Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

HALLAWAY

by benmcnelly - Jam Entry

HALLAWAY: The greatest weapon is the one you forget you have. Use your superior intellect to follow the clues and save yourself. Keep your sanity, and your wits about you, and you should be able to read the subtle nuances in peoples faces and discern who to trust.

W/A/S/D to move, hold shift to move faster
Esc to return to menu, or quit

We need sleep right now, but will put up a mac port and Oculus (DK2) version later!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#45Mood(Jam)4.04
#154Audio(Jam)3.59
#300Innovation(Jam)3.41
#427Graphics(Jam)3.48
#522Humor(Jam)2.85
#558Overall(Jam)3.17
#828Fun(Jam)2.59
#916Theme(Jam)2.59

Comments

MJaawa says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:21pm

Love the concept of the talking paintings, very fun psychological puzzler :)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:59pm

This game was too annoying for me to beat. The last thing I need after dying is to slooooowly walk through the same long hallways making exactly the same choices as last time while listening to the same audio clips over and over and over again. Also it would have been nice, if choosing a door gave some kind of feedback - an animation, a sound, anything - instead of just silently teleporting you. It's impossible to play the game at the lowest resolution, because the play button is off the screen. The mood was perfect. If I had had the superior intellect required to never die, this would have been a fun movie to watch.

Domicuc says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Wooow nice! Concept is good, funny :)
also check my project x)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Very diferente game, good entry.

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Game was frustrating and not really fun to play. A game with a bunch of choices with no means of knowing what they are shouldn't warp you to the beginning when you make a mistake.

EthanWebster says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Very interesting concept. I think walkspeed could be increased. I'm not sure it fit the theme though, but overall it was enjoyable. I'd like to see you expand it.

Barink-social says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:00pm

cool, never thought about the theme this way. good work with the paintings. did have some issue with the menu only being half on the screen when playing in windowed mode with resolution 800X600

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Cool Mood but wish there were checkpoints so we didn't have to start over! Trust No One!

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Wow! This has given some chills. Fantastic game, nice mood

plams says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Wow! Thumbs up in the art and mood department!

Kinzata says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Love it! With the exception of needing to walk allll the way back just because I made the wrong choice. I realize that it's the punishment for choosing wrong, but it got old very quick.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Shit. I should have listened to the picture guy DX

I wound up getting caught in suspense. Good job. The walking is so slow, it kind of encourages giving up when you reset though.

Alice says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:35pm

I won! Wow, I must have restarted that like though >.< I really love the idea, and you guys really managed to pull off a fantastic creepy atmosphere in the game.

But I have to agree with the others saying the game is too frustrating. I don't know if there were clues about which door to pick other than the talking paintings, but the only clue I found and used was the one in the last room that listed all the doors by room number. I feel like more clues, or if there are some I haven't noticed, more obvious clues, would make the game a lot more fun.

I have to say though the talking paintings, the music, the lighting all worked really well together to create the atmosphere, and the idea itself is great.

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:40pm

We made up clues to place through the levels but simply ran out of time, even though it was a Jam entry, we all have day jobs and had to finish it over the weekend. We know its punishing to have to restart but for us we wanted to make it worth it for those that finished the game! Congrats Alice!

garat says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Very interesting concept! The music often overwhelms the audio coming from the posters is the only highly critical feedback. :) Made it hard to hear what was being said on occasion!

thenerdster says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:04pm

This was so much fun to work on. Thanks again Ben McNelly for the invite!

AlexDJones says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Great entry! Really interesting concept and it looks great. Nice to have a slower paced game in the LD

LTPATS says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:08pm

This was really engaging and I liked the overall concept. Having to restart every wrong decision felt like too much personally, especially since the decision making was a bit random a lot of the time. Overall I had a lot of fun playing, great work!

babilounet says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Great !

Finn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:57am

I love the idea, but don't like the execution. I found that my biggest threat was overthinking things.
"Ok, so I shouldn't trust my hallucinations so it MUSN'T be door 2! No, I was wrong. Ok, it is door 2. But he's saying door 2 again. He couldn't be right twice, can he? Nope, it was door 2."
"Jesus it was door 2 three times in a row!?"
"Ok, so that investigation guy said always take door 3, and he was right the first time. So I should go through door 3 despite the painting saying door 1. Nope I was wrong"
Then I gave up because I couldn't be bothered to walk down the hall for the tenth time, and I was using the sprint button!
I was expecting it to be a 'Detect the liar' puzzle or something, where you have 5 or so paintings and only one tells the truth. "Listen to me, painting 2 and 5 always lie" "I always tell the truth, it's door 2!" "Painting 1 always lies, it's door 3" etc.

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Great idea but far too punishing/time consuming for those who want to experiment. Take a page from the "PT Demo" and only restart the same room again instead of the beginning. Great execution though.

edve98 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:52pm

I totally agree with Finn, it is really punishing to restart everything if you fail, and just print back to where you left off. Again, I was expecting to see a "detect liar thing". Sometimes the occasional load sound was too loud

Hatsome says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:45pm

I really liked the talking paintings, to walk all the hallways again after loosing was a bit frustraiting.

Sytech says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Really nice atmosphere and good concept! It became very frustrating after a while though, mostly due to the slow walking/running speed.

retr0verse says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:32am

reminds me of the Stanley parable, though you walk really slowly.

andrewkennedy says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:41am

Great atmosphere and cool voice acting. It was just too frustrating to have to keep walking down the hallway again and again.

jplur says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:46am

Ah wow, this really had me on edge, in a good way!

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:52am

Interesting concept but having to go through the entire game all over again every time you make the wrong choice is really annoying. Would have been better if there was a quick death screen and a retry button that put you back on the same level.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:17am

Loved it

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:21am

I'll repeat what people are saying about the lack of checkpoints. Still, I really enjoyed the mood and overall concept. It's cool that it's Oculus enabled as well. Good job!

01101101 says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Haunted mansion inspiration creepy moody !!!! yeah !

jk5000 says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:00pm

For me the game was perfect. The lack of checkpoints makes the whole experience so much more intense. And when you finally reach the end, you feel that you really have achieved something. The combination of the sound of footsteps, the music, the videos and the dark hotel hallways, helping to make the right scary atmosphere. Well done!!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]