Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Sad Planets

by JulioC - Jam Entry

You are a cute alien, which has one mission: Bring some love to Sad Planets!

Go from planet to planet, throwing love pieces at the bad things on your way and make them more friendly.

Please not that I DON'T take ANY CREDITS for the GRAPHICS! They come from free assets packages from http://kenney.nl/ :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#382Theme(Jam)3.54
#522Humor(Jam)2.85
#684Overall(Jam)3.03
#704Innovation(Jam)2.77
#706Fun(Jam)2.77
#722Mood(Jam)2.76

Comments

Iak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Some strange collision things here and there, not too varied content, but a really cute concept. Going about turning all the bad stuff into good and happy stuff is a pretty interesting idea.

longshorts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Why do you have no category for graphics?
The game has a gorgeous aesthetic, and the random level generation seems quite good. The only problem was that I would occasionally get stuck on invisible terrain.

Vulture Tamer says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:19pm

beautifull!

dusho says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:24pm

cute graphics
screen scrolling is really lazy, and those spikes.. just frustrating.. also I was often stuck in some invisible object

JulioC says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:31pm

@longshorts and others:
My graphics assets come from kenney assets packages (freely available at http://kenney.nl/)

I'm aware of the issue with getting stucking, it's related to the random level generation, but I couldn't find the root cause or make a work around. I'll try to submit a fixed version before the deadline!

Thanks for playing, people :D

XeroCake says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:41pm

There are a few issues with collisions, but random generation can be annoying with collisions. The graphical choices are quite nice and they do fit the mood the game is going for.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:37am

Spread the love!

The camera could use some work, so that you can see where you are actually going. I enjoy the concept :)

esayitch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:20pm

Sometimes I get stuck for no reason, and the camera doesn't keep up with the player too much and lags behind.

Aside from that, great level generation and the concept is executed well. Could have used some sounds.

Good luck!

JulioC says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:48am

Thanks for pointing out the issue with the camera. I think I got so used to it through the development that it felt OK for me.

Giving some love to the sounds is something I'll be sure to do on my next project. Lesson learnt.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:42am

There is many annoying collision problems and I don't know why. Aesthetic is great, but why this silence? No FX or music. It can be easily improved. Thank you ++

Dynad says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:33am

Spread the love! While playing, I got stuck inside the grass after giving my love into the spikes... anyway Good job!

Leandrus says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Cool game, interesting idea there, cute and cleaver.
The only problem is that the pink guy get stuck a lot on the way. some collision problem maybe.
Thanks for sharing.

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:46pm

Nice game! Can't go wrong with that art, really cool "love weapon" thing to turn spikes and frogs to nicer things!, the controls were awkward and I didn't have enough hearts to keep playing as jumping spikes was impossible but other than that fun

dcRfj15 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Good job. The funniest moment for me was when I died on the first spike and it said "you did well: saved 0 planets and made 0 happier things"! The idea behind the game is great, it was a clever idea. It is cool that the world is randomly generated.

One thing which would be a nice addition is sound effects, but that is a relatively minor issue.

nonetheless says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Sometimes the character stops and you have to jump to go further. Nonetheless it is a really sweet game. Great job :)

steboots says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Same complaints, got stuck on invisible nothings, and the screen scrolled a little too fast, had to slow down to keep from throwing myself into spikes. Nice job otherwise.

DKoding says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Liked the bright colors and the graphics. Some sound would be nice. Are the levels randomly generated? Character seemed to get stuck when camera scrolled which was a little annoying. Overall, good stuff.

SmallPhil says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 1:13pm

The camera is too slow, but the game itself is very nice ! C:

lizard455 says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 2:34pm

Neat concept!

Alistesios says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Interesting idea. I'm pretty sure i've already seen these graphics somewhere else ... Weird collision bugs sometimes, and the camera also needs improvement because it does'nt follow the player very well.
Otherwise, well done.

pikkpoiss says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 2:05am

I actually felt bad when I didn't have enough energy left to make all of the unhappy things happy. I like that because when you're going through a game and killing enemies, you don't really care if you kill all the enemies or not (for most games).

pixzleone says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:56am

Could have used some sounds, and the camera lerp effect is a bit irritating because its hard to see where you are going. Other than that, nice game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]