Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Anagram Attack

by ethankennerly - Compo Entry

Can you solve all 100 anagrams?

To score higher, type words with fewer letters first. Then type a word that uses all letters to advance to the next word.
Cheat level: Press PAGEUP, PAGEDOWN.

Most anagrams are from:
http://www.enchantedlearning.com/english/anagram/numberofletters/5letters.shtml

Playtesters: Jennifer Russ, and at http://themade.org Anders, Redbeard, Jovanni, and Peter.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#124Innovation3.81
#213Overall3.57
#214Fun3.52
#225Theme3.76
#499Audio2.80
#523Graphics3.10
#620Mood2.85
#748Humor2.35
#2292Coolness17%

Comments

fixedgerald says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 3:19am

Fun to play once you figure out what to do, but the in game text is confusing.

ethankennerly says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:14am

@fixedgerald You're right: the instructions were confusing. Now I hope they are clear.

Bastienre4 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:07am

Good concept, quite fun, but it's a pain for the AZERTY keyboards.

fixedgerald says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:46am

@ethankennerly the updated version does make more sense now. I like the animations on the letters

Pinpickle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:29am

I liked how you were introduced to the game, and it was refreshing given the different playing style of all of the other LD games. I got to 36 with 279 letters

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:45am

This was funner than I expected! I got really competitive with myself after a few words. :) I got stuck in the 20s, unfortunately, but I had a lot of fun. Good job.

wooltech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Nice, clear, simple game.

DSalles says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:27am

Wonderful addictive fun! I wasn't sure what the advantage was for making short words until I was running out of time, then it helps by shuffling teh letters and buying a little extra time, though I couldn't really tell what it did to the score. Love it!

Backlund says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:04am

Good job

pixzleone says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:04am

Cool idea! Keep it up!

robodylan says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:25pm

36 with 233. Great game and the most original idea i have seen yet

Tselmek says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 11:50pm

An original word game yet very hard for non-english speakers but the concept is very nice. Graphics are clean and sounds do their job.

69 words with 630 letters. ^^

May 6, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Excellent game! I love typing games (I've made on for this LD too), but I never thought about mixing it with anagrams, good job! Some words are too easy, but some are too difficult (I'd slow down the hard enemies), maybe 'cause I'm not a native English speaker. My keyboard doesn't have page up and page down keys, so I had to beat every level; luckily you don't really lose when the enemy gets you. The feedback to the input is really good too! 5 stars! :D

OadT says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 2:47pm

I am German and I find these games difficult even in German :D But you added some nice features which made the fun even for me as a loser in anagram! :D

May 10, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Incredibly clever game! Great work!

AdricZero says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Fun to play. Nice to see a typing and puzzle game combined. Made it to word 44.

IamAcoconut says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Fun game, I love the concept! Never though of anagrams as a weapon! I found the game very easy, maybe make difficulty increase faster? Anyway, great job!

yuigoto says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 3:42am

Nice take on the theme and use of language! Besides being an unconventional weapon it's also educational! :D

Graphics might be simple and audio too, but they are good for this genre! Pretty solid and fun to play! :3

wg_phancock says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Wow, this was really fun. Spent more time on this than any other game this LD, and only made it to level 50some. Awesome amount of content for a compo game.

May 11, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Not very clear at first, but nice entry

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]