The visuals were very cool and unique. The mesh between the vectored characters and enemies and the entire game world worked really really well. The main attacking and platforming mechanics looked and felt good (the floating with the blanket is genius). As for the theme of the Jam, using a blanket as a weapon is indeed an unconventional weapon. The only problem I had with it was the fact that Blanket Girl didn't have a shadow. It made the platforming sections really hard to judge the distances I needed to jump. Otherwise excellent job and I want to see more of Blanket Girl!

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:54am

Awesome! The game is so cute! And the atmosphere is great! Just a bit hard, like many people, for the lack of shadow. Also in the last level I found hard to hit the... air turbines(?)... specially with that black cloud shaking the screen. Anyway great job!

Kitsubi says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:10pm

I loved the graphics and the music added to the atmosphere. The platforming was a little difficult sometimes requiring perfect timing. Also a little nitpick but there was no way to exit the game other then killing the process (alt-f4).

redding says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:35pm

This is great! Although I would suggest making the fall speed a little bit slower when the blanket as a parachute.

MrRoboman says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:37pm

Cool game! Blanket girl is super cute. Love the art. I would recommend putting a shadow under her to make landing on platforms easier. Also, I think the first turbine stopped responding to my blanket wind after my second attempt.
Great game! Keep it up!

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:08am

Nailed the theme and innovation, its pretty and I love the mixed 2d/3d. Good work!

dvdfu says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:54am

Great presentation, some parts of the levels were a little frustrating to retry but the atmosphere/graphics/audio worked very nicely!

rjhelms says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:10am

Really beautiful graphics and music.

I really like this entry, but I've never been great at 3D platformers so found this one to be really unforgiving. There's a ton of potential here - great job!

2Bit says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:16am

Loved it. Some easy set up levels and then a pretty tough final level. Art and music are great.

hbocao says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:15am

Awesome entry! The art is charming and very fun to play. I felt the controls a little bit wonky or maybe was the point of view or maybe it's too damn late now and I should go to bed. Nice job!

jushii says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:58am

Love that character! The player movement is a bit floaty and slow and the game would benefit it was more responsive! :)

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:50pm

i like this game!!
great !!!

especially the graphics... so cute...lol

Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:54pm

I really like the art. Platforming is a bit awkward sometimes. Like when I land after a hover, it would be good not to instantly jump again. It happened a lot by accident which caused me to jump over the first floating platform. The floating platform should also stay up longer to allow the player to move to the other platforms.

6DownStudios says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:47am

Love the sprites and the cloud effects! Some great platforming at the end there too, tricky stuff, that's how we like it.

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Awesome art, I love the style and the choice of weapon - I wish there was a little more polish though and I found myself uncertain if I was meant to do certain things

Pat Kemp says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Adorable graphics, and a lot of polish! Really great work. I got a little frustrated with the floating jumps and level design in places... I kept finding myself slightly missing a platform and floating helplessly. I was able to bypass the entire second level when I fell off the platform and floated myself over to the exit platform.

Minor quibbles though! Great work!

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Good graphics and loved the music! Nice entry :)

Catwheel says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:43am

So cyuuuuuuuuuute!
Could use some sound effects. If you expanded this into a full fledged game (maybe zelda-esk) I would consider buying it. I actually really like the mix of 3D terrain and 2D enemies.

Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:25am

Pretty cute characters, nice interpretation of the theme. The description reminded me of Donkey Kong Country 3 (Dixie), but it turns the game is way different! Nice work!

May 1, 2015 @ 4:05pm

The character with her blanket is adorable, really nicely animated. Also liked the story and how you've used the theme with the blanket.

lucidsheep says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 8:19am

Great work, I'd love to see this expanded on as a full 3D platformer!

NoWandStudios says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 11:28am

So cool game and original! Graphics are very nice and music fits very well with the game. Very good work!

May 9, 2015 @ 10:14am

Loved the art and animations. The music was also good. Sound would have helped to have a better feeling, I really miss it.

May 9, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Wow, what a complete entry! Really, with only a bit of story and some additional polishing, it could be a full-fledged game in no time. The mix between 2D and 3D graphics was a bit jarring at first and I wish I was able to move the camera more freely, but the result is impressive! I like the concept anyway :3.

May 9, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Nice game. Very slick presentation. The combination of 2D sprites and 3D environments works pretty well, though I think the wall textures could be redone a bit to look more like the sprites. Gameplay is fun, knocking the monsters off the edge is satisfying, and using the blanket as a parachute when jumping is a cute idea too. Very cool game!

Solifuge says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Something in the music, visual style, and 2D/3D mix reminded me of Recettear. I liked the simplicity of the mechanics, though I think the E-to-activate button could be removed entirely and replaced by your blanket actions. The drop shadow makes a huge difference!

As game content goes, the third zone seemed impossible; the darkness was always right behind me, and even using some exploits I found (walking before the camera pan was done, hitting both turbines with a single gust, and wall-hopping), I was unable to beat it:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/80372290/Blanket%20Girl%20Best%20Attempt.mp4

Charming and adorable character design, enjoyable music, and nice presentation overall. I think there's the makings of a fun 2D puzzle platformer here! Good work.

tmpxyz says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 1:52am

really cute game

wademcgillis says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 7:10pm

moving around is very hard

MrShoestore says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 1:53am

i find it a little difficult, but i like the combination of 2d and 3d, it looks really sharp.

sorlok says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 3:17am

Really cool and interesting take on the theme. Loved the mood, but some of the controls were tricky (like jumping) and broke the immersion. Overall great job!

Skiddings says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:00pm

It looks great! Although the platforming is very tricky

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]