Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

"The Hard Rock Riffs" Weapon

by OberynMartell - Jam Entry

Try to get to the limo before you are overwhelmed by your fans!

Instructions:
Press the keys in the correct order to perform combos to send away fans.
If 20 or more fans hold you at the same time, you lose. Each fan holding you slows you a little.

Credits:
Felipe Couto - Art / Sound
Fernando Molon Toigo - Programmer
Henrique Dias - Food / Shelter Provider / Drummer

EDIT:
Sorry non-QWERTY users :(

EDIT 2:
Raised the number of fans you can hold before you lose from 10 to 20.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#21Audio(Jam)4.18
#84Theme(Jam)4.00
#125Humor(Jam)3.69
#206Mood(Jam)3.50
#220Fun(Jam)3.47
#261Overall(Jam)3.53
#382Innovation(Jam)3.29
#385Graphics(Jam)3.56
#2054Coolness28%

Comments

Mouch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:33am

Great game!
But really hard on a keyboard layout other than qwerty.

Druid says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:43am

Wow, i love that pixel metal :D But it was little hard for me. You know, i am really slow typer :D

nuprahtor says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:06pm

I guess I can say that this game rocks! But I'm not. It's really hard to get to the limo.

smokecastles says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:17pm

Simply brilliant. I'm in love with that Angus sprite. I have to say I find the game extremely difficult, but that doesn't matter since I can rock for a while before the hordes catch me.

hbocao says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:13am

It's an awesome idea, but damn, it's hard. Frustrating hard for me. Very pretty and the audio kick ass. A very good entry overall.

OberynMartell says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:35am

Thanks for the feedback everyone. I updated the game and raised the number of fans that can hold you before you lose from 10 to 20.

hbocao says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:53am

Ok, I did it! Angus and Slash was pretty spot on! I liked the credits :)

Tanser says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:01pm

The idea is just amazing! Great entry.

WeaselZone says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:03pm

I must do something wrong, I can't seem to execute the combos, or if I do, I don't see it. Audio and graphics are great and a nice take on the theme.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Really fun game. It reminded me that I should learn playing the guitar. Good to know that there are still hard rock fans out there!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:39pm

haha crazy game, a little hard but good use of the theme. Nice job.

Drauthius says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:31am

Great game! It takes a bit getting used to, especially if you're not using qwerty regularly. Numpad could have been a configurable alternative, but that might be a bit too easy. The first stage is a lot harder than the second one though. :)

f7f5 says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 8:54pm

I love the visuals and the audio. The idea is fun, but gameplay is disapponting: just keep doing the combos in sequence - I was not even looking at the screen most of the time...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]