Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Genemon

by Pietro Ferrantelli - Jam Entry

"Embody a Bio-hacker owning an High-Tech Genegun able to give rise to Genemons, some genetically modified creatures built up to struggle against some others and capable to fuse into new ones to fight into explosive underground arena battles."


---INSTRUCTIONS----------------------------------------------------------

Your goal is to crush the opponent's DNA tank with your Genemons.

To load a some Genemons in your Genegun, just LEFT-CLICK once on a Genemon icon.

Then, if your Genegun contains enough DNA, LEFT CLICK once again on the terrain in oder to spawn it.

In their fierce battle, Genemons sometimes drop some DNA or Fusion Cells.
MOUSE OVER these to collect them in your Genegun.

Finally, if your Genegun contains enough Fusion Cells, trigger a Genevolution by DRAGGING AND DROPPING a Genemon icon onto another and a reveal a new Genemon.

After each round, choose a new enhancement for your Genegun !

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Pietro Ferrantelli - Game Design & Programmation
Theophile Loaec (thomaslean) - Character Art & Sound Design
Augustin Grassin - Environnment Art & UI

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#8Overall(Jam)4.35
#9Fun(Jam)4.20
#9Graphics(Jam)4.71
#17Audio(Jam)4.25
#34Mood(Jam)4.09
#38Theme(Jam)4.17
#39Innovation(Jam)4.05
#292Humor(Jam)3.32

Comments

funisfun8 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:26am

Well, I'm sorry about your roll back, however, I REALLY enjoyed the game! I hope you develop it past Ludum Dare to finish it and maybe include multiplayer? I really love the idea and the game turned out great!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:50am

Thanks a lot ! We finally managed to finish in time :D

Kovalsky says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:10am

It's nice game, dudes!

funisfun8 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:13am

Do you have plans to take this past LD? I'd LOVE to see it.

Curtley says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:42am

The long awaited game i was so itching to play ever since i saw the first upload its amazing and the pixel are is my fav!!

Kazura says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:44am

Very nice game ! Congrats

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:52am

Thanks dudes ! We will post a bugfix update tonight :D

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:38am

The Monsters and Combinations.. just WOW

mortus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:23am

Super cool graphics and monster merging system! Quite fun to play too, nice work!

Malsanity says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:37am

Brilliant idea, but you need it to be turn based or has some sort of keyboard shortcuts. The AI always destroys me

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:47am

Yeah I made a big mistake : the first level should normally be the third ^^ I will fix it

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:16am

OMG This is one of the best game I have ever seen in LD!!!
The sprites are AWESOME!!! And the music great!
The mechanic is really enjoyable!!
I ended the game 3 times before voting! Real fun! I hope you'll win! :D

thomaslean says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:21am

Thanks everyone !

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:22pm

I saw some posts about this game on the top page and it does not disappoint. This is a great idea for a game jam length of time. The art is really top notch and the music/sound is near perfect. The only issue I have had is that the spawn pop ups are black for me and there is a black bar over the top of the level that I assume is another popup. Super good!

Saker Games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:24pm

Wow, what a cool game. The sprites and anims are beautiful.

AkirAssasin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Holy...

Tselmek says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:29pm

One of the best games I've played! Nothing to say about the graphics, the sounds, the gameplay and it is a lot of fun! Congratulations!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:38pm

Fuck yeah!

Awesome. Not sure if it's a bug but you can merge genemon's with locked ones? At least I was able to get last tier Genemon's super early that way, seemed unbalanced.

Love it nonetheless. Great work

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Great graphics and sound effects, over all a very fun game to play.

NoxiiStudio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Splendid! Gimme moar!

esayitch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Game is fantastic, you could probably sell it if you polish it. Great concept and execution, graphics are fantastic, so is the sound. My only suggestion would be to make the creatures have more pronounced special ability; i.e. a creature that heals, or one that bombs an area every once in a while, etc. I haven't gotten far, so if that is something you do later on, cool!

Good luck!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Thanks everybody !
@aaronjbaptiste You're right ! I will fix that tonight, thanks a lot !

Madball says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:17pm

That's an amazing work you've done! Graphics are awesome! Though seems like the interface isn't finished. Also, I'd like DNA to regenerate instantly before each level.

The game seems to have some unobvious rules about who kills who. In general, the game lacks a tutorial.
I found a strategy of upgrading the clone power and infesting the field with beringeis, completed the last level without losing health.

sorensaket says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:44pm

I sended you game to a twich steam so now there wil come more players. :D

pavel_insight says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:10pm

I was waiting for this release. :)

AlexDJones says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Amazing looking game, really impressed with the level of polish. A really great concept well executed, would love to see an expanded post-LD version!

FistBumpGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Simply put: awesome.
Great game enough said.

HeuGamer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Was waiting to play this one! Great game, but the DAMN AI CHEATS MAN!!

Justin Mullin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:46am

Spectacular art and animations. Really top notch. The gameplay was a little loose to me, seemed fairly spammy, but I enjoyed figuring it out. I'd play this game just to fiddle around with the evolutions though, great stuff!

retrophantom says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:56am

amazing. graphics and animations are top, the power for last tiered genemons are too weak in my opinion. and the abilities are all 01 so maybe its not updating correctly

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:07am

Very slick entry - loving the glowing art

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:16am

by far one of the best i have played so far - polished - great job!

thomaslean says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:10pm

We actually work on a final version, polished and all the bugs fixed !
It'll be released soon !

phi6 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Amazing polish, had a lot of fun with this! Spammed the first few levels to win (I found being aggressive is a good strategy instead of trying to defend) but progressively got harder :P

Drauthius says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Very well done! I barely want to stop... Awesome graphics.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:24am

[BUGFIX UPDATE] (still needs a proper game-balancing)

Thanks for your feedbacks ! It really helped us to find bugs :)

sputnik says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:28am

Awesome pixel art! Bravo!

Hjalte500 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:42am

This game is awesome how did you manage to get it done in this time? Damn

NoxNode says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:43am

dunno if this is happening for anyone else, but the link is kinda broken, I think you must've copied and pasted the link twice, I can still get to it if i delete a bit off the URL tho. Really sick game, I'm surpised you guys could make so much polished content so quickly. kinda easy tho, could just button mash and easily win every round.

xbcw says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:53am

Really fun, nice work.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:53am

That was awesome! Very fun that I had to play it again after beating it. One thing that I wish the game had was some hotkeys. that way I didn't have to move the mouse all the way below the playing area to select a different genemon. Other than that, awesome job!

iSamurai says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:12am

This is very fun! Nice modification to tower defence, and great art!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:16am

Ok now it's a little bit harder. Hope I will find the good game-balancing tomorrow :D Thanks everybody !

renatopp says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:26am

This is the best game I've played so far, the graphics and gameplay are really awesome!

If you guys are thinking in doing a post-compo version (I hope you will, specially for mobiles), my tip is to balance the low level monsters, I've won all levels by only spawning dogs and upgrading DNA. I could achieve 94+ life in all levels.

Congratulations for your game, it is really really awesome.

someone says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:38am

That was an awesome game.
Some keyboard shortcuts to switch types would have been useful.
Also I am always too busy trying to survive to have time to read all the information.
I did unlock all the variations in the first round which made the second round less interesting.

novadream says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:07am

Sweet game! :D
The graphics and audio were amazing.

devilright says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:02am

Lots of awesome details. I sank a good chunk of time playing this :)

MiniBobbo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:02am

I loved this. The art, sound and gameplay worked wonderfully.

Maybe it was just me, but all the type was so small it wasn't useful to me. So it was all trial and error gameplay. I'm assuming there was some rock/scissors/paper type thing going with the creatures, but I couldn't read the stats during the game to figure it out.

mildmojo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:18am

The version on the submission page rendered the playing field as mostly black with a few bright pixels for the creature spawns (FF 37), so I used the "doesn't work" web link which seemed to work perfectly. =D

Great concept. Combining units to progress through the tech tree was really cool, and the larger sprites and mutation animations were very pretty. The sounds were a good mix of combat and semi-creepy scifi.

I played on a touchscreen since it was easier than trying to use a trackpad, but dragging moved the page instead of the cursor in game. Not sure if that's even a problem you could solve in the browser.

If I played more, I probably could've figured out which units were most effective against an incoming attack. My noob attempts were mostly frantic clicking and whizzing around picking up DNA seahorses every time I ran out. The pacing was quite frenetic. I would've liked a little bit slower gameplay with a little more emphasis on strategy.

It feels very complete, though. Nice job.

dusho says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:48am

amazing game.. lots of fun.. well made

lyskaros says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:05am

WOW! If I could vote, I would give you 5 stars everywhere. This his the best LD game I've ever played, can't stop plying this...

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:09am

Very cool game, beautiful animation, and polished gameplay!!
Well made, congraz!!

louis.denizet says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:20am

This is... incredible! This is deep and really really interesting to play while simple to understand it's amazing for 72h!! 5 stars all the way for me :p

Only thing I could say : I would have liked to play with my left hand so my right hand can focus on monster placement and collecting bonus So maybe we could summon with 1 2 3 4 on keyboard and select the floor of evolution with the mouse wheel to act faster.

Anyway congratulations all the way (hello de indiemag^^)

Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:31am

Greate game, looks and feels really pollished, i enjoyed playing through it, the only thing that would make this better would be CoOp or Versus.

Split82 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:39am

Really great entry.The only problem I see is too many possibilities in the beginning. I can mix creatures even before I know what they do :)

Druid says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:51am

Woow! Excellent entry! Great work !!

SzRaPnEL says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:15am

Rounds should have faster gameplay (60sec per level max).
There is a wirt bug :D If you plug in headphones, genomobs in opposite direction :)

SzRaPnEL says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:17am

But the game is insanely awsome!!! This can be a huge $$$ product!

Tuism says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:27am

Duuuude, are you kidding me?!? I can't believe you guys pulled THIS off in the short amount of time!!

The concept is amazing, it's just really difficult to control and understand, and the real time nature of it makes it really hard to get into it from the get go. I feel like I'm just spamming buttons as quickly as I can. I guess eventually I'll understand some of it but right now it's just spam spam spam.

I feel like keyboard shortcuts are needed. OR put this on a touch device, though touch feels like it doesn't suit it as the buttons will have to be tiny tiny tiny.

Superbly polished, well done (if you didn't start the game before 72 hours :P) I think it could become something cool if you just slowed it down a bit and made it easier to understand.

GagaPete says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:47am

This is awesome. At first I missed the hint about collecting DNA but as I made my first fusion I was like "Whaaaaa?". It is impressive and has so much potential.
Online-Coop- and Versus-Multiplayer would make me pay 10 bucks for this.

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:54am

Great fun, excellent. Good job.

sararyCow says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:45am

Wow! Awesome game! Very fun to play and beatifull art and animations. Yo should continue working on it, I would play it for sure!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Once you shoot the first laser....Stress!!!
Loved the monster combination scenes.

Demy says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:09pm

This is magnificent!

terrykim426 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:11pm

This is great! Nice gameplay mechanic! It would be even better if you add in shortcut keys for the monsters' selection.

Matsuki says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Just so you know, the current web link is broken, you need to mess with the URL to get it to work, looks like it was posted in the box twice

Catman says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Awesome! Has a lot of potential!!

tummyache says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Really really hard, I tried 3 or 4 times to get past the second level and just couldn't do it. Can't really blame someone for balancing issue in a LD game though, just a shame that I can't get to the later evolutions.

Really cool god damned game though. If it were a little easier it would definitely play the hell out of this thing on Kongregate or something if you continue working on it.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Cool game! Very nice presentation, great graphics and music. The interface maybe could be a bit more intuitive. Would love to see a more polished version.

Nkoo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Great game ! Amazing content within the jam time ! I only regret the lack of shortcuts for creature selection, because you lose a lot of time jumping to the bottom left of the screen to change creature. Amazing overall :)

kaa says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Best Ludum game I've seen! Thank you!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Add multiplayer or make the CPU easier and this would be flawless

GFM says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:48pm

This was amazing! At first I thought it was a simple strategy game, but then I noticed how quick I get DNA and started spawning lots of genemons... it was awesome. *-*

If you guys added multiplayer support and hotkeys, it would be perfect!

barkergames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Awesome game!
One time I started I tried to create a guy and it failed, but then all the enemies guys were going backwards.
It fixed itself as soon as I successfully created a guy.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Thanks everybody !
@barkergames : Wow, that's weird ^^

Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:51pm

(UPDATE) The game should be easier now ;)

reiknight says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:18pm

WTF? take a nice score sir!!

skiddings says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Awesome art! And a fun concept too. An immediate improvement would be being able to hot select creatures to spawn from the number keys or something.

Hatsome says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Really enjoyed the game, it was a little fast for my taste. Had one of the best graphics I have seen yet!

sydan says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Probably my favourite game of Ludum Dare so far. This should really be put onto the market as something sell-able. The one thing I think could be done more would be a clearer tactical advantage in game for different genemons.

lyskaros says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:43pm

5/5. Everywhere. JUST WOW!!!

Best fun and graphics I've seen so far. The concept is amazing and your Genegun is the best unconventional weapon among the games I've played. Has a lot of potential for a commercial version !

Contrary to others, I don't think that hotkeys would be a good idea because there are 13 monsters and it would be to complicated to understand this kind of controls.

sebasRez says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:44pm

This is so cool, at one point enemies started going backwards and I couldnt combine anymore but the premise is really interesting and something I have been wanting to play with as well, this take is really interesting!

lyskaros says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:52pm

OMG ! Just noticed that you were only 17 years old ! That's so amazing, I hope you'll win :D

Zeriver says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Whoaw... just whoaw.

Ithildin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Brilliant, brilliant entry. The polish level is amazing in both graphics and sound, and I love the genetic fusion mechanic.

Congratulations for your entry, it's one of the best I've played so far, and I can see a lot of potential to turn into a full fledged game (I don't know...for example, different arenas, lots of creatures and combinations are clear candidates).

dray says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Well, i think that the humor is the only one i can't max. good job impressive job

abcdef65g says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Killer idea, creativity at it's finest. When you guys work on a commercial version do count on my attention!

StrayByte says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Just perfect, what can i say.

Tapisama says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Amazing game, one of the best i've played so far this LD!!. I would just like to point out that is way to easy to win just by spamming low tier units, specially with the third upgrade.

Dreauw says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:42pm

Wow, amazing game here :)

I got the same bug as barkergames with enemies going backwards after clicking to start the round with a failed spawning. Not a game breaking bug has it's fixed after spawning a new creature.

What amazed me the most is that you sucessfully teach the game and all the features without any boring tutorial or anything. Just an intuitive interface. That's something that I'm really bad at :D

The art is beautiful, the music is good too.

I like these kind of games where you can "evoluate" and upgrade things.

Really, nice work !

lucentbeam says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:42am

Wow, great work!

oparisy says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:59am

My kids loved you visual design! The game is nervous but not too hard at the beginning, which is good. Was there sound? I like the possibility to choose the order in which I "unlické" the "weapons". Solid title!

Mouch says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:22am

Whoa.... that was good!
I love it!

Keep it up mates!

Zener says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:46pm

This is GREAT!!! Kudos! Funniest game I played so far :)

MonoS says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Fast paced and really fun, completed in about 10 minutes of button smashing.

Sadly skipped the tutorial but understood what to to after the first battle, and that grants bonus point.

zaibakk says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Really amazing! Complimenti ragazzi! ;)

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Awesome fun. The creature designs are totally badass :D Don't really have any crits, enjoyed the game thoroughly. Oh, only that I thought I had to click on the pickups at first, took me a little while to realize that it was just mouse over. Congratulations on a kickass game!

Jadernak says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:08pm

The most fun I had so far in this LD, good job!

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Balance wise, it seems taking the upgrade to have double and triple level 1 monsters then spamming level 1 monsters works best.

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Probably one of the best LD games I've played so far! Loved the art style, loved the groovy music, and awesome innovation! So original. Usually a kind of game like this I wouldn't like, but I enjoyed it a lot! Had lots of fun. Fantastic job!

Horsed says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Incredibly well made. I will continue playing that.

holysheep says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Best LD game I've played so far. 5/5

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Very nice take on tower defense. Beautiful art.

Taldius says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:35am

Awesome game! I really love the concept. It's feels like a dirty pokemon. But I feel like the big creature aren't that usefull (I mainly used the monkey and was able to win).
Anyway, amazing job!

ehtd says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:24am

Really fun game! The first 5 Overall I give this jam. I played until I won. Took me two retries.

Arche-san says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:52am

This is impressive for the amount of time!
I don't know if it's me but the game got really easier with the clone upgrade.
Excellent job guys!

Jwatt says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:53am

Okay now this is a genuinely impressive entry. Some kind of special abilities to make monsters stand out more would probably be the next level for continued development.

KeyboardCat says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:00pm

5 stars everywhere, really good job ! (En plus, si c'est des français :))

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:06pm

That was really good ! Graphics look amazing and the game plays really nice ! Fusioning creatures feels very rewarding for some reason... Awesome game !

greytram says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Excellent game! Just simple and brilliant! Cheers!

Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Very well constructed. Nice attention to detail. Unique and fun to play.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Those are some amazing animations! Great job :D

rgehan says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Didn't really understand how to play at first (probably because I was too lazy to read). But it's fun once you know what to do.

Really polished game, good graphics and sounds !

matthewd673 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:41pm

This is hands down one of the best games I've played so far. Awesome work, I hope to see this continued in the future.

Thijs Tak says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:21am

Fun game but needs balancing. The clone ability makes the level 1 guys way better than any of the higher level due to the cooldown. Also, hotkeys would have helped a lot.
Good entry.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Love the artwork, moster design and animations.

DKoding says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Nice game. Love the music.

FeniX says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:45pm

That's an awesome idea! And both graphics and sounds fit so well to the concept. I hope you will not abandon the game after LD. :)

Anikki says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Nice

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Wow, the art & UI design in this game is awesome! The idea is great too. It was a little too fast-paced for the tactical elements to really gel for me, but I can tell there's a lot of depth there. Good job!

Catwheel says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Fantastic!

killako says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Great game, two player would be awesome

EwChap says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:14pm

An amazing achievement. Great work. Would love to see this expanded.

boateye says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:15pm

One of the best entries in here! A solid tutorial would go a long way if this went to a full release, but as it stands, I could see this being a fun little mobile diversion. The music, animation, and Juice is EXCELLENT!

ciaodavinci says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Excellent work!
Hotkeys would make the gameplay a lot smoother.

norwalnate13 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:28pm

I like this game like this much |_________________________|
Do you have any plans to port it to PC?

NightShadow0 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:39pm

Interesting mechanic, i enjoyed it. The multiple spawn enhancement is a bit odd though, as it discourages experimenting with fusions; i made it through the game just spamming triple lv1 apes.

Teesquared says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:50am

Great game. Worked in IE too. Good job. A Genemon-strous game.

xWarZonex says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:13am

Possibly the best game this LD. Audio, graphics, setting, everything, is PERFECT. The game is alittle confusing, but still easy to grasp. The way the game is layed out is great. 5/5

cdgugler says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:40am

Incredibly polished and fun game!

leafo says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 5:42pm

great idea, sweet graphics

commodoreKid says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Very good idea. If this was a full game with online battles, I would like to try that. It's kind of a yugioh combined with genetics.

felipeberquo says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Wow!!! One word: awesome!! Love the graphics and the sound/music. Good job!

May 4, 2015 @ 10:18am

Incredible! This is one of the best entries I ever played. Really... wonderful art, nice gameplay, superb music.

Mach60KAS says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Challenging and very interesting - loved the amount of polish you've put into the presentation! It's very hard to keep tabs on how powerful each unit you have is (since you need to worry more about spawning monsters constantly), but apart from that I loved it! Keep it up! :)

May 5, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Awesome game! Amazing graphics and nice and challenging. Did tend to spam stuff out but it rarely worked that well

May 6, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Really cool entry. Impressed that you got this much done. Liked the genetic combination idea. I didn't have much strategy to win other than spamming clones and the occasional big guy, but it was definitely engaging.

mathmadlen says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 1:48am

cool idea, pretty fun game with great art and music!

May 11, 2015 @ 1:17am

Cool graphics and concept!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]