Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Clarinetto

by strawfield - Compo Entry

Hey this is my Ludum Dare 32 game i made called Clarinetto. I used Game Maker to make it.

There is only 1 level. Why is he in the woods?

Shoot with [K]. Thank you for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#56Audio3.87
#87Mood3.71
#125Graphics3.94
#264Overall3.50
#488Fun3.13
#880Humor2.03
#905Theme2.81
#995Innovation2.33
#2008Coolness30%

Comments

Codepuree1 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:59am

Nice game, really enjoy playing it :)

Fanttum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:11am

Dude, this looks sweet. But... I'm on a mac :/
Any chance for a web port maybe?

ThommazK says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:20am

Sweet!

togie says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:03am

The music is very catchy, and the graphics are good for 16 bit.

TheBigShot says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:13am

Absolutely fantastic. This is a perfect example of a Jam game. Great simple visuals, stunning music. Im very impressed. The platforming element was great too. SHort and sweet.

Pawige says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:31am

Pretty pixel art! The collisions felt a little bit unforgiving, even when I felt like the arrows should have missed they often hit.

stoarch says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:07am

This music is beatutiful. Game is very difficult, and checkpoints not visible (for goals). But pretty to play. I like it.

ironleonem says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:29am

Stunning audio, great oldschool graphics. The reflex based gameplay isn't anything we haven't seen before, but it is executed very effectively. I think conceptually a blowgun is an unusual one, but I'm not sure it's unconventional. Still, the challenge of manipulating the blowgun was pretty fun!

TaoPhoenix says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:22am

An interesting decision not to have "game-enders". There seems to be no life counter and no time limit. And I think this is a good thing for this one! It's hard enough that even having a bunch of lives would get really frustrating!

It also seems to be pretty generous on "save states".

Fun little platformer!

I agree, if there's a post-compo version, try to tune the fine mechanics of sprite placement. I'd also make the art slightly less jaggedy for the terrain - maybe a bit less "grass and vines".

By the way,

The DonationCoder LudumDare 32 April 2015 thread is here:
http://www.donationcoder.com/forum/index.php?topic=40573.0

It happens to be their 10th anniversary! So I don't program myself ... so I am unleasing Weapons Grade Enthusiasm!

If you stop by DonationCoder, please put in the code/tag LudumDare-Tao so they will know it's my doings that brought you in! I'm not

part of any of the site structure ... just doing my bit for my favorite site on the net!

Also over there, I post a few of my detailed reviews of some LD games.

--TaoPhoenix

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:31am

Liked the graphics and the audio. Created nice mood there. Seems do die way before anything hits the player.

donan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:45am

Wow, i love everything about this game. Work on it after compo, pleeease :D

Geflucken says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:12am

Very nice game. I especially loved the music.

jhell says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:01am

Hi, pretty nice, controls feel OK, menu music is great (less fan of the in-game one). Difficulty gets steep very fast though :p.

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:17am

Loved the palette and the music, shame it didn't fit the theme closer!

rg_rem says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:21am

good game

lion123 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:41am

Good music and grpahics. Some say it's difficult, but it's not. Thanks for going easy on deaths

Indiestry says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Sweet garphics and chilling sound, would have been even greater with a bit more polish ( Fullscreen button, tutorial)
Really nice little game otherwise.

mar3k says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Really cool game. The art and music is just great and it was fun to run the game through. Although it didn't really "used" the theme.

repstyle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Grapics are nice.

Physics got some issues that makes the character stucked onto walls. I guess this is a common problem with games made with Game Maker.

Music is cool and calm. Maybe a bit short.

Sometimes the distance between the ground and the ceiling is too short and because of that you can't jump over killing arrows. But thanks to the unbalanced enemy generations sometimes enemies disappear freeing the way.

ianburnette says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Wait, so who did I find in the woods?!

DaniDK says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Loved the music, the art if very sweet. I found some parts in the level design really hard, but I managed to finish it.

Wayward says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Such a beautiful and harmonic game!

AnEvilEmpire says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Looks and sounds wonderful. I played through once without reading anything not knowing I could shoot and didn't need to. So I played again and found it much harder the second time knowing i could shoot lol.

nicotuason says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:36am

Short and sweet with beautiful music!

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:10am

Impressive compo

adnzzzzZ says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Really nice graphics and song but not too interesting gameplay nor a lot of content.

LuckyCassette says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:40pm

Nice graphics,controls are a bit awkward.
Super short, would have liked to play more.
Ultimately really cute game.

shatley123 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Cool game. I love the art and music.

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Really cool game. I love the graphics! It's a bit short, and really forgiving, but overall nice!

louis.denizet says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:18pm

That was cool, really good mood and nice pixel art (loved the music). I didn't see we had a weapon so I finished the level without it, then I read your description and made it again to see the weapon : pretty cool :D

phi6 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:56am

So short I wanted more. But that's a good thing because the platforming physics are spot on, graphics are great (love the grass/vines tiles) and the music is nice and friendly. "Charming" is a great word to describe this game!

Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:37am

Beautiful art and style. I got myself a bit stuck on some of the difficulty but I'm not great at platformers, so that might be part of the reason.

kunzbe says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:58pm

The music reminded me somehow of zelda. It sets a nice mood for the game

Tselmek says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Very nice game. The art syle is pretty cool even fs I sometimes can't recognize if the tiles are platformes or background elements. The music is very soothing and the sounds are fine. Nice checkpoint system.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]