Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Lets go Bananas in outer space

by Smiley - Compo Entry

You have been sent to the planet Quita to pick up bananas. On the way to your home planet you are attacked by alien space pirates! You don't have enough power in the lasers so your only option to survive is to use the bananas in the cargo as your weapon.

An epic space drama in one episode with colorful 8-bit graphic and a scrolling starfield! and yes it has an ending.

The game also includes a free play mode to fight the high scores.. How much score can you get? Post the score in the comments!



The game is a simple shoot-em-up game with heavy inspiration from the games I played as a kid on the C64 with heavy Sin/Cos-driven enemies just like back in the days.

==== Start ====

Space to start the "story mode"
F to start the free play mode with no ending

==== Controls =====

WASD (or arrows for left-handed) to move the ship
Space to shoot
F to enter full screen while in game
M to mute music and sound


========

Everything coded and produced during the competition.


Tools used:

IntelliJ Community edition as IDE
The awesome libGDX library!
Gimp for the graphics
Ableton Live 9 for the music using the software synth Sylenth1 with factory sounds. (No pre compiled samples or so)
8 Red bulls and a bunch of potatoes chips
Bfxr for the epic sound effects


Known issues:

Full screen doesn't work in the HTML version. The jar file is probably the best experience of the game. Java7 or later...


Future:

I _might_ continue with the game after the compo. Polish it.. try to make it playable on Android and iOS.. And include more enimies and different levels of diffculties. Follow me on Twitter for announcements: https://twitter.com/nicklaslof


Music:

I produce music as a hobby and I can be found at http://soundcloud.com/snukey




======================= AUDIO =========================

If you don't hear audio or music please try in another browser or download the jar-file and run it locally.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#184Audio3.39
#282Fun3.38
#395Humor3.02
#503Graphics3.13
#576Overall3.15
#596Mood2.88
#737Theme3.13
#964Innovation2.43

Comments

ShIxtan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:41am

At first I thought the red things were powerups. Some kind of sound effect to let you know something bad happens when you hit them might be good. But it was very nice and polished. I like the music.

Modoc73 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:52am

I first though of bananas too! But I did that for my warmup.
Good job, more types of powerups would have been cool.

Headmade says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Good job! Also it's nice to see another LibGdx Game :)

Is there an end to the game? It seemed to just go on forever.

Smiley says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:53pm

@Headmade yeah after score 3000 you reach "the end".. maybe you started the free play game (with the F-key on the start screen (yeah.. I should have made menu with selections...)) :)

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:05pm

LibGDX - nice! I like dthe game to of course!

nonetheless says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Love the fact that enemies actually aim at you, haven't included it in my game... :|

Garris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:26pm

I liked the music and of course, the bananas! Having a banana gun instead of a laser gun felt pretty good. Good use of theme.

Os_Reboot says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Fun game! Made my arm get tired, though xD

Hectate says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:29pm

I nearly wore my spacebar out; but while a "hold to fire" would be 'easier' it wasn't as fast as slamming it with all four fingers of the opposite hand in sequence to rapid fire :) Thanks for the game.

juaxix says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Please make the fire to be hold instead of fire per key.
It remind me of populous, and i love that game

Smokeylope says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Nice game and props for using libGDX. The graphics and the music were nice. Could have used more enemy and pickup variety.

grillaface says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Fun little shmup! Great music and I liked the graphics, but not sure if the space theme makes any sense with the fruit. Might be better if the rest of the graphics we're more in line with the fruity theme. Great controls though and fun to play.

morazor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:08pm

It brings back to mind the times when the ability to press buttons rapidly was part of the skillset of every video game player. Autofire is for lazy newbies that didn't endure the old times! :P

Thanks for the big nostalgic trip :°)

sandrohaag says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Super nice, loved the different types of weapons and enemies

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:41pm

cool game, but i prefer sticking closer to main theme ... banana is not enough :)

DarkGrisen says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Awesome game. I like the fruit idea in space :)

DarkGrisen says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Awesome game! I like the fruit idea in space :)

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Nice little game, I loved that everything was fruit :P Would've been nice to see more of the bullet hell enemies though, it felt a little easy :P

esayitch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Pretty cool game, even though I didn't get to the ending. Needs more powerups, and also needs to tell the player which powerup is active. Graphics are pretty cool. Too bad there is no sound. Enemy design is pretty fun as well. Good job!

rjhelms says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:48am

Reminds me a lot of Darius Twin on the SNES. Great stuff!

Zak says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:29pm

I think you should add feedbacks or other graphics to make the difference between power up and ennemies'projectiles. Cool retro style, nice job :)

hrd_games says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:24pm

Silly fun idea, but there seemed to be some audio glitches, and the game didn't seem to have a curve in difficulty. I did enjoy it however.

rmc says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:52pm

This game put me in the 90's again.
I don't know if it was the inspiration, but when I hit the play button, I just remember of playing Tyrian for hours and hours when I was a kid. Shooting bananas or hot dogs from a carrot ship.
Thanks for the good nostalgic trip. Good job.

xplicitone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Great use of the theme!! You were right, ours is similar :P
Love the shading on the assets as well :D

Backlund says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Good job!!

iapc says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:07pm

One major complaint: the difficulty is too low. That's a real shame, because the game is very polished. It seems to get easier rather than harder over time, because your health increases beyond your starting point.

careless says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:04pm

I always forget how much I love these games! Really well made and enjoyed playing.

Gemini Wing is one of my fav shoot um ups like this and had elements of that to it.

Great job

novadream says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:03am

Made it to the score of 3000. :)
Great job on the music, very catchy!

felipeberquo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:19am

Great game, very fun to play! This game reminds me that old school's shooters: powerups to your spaceship and thousand of bullets in the screen.
The sound didn't worked for me, but it was fun anyway! Congrats buddy

Lovelace Lair says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Awesomne game! Loved the chilly swirl of death :D 5*

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Cool game!

kunzbe says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Yeah, libgdx for the win :) i really liked the touch of randomness in this game especially the random updates.

n8 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:25am

Hmm, pretty good but could use some more axes... ^_^
Props for libgdx!

rnlf says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Cool game, gave me a retro flashback. The music is very cool. I did not really understand how up- and downgrading the weapon worked and I really wish wouldn't consider autofire cheating, as you said on IRC :D

I had a lot of fun playing this!

Tijn says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Loads of fun this game!

Jwatt says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:12pm

This definitely has a C64 air to it, in the music and sine scrolling and all that. I'll translate this to the mood score. Using default-looking UI elements kind of subtracts from the impression though.

It's a bit flat for a shooter, but amusing enough to go for score a few times. The shot types don't really have enough variety to justify their existence, so the lack of autofire feels like a cheap compensation for that. Even if it's trying to be retro, things like these just don't translate well to 2015 games, where we're not playing with C64 joysticks.

It took me a while to figure out that the enemy particles are hurting me, and I'm still not quite sure where all my health modifiers are coming from. The hitbox feels too big, too, which is the most obvious with the bullet hell-style spams now and then.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Nice space shooter game with strange weapons, but why not? All works very well and there is a good vibe. Thumbs up ++

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]