Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Rekyl

by Wspon - Jam Entry

This entry was supposed to be submitted to the compo but got delayed because of various reasons.

The goal of the game is to make it to the hole in the end without getting hit by the enemies, however theres a catch when you hit an enemy with a bullet it bounces back at you.

Move with WASD.
Shoot and aim with your mouse.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#424Mood(Jam)3.20
#577Graphics(Jam)3.17
#588Audio(Jam)2.44
#620Innovation(Jam)2.94
#684Theme(Jam)3.13
#749Overall(Jam)2.94
#760Fun(Jam)2.69
#2090Coolness26%

Comments

Jerre says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:39pm

I liked the idea very much. Some tips for a better gameplay expecience in my opinion: The bullet could maybe return not always 180 degrees, but reflect in an angle depending on from where you shoot, otherwise you always get hit if you do not move. Also the first two levels I could just walk past every mouse, and in comparison the level after was very hard. But the idea is very good, and the art also worked well

spriters2000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Nice game. The idea is neat, but the reflection mechanic is not implemented in the best of the ways. It is often nearly impossible to dodge bullets and, though I like its level design, the third level is very hard to beat because of it

louis.denizet says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:18pm

It's good and I like the idea but I think you could have a better distinction between walls and floor^^ Good job anyway ;)

OrkyOrks says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Cool game! love the particle effects and simple mechanics. I recommend you don't reflect the bullet back though.

Jasonsumm says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:23pm

nice idea :)

DKoding says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Interesting to play. Liked the lighting and particle effects. Some more contrast between floor and walls would be nice. Also the bullet should probably be reflected according to real trigonometry and physics and not directly back towards the shooter. Good entry.

slowfrog says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Nice graphics and lighting effects. The level textures could use a little bit more contrast though: it's difficult to distinguish floor from walls at first.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]