Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Retroflect

by pkenney - Compo Entry

Retroflect is a shoot-em-up where you can't shoot.

Since I think Jam games should be fun for any skill level, this game has no death. Instead it has transparently dynamic difficulty that changes with your performance.

The true scoring mechanism will reveal itself if you fill the difficulty meter.

But don't worry about that, just have some fun!

UPDATE: Windows build added for download

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#257Theme3.71
#270Fun3.40
#277Innovation3.51
#429Overall3.31
#517Audio2.76
#655Graphics2.89
#825Mood2.58
#894Humor1.97

Comments

Malsanity says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:00am

Cool game, love the fact that you use the enemy's bullets as your own. Would love to go up and down, though...

resty says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:16pm

It's really interesting to find others have similar idea:)
I love this kind of game, but feel difficult to deal with high speed bullets. Put it to a corner is the only way for me to get a full rank.

EwChap says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Satisfying when you get a good run going. Reflecting off walls to hit enemies is also highly productive. The difficulty going up and back down as you do better or worse is a good mechanic, allows for some sort of higher score multiplier if you go down the score attack route, making the game playable at any skill but skill based for the high scores.

S0lll0s says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:24am

Only seeing a black screen in Chrome (running Arch Linux) :/

description sounds interesting...

Photon says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:28am

Goodness, that can get crazy quick! Even so, at one point I just sat there and I still did fine; its a little haphazard in that regard. But hey, it does crazy shmup well and it has a nice retro vibe to it. Good job!

Xanderzoo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:31am

Very fun. :)

alpha_rat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Interesting take on the theme !
The gameplay feels dynamic and challenging, also, I like the fact that the difficulty and the level can decrease

I noticed that by letting the game run without moving or rotating for a while, the level scales by itself to the maximum one, which is a bit weird.

A score system and a leaderboard would be a great addition to it! And maybe also some hp/number of lives feature, as the game as it is now has no lose condition (from what I have seen)

Also, by the way, thank you for your useful feedback on my game ;)

lucidsheep says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:52am

very clever!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:34am

I was able to spend 4s with the level1 thing at the top. But its really hard to maintain. Its a neat idea but I wish there was also a score but now that I figured out your scoring system I see why you don't. I found it best to not move a lot. It would be nice if the mouse would also rotate the reflector :)

richiebranson says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:39am

Love the deflection-based weaponry. I'm a big fan of shoot 'em ups! All it needs now is some cool chiptune music in the background!

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:41am

Good use of the theme, this was a lot of fun to play. Great job!

iSamurai says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:32am

Good execution of idea. The shooting is solid. But a bit too fast for me.

Frenchie says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:34am

This was fun! It got a little frustrating to get my score reset because of some bullets coming from below. Also, would be nice if you were invulnerable for a second after getting hit. Felt cheap to get three levels taken off by one enemy's shots. Apart from that, well done! :)

Kitsubi says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:03am

I love the game and the way the bullets deflect your bounce shield. It gets a little repetitive after a while, but overall I had fun

The4thCircle says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:34pm

Fun feel to the deflections, all got a bit hectic tough. Nice retro ambiance held it all together nicely.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Very funny and innovative concept. Maybe too hard to aim

Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:20pm

That was really fun and surprisingly well executed for the limited time. Great job.

murilo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:05pm

I really like this entry! The gameplay is fun and even though reflecting projectiles isn't anything new, the idea of having a whole ship and that kind of control is new for me! it's fun! Great job, man!

TetraQuad says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:23am

The idea was really cool and I liked it. I also enjoyed the scoring mechanic :D

Chris M says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:08pm

TBH I wasn't expecting much going into this, but it really surprised me. The idea is great, you've done good work with the game feel (esp love the way the audio and animations reinforce the feeling of impact) and the difficultly system you use works well to moderate the pace.

As others have mentioned, the central control is too complex at the moment for the fast reactions the gameplay requires.

Xanjos says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 12:49am

Pretty cool and addictive concept although it seems pretty hard to reach level 10.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]