Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Attractor

by LegacyCrono - Compo Entry

A puzzle-based Metroidvania.
Note: the game is incomplete. It's fully playable but there's no ending.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#58Graphics4.18
#175Overall3.64
#187Fun3.57
#191Innovation3.68
#352Mood3.17
#482Theme3.43
#1347Coolness48%

Comments

retrophantom says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:43pm

love it, requires really precise controlling at the start. hope to see it completed

MamuteTeam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:37am

Great graphics, nice use of the theme and pretty challenging puzzles, congratulations!

Dagatts says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:43am

Really well done, and a fun way to solve puzzles. Looking forward for the completed version!

Jpm Mantovani says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:50am

I Really liked the art. The cutscenes are amazings (The thing I most liked), I love it. The tutorial is simple but efficient and the puzzle ideia with that weapon looks really good. In general, nice game, I want to see that game completed!

Mateus Culpo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:39am

I did not know very well English was difficult play to have several descriptive options, the game idea is very interesting, congratulations

Zeriver says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:01am

Decent game with interesting mechanic. Art and animations are definitely the strongest parts of this game. Would love to see full game :D

Mouch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:03am

The game is a rather standard platformer, but with a great graphic style. The greatest throwback is the structure of the level, which makes you fall back to an earlier position on the stage if you miss a jump.

GhostBomb says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:08am

Really exceptional work for a compo game! I'd like to see it finished!

NMcCoy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Game crashes and restarts for me as soon as it finishes scrolling at the beginning.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Nice graphics and animation. I got stuck because my magnet wouldn't move the vertical facing block... Great idea and implementation of the magnet boomerang weapon.

benbateman says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:05pm

This was great fun to play and was a nice difficulty that it was challenging but not frustrating. Would love to see more.

Dreyan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:26pm

Love the art style, reminded me a lot of Fez but higher res :)

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:03pm

Gorgeous art style and awesome concept. The controls felt a bit fiddly though and the movement didn't feel quite right, maybe the character needed to feel more 'floaty' in a way and not feel so heavy. But a really great entry with some well thought out level design!

-Neith

juxipolo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Graphics are nice and the puzzle elements to figuring out how to get the shiny things was very fun and satisfying.
It's was a little hard to tell what walls are collidable, and it took me a while to realize repel worked on all surfaces (I thought it was just the metal ones). The jumping could be a little frustrating at times because movement was so twitchy. Those are nitpicks though.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:55pm

Well, after collecting every one of those star things and being very confused, I read that this game doesn't have an ending.

The level was great. It was small, but the backtracking through an earlier parts with new powers was well designed. It didn't really fit the theme though (the attractor wasn't really a "weapon").

phi6 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:01pm

I love the magnet/attraction mechanic, something I haven't seen before! I also made a platformer/Metroidvania thing so I'm glad I stumbled onto your entry, interesting seeing other people's different takes on the genre. The platforming and puzzles were well thought out and difficult, graphics nice and clean, overall very nice entry :)

spin-down says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:22pm

This was a neat puzzle platformer. The graphics were top notch and the Attractor device was a nice concept.

wademcgillis says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 6:18pm

platforming is a bit difficult in certain areas

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]