Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Drums of the Dead

by plams - Compo Entry

Play the drums right or the zombies will eat you! It's a guitar-hero-esque game.

You can configure drum keys by highlighting the drum in the menu and typing letters. You can assign multiple keys to each drum; it's an advantage when playing fast notes. With the default keys I find it best to keep fingers on X (kick), C (snare), M (hihat) and comma (open hihat), and use the adjacent keys when appropriate (if you're on QWERTY that is). Start a new game and play around with the keys to get the hang of it, then start a new game again to try it out "for real".

Try raise/lower the audio buffer length. Lower is better if your system can handle it.

The "scoring" is a bit sketchy, the game punishes you much more for playing the wrong drum than for playing inaccurate or the wrong number of notes.

There's only one "level". Try completing the game with only you and the bass player!

Written in C using SDL2. Instruments used: Ibanez SDgr, Fender Jazzmaster (and there's a little ebow, wheeeouuu). Tools used: Toontrack DFH Superior (drums), Renoise (drum editing), Apple Logic & Native Instruments Guitar Rig (bass/guitar), Audacity (sound editing), grafx2 (graphics), vim (editor). I used Renoise because its XML save format made it really easy to export drum data to the game. Thanks to Sean Barrett for the stb libraries (https://github.com/nothings/stb). Thanks to Mads Martin and Pernille for the saturday night dinner :) Thanks to Mads Martin and Troels for aiding with debugging on non-linux platforms.

http://veralin.dk/ld32/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#38Audio3.96
#181Humor3.49
#182Overall3.63
#230Fun3.49
#234Mood3.35
#249Theme3.72
#384Graphics3.33
#546Innovation3.12

Comments

Zeriver says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:38am

Hah, it's definitely not too easy, although i suck at rythm games :P
I like how you can lose one or two musicians but still fight off zombies.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Rock + Zombies, I cannot ask more \o/
Good entry.

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Why am I so bad at these... Good work though, rock on!

BtheDestroyer says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Awesome I love rythm games!

seankimdesign says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Ha, that was really fun. Hearing the instruments die down as the band members get devoured is a nice touch. I wish the rhythm bars are a little more generous with timing, but only because I suck at these. Fun stuff!

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:27pm

I think the ryhtm bars being as tight as they are is actually a bit of a flaw, but otherwise a solid concept and it is well executed.

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Lovely concept but graphics were a little glitchy when lots of zombies on screen. Waaaaay to hard for me at least. Maybe some more instructions for the 'key' config? Graphics reminds me of C64 :-)

kyyrma says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:52pm

My favorite game of the jam so far. Really impressive pulling off a rhythm game in just 48 hours, even if there is just one song. I take it you made the music as well? Catchy!

Ithildin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:24pm

It is a bit hard, but once you start hitting some beats it feels very rewarding . Nice job!

PeerPlay says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Awesome Rythm game! It's only superhard!!!

talecrafter says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Lol. I am so bad at the drums. I would probably do much better with the vocals. :)
Hilarious game. Well done.

Dungeonation says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Really good game. Fits with the theme well, and had great music. I stunk at it though, it's a rhythm game. Good job!

KaiseanGames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:21pm

I so much watched the notes I didn't realize there's noone to play them.

liniix says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Loved the game, took me a while to realize the awesome art going on in the bottom because I was so focused on the top part. I was terrible at it, but had fun playing it. good game.

ruthiepee says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Wow, this is a COMPO game?! Works great on OSX, by the way. Love the cheeky "Exit to DOS" giving it that extra retro oomph. Anyway, the graphics are really splendid and the gameplay/controls are clear to me right away. The notes are pretty unforgiving though! One day, I'll get the hang of this... If I could offer one suggestion, it's to give a little bit of time before the song starts to lead the player into the beat. Great game!

rogberth says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:56pm

I suck at your game, and all the music games also haha. But you did a really good job there :D

joe says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Really looks, sounds and feels great, but I'm too bad at it :)

Drauthius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Awesome job! Just need to get the tune out of my head now... Works great on Linux.

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:46pm

I usually hate rhythm games but this game is extremely fun!

arhpositive says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Music is amazing. Overall, the game is a bit too hard, maybe a simpler song would've been better. Other than that, the graphics are also solid and I've no complaints about the attachment to the theme either. :)

dos says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Awesome and fun! Seems we got some of our ideas pretty similar :)

Bishkip says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:54am

Oh man, I thought elite beat agents got hard. Pretty fun to try though.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:19pm

We build this city on Rock'n'Roll. Great game, but controls were a bit complicated. Good job, none the less

pixzleone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Nice game, but as someone who plays drums, i feel like it would be nice to have a bit more "structure" to the notes if you know what i mean. Great effort!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Nice Entry!

dvdfu says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:16am

One of my favourites (I'm a sucker for rhythm games). The timing can be a bit punishing but it's a very cool game overall. I love the detail where the main guitar stops after the main guitar player dies.

Robotic-Brain says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:21am

Wow..
Kudos for pulling of a rhythm game in 48 hours!
An easier song would be nice though... I had no idea how it should sound and screwed totally up :(

Also you seem to be missing a clear screen somewhere, since i got jumbled buffer contents on screen.

Druid says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:01am

Interesting entry! But i suck in rhytm games :D

nutcrack says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Impressive entry!

lamogui says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Sweet another music game !

gelisam says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:13pm

So hard! I love it!

Zayron says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Nice job! I like this concept a lot. I just wish it had an easy mode haha. :)

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:39pm

"Your last gig sucked so much that you raised the dead." Absolutely hilarious! Awesome job in such a short timeframe. If you keep working on it, I would consider ways to make the game easier for the many players who are terrible at it, like myself and many commenters here apparently. Beyond making the hit threshold larger, it might help to have the notes come at the player vertically instead of horizontally, so the horizontal keyboard layout maps directly to the notes (currently I have to sort of flip the controls 90 degrees in my head, which makes the game that much harder). Nice work, I really enjoyed this!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]