Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Limb by Limb

by AdamW - Jam Entry

Limb by Limb uses ones arms and legs as both projectiles and as health. To activate levers, throw an arm at it (but not a leg, that would be silly... do not do that). But be careful, because once you have reached the lever, you might not have any arms left! OOOOOH, SPOOKY!

(!!! FIXED !!!)
Sadly, there is no audio since I had problems with the export, but the soundtrack is still available on Soundcloud if anyone is interested (is rly good).

Controls:
left arrow: run left
right arrow: run right
up: jump
space: "shoot"
esc: exit
(to restart a level, just throw away all your limbs, it is easy, trust me)

If running from the jar: run via the command prompt (it will probably not work otherwise).

EDIT:
I'm sorry that it doesn't work for a lot of people. I don't know what the problem is, so there is no need to write error messages. Sadly, it was hard enough to make it work at all.

EDIT 2:
Apparantly you're allowed to fix bugs after submission. So I fixed the problem with audio, so now there's music! There are still no sound effects (hit, jump, etc), but I hope that the experience is a bit more pleasant now.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#124Innovation(Jam)3.75
#142Humor(Jam)3.64
#150Theme(Jam)3.87
#207Fun(Jam)3.50
#368Overall(Jam)3.39
#492Audio(Jam)2.81
#556Graphics(Jam)3.20

Comments

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Sorry Windows and Java don't work for me, Web or Linux only.

matthewd673 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:55pm

I got something saying:

You need permission

Want in? Ask the owner for access, or switch to an account with permission. Learn more

You are signed in as [my email]@gmail.com.

Leandrus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Can't get the files, need special permissions. :S

chaosed0 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:56pm

No links are working other than "Soundtrack", looks like your permissions on Google Drive are set incorrectly.

Kronics says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:59pm

Access Denied..

Sim says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Looks like I need to sign into Google to download, but after signing in I get an Access Denied. Please fix because this looks great and the soundtrack is fantastic!

AdamW says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Sorry for the trouble with the links. It should be working now!

KcY says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:14pm

java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: com/lepraproductions/lududmdare32/Main : Unsupported major.minor version 52.0

Run from Arch Linux (No rating posted)

joaovitorbf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Funny game with nice art. You should have added some sounds tho.
Good luck with your game!

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:15pm

It's pretty shallow as it is, but there's certainly a lot of potential. The graphics are nice, shame there are no sounds though.

Zeriver says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:18pm

Creative, your limbs are your ammunition, cool mechanic.
I completed whole game and some levels require some platforming and ability to plan ahead, smart level design. In overall it's really fun game and well executed.
BTW: music is pretty decent too
That would be a great game for Halloween :D

KcY says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:18pm

java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: com/lepraproductions/lududmdare32/Main : Unsupported major.minor version 52.0

Run from Arch Linux (No rating posted)

AdamW says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:21pm

There's no need to post error messages. I know that the game has really bad compatibillity (especially the JAR), and I do not know what the problem is.

I'm really thankful for the comments regarding the game!

chaosed0 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:31pm

Nice graphics and audio. The idea is cool, but I think it's lacking in execution; the levels basically play out like they do in a normal platformer with only one or two exceptions.

sentendo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:15am

doesn't work for me (on windows, which is the recommended)

SonderWorks says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:20am

Hmm.. I guess I'm fortunate it works for me?

In any case, I love this concept. A lot. Just wish there was sound.

Yvanor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:23am

Wow. Really nice and fun game :D Great idea ! The only problem is... not sound ! But after all, good job ! :)

Bitterdeath says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:24am

Throwing off your parts to end the level was cracking me up. Nice puzzle game here.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:24am

Works without problems for me, I'm on mac, if that helps. Really nice game! I've had a lot of fun throwing my limb around the map

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:26am

Great concept! I had a lot of fun

ccglp says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:28am

Its a good game. And it's GORE as hell. COOL bro.

gv1351 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:28am

I really in joined this game well done, I love the humor of the limbs

JALgames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:51am

Does nothing after opening the windows exe, which is a shame because the game looks really good.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Ran fine for me and I played all the way through to the end. Really great idea and fun interpretation of the theme. Reminded me of Monty Python. Also I liked you tree sprites

bace1000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Very unique and creative concept! I like the graphics style as well. I enjoyed playing this game.

LuckyCassette says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Fun game, reminds me of plok.

Jungle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Very funny!! Quite unusual!! Fits theme perfectly. Graphs ar good, beautiful clouds! Needs audio. Congrats!

goerp says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:54pm

'it's just a flesh wound!'
Haha, this ticked a lot of boxes (ahem) for me!
Humor, weird game mechanic, nice puzzles.
it gives fear of separation a completely new meaning!
great!

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Made us laugh! :D nice to see the timelapse video you did too, great work :)

zimmy87 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:07am

sweet lil platformer you got here. like the last level

borgi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:30am

Cool idea, nice implementation, good job!

asobi tech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Great art and I really like the use of limbs. Nice one.

Enneract says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Really loved it :D cool concept and nice art style. I enjoyed throwing my limbs so much that I often became over-zealous and threw them all away prematurely.

bror_charlie says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Made me and my girlfriend laugh pretty hard how you have to throw all your limbs away to get to the next level. After carefully planning limb usage through the level to then get to go crazy at the end is a welcome design decision.

I feel like more could have been done with the idea. A boss fight or perhaps some more innovative puzzles beyond throw limb at thing. Maybe that isn't what you were going for.

Sorry to hear about the soundtrack buddy. I saw in the timelapse you spent a fair bit of time on it. Must be painful.

All in all an enjoyable game! Made me laugh pretty hard which is rare from a game. Good luck with it pal!

6x13 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:18am

I really like the weapon idea and execution. Especially the "throw away all limbs" style game over. And the character holding his hat while jumping was a nice little detail. The build runs successfully on my Arch Linux. I don't hear sound but it is probably because I use Alsa instead of Pulse Audio.

StrayByte says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:35am

hahahaha! Oh my god it cracked me up! Great game!

hbocao says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:52am

Oh man... this is awesome!
Innovative concept and great implementation. Too bad you're not able to put the song. It's awesome! I even came back to play the game with the soundtrack playing.
PLEEAAASSE try to include the song in game. Nobody will care. I guess.

AdamW says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:57am

So, I'm almost done fixing the sound problem. And I've made a bunch more levels (that are quite hard), game functions, and bug fixes. I will upload this version seperately (not as part of the contest), because I feel like it would be cheating.

Also, thanks for the great reviews!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:46pm

nice :)

Drauthius says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Nice game. The last level was a nice challenge. :) Would have been great with some audio!

Just so you know, you are allowed to fix bugs (like the audio, or the crashes). There is a text at the bottom of the page detail what you're allowed to change.

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Liked the mechanic and the music. Level design was cool too. Sound effects would have enhanced the experience.

frokes says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:41am

Very nice game! The "next-level" system is a bit confusing at the start. It's nice to have a game that is challanging without being broken or glitched.

lordxam says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:42pm

nice funy =)

Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Good music, liked the graphics. Great puzzle design too. All in all a great entry.

DKoding says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Unable to get it to run on Windows, clicking exe does nothing. Unable to run the java stuff also, 'A Java Exception has occured'. Too bad, was looking forward to play it.

nassi says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 1:52pm

I have to agree with the other comments. It looks and sounds nice so the mood (why have you disabled that rating :P) is definitely good, but I think the mechanic shoudl've been taken further, because it really does play like standard platformer for the most part.

Solid entry though. Didn't encounter any errors either.

jmborden says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 10:04pm

It's a previous hilarious game... reminds me of a Daddy Long Leg. Very weird game.. good job!

Druid says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Hilarious! :D I really love this entry :D So much fun!

Leandrus says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Great game. I like it a lot.
Thanks for sharing.

May 8, 2015 @ 1:38am

I love everything about this!

May 9, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Cool game! Pretty funny idea. Makes for some neat puzzle gameplay too. Graphics remind me of an Amiga game, with the limited colours and rainbow gradient backgrounds, which is nice. Good stuff overall!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]