Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Unconventional Card Battles

by benjih - Compo Entry

Unconventional Card Battles is a simple two player card game where players take turn to play a single card from their hand.

Playing cards allows you to build up an element of surprise so that you can surprise your opposing player for bonus damage when you hit them with an unconventional weapon.

The game runs using jre1.7 but includes binaries for Windows, Mac OS X and Linux.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#121Theme3.94
#128Fun3.69
#264Overall3.50
#279Innovation3.50
#625Graphics2.94
#759Audio2.13
#2143Coolness24%

Comments

Tijn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:49am

What I especially liked about this game is the fact it's actually pretty fun to play.

The audio could use some work, though. Maybe some sound effects?

On the other hand, the fact that you've including a tutorial is very fancy!

Well done :)

JohnGalt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Interesting mechanic! A lot of potentials here. Anticipation of the opponent's behavior is a big fun!

slowfrog says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Cannot download without a dropbox account.

stuffedgravy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Nice mechanic! It's a bit on the easy side, but that's not bad for showcasing the game! I think the mechanics are solid, but could have benefited from a larger variety of cards to really take advantage of them. As of now, there's a pretty easy to see tier list for the cards and not a lot of counterplay. The graphics were solid, and audio was passable, though could have used sound effects. Overall, I played a few rounds and enjoyed myself, so Mission Accomplished :)

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Pretty fun. Trying to build up surprise seemed a pretty good strategy.

Catwheel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Wouldn't run for me on Windows.

Saymon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Can't run it on windows 7 :/

bpvelloso says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Best game I rate in this LD! Thank You for this game! Really fun. The only things I can suggest is to improve the music/audio effects. Nice work.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Really clever game! Nice execution and great interpretation of the theme. Would love to see a multiplayer mode in the future.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Since there is no deck building, this game has barely any strategic element. One's success is almost exclusively a matter of luck. That's not inherently bad, but I would have enjoyed a little more... "depth".

TaoPhoenix says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:39am

Yeah, a very initial version of the collectible card game style play.

I played a lot of Magic the Gathering in its early years. So this little game brought back a nice little memory or two!

By the way,

The DonationCoder LudumDare 32 April 2015 thread is here:
http://www.donationcoder.com/forum/index.php?topic=40573.0

It happens to be their 10th anniversary! I don't program myself ... so I am unleasing Weapons Grade Enthusiasm!

If you stop by DonationCoder, please put in the code/tag LudumDare-Tao so they will know it's my doings that brought you in! I'm not

part of any of the site structure ... just doing my bit for my favorite site on the net!

Also over there, I post a few of my detailed reviews of some LD games.

--TaoPhoenix

Prowler says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:46am

Nice approach to the theme. The game mechanic is fun and it could use a bit more sound :)

But overall it was fun to play!

Keep it up!

Pat

JonathanG says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 12:57pm

It reminded me of Hearthstone :) I like the risk/reward of trying to build up a big multiplier. The graphics are nice, but it could have done with some animation to help the player understand what is happening. The tutorial is good too!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]