Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Manriki

by FistBumpGames - Jam Entry

A solitary samurais quest to prove himself and fulfill an ancestral wish...

Gather the 30 origami pieces and forge your Manriki Gusari, and survive your ancestors trials to fulfill the ancient wish.

Thanks for the great feedback! The problem with RMB can be circumvented by entering Full Screen Mode.



LMB - Attack
RMB - Evade
A,D - Move
Space - Jump/Walljump

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#207Graphics(Jam)3.90
#274Audio(Jam)3.29
#378Mood(Jam)3.26
#762Overall(Jam)2.92
#783Theme(Jam)2.94
#805Innovation(Jam)2.56
#845Fun(Jam)2.57
#893Humor(Jam)1.97

Comments

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Great graphics and mood. One thing though, right mouse button brings up a settings menu in most browsers so "Dash" wont work. I Struggled getting a wall jump to work too. Great presentation though. Impressed.

DKoding says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Difficult controls. Right mouse button does not work in the browser, I just get a context menu. Also the combination of a,d,space and right/left mouse is too clunky. Game looks pretty good though and plays smoothly.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:12pm

I really love the graphic style you adopted. Really nice!
Nice audio also but there are some problems with the controls.
BTW good Job!

Luke Nizik says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:23pm

You know that RMB isn't the best idea for web player, right? Lovely graphics.

Huo-cuo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Very moody and scary! At first I just fell of the cliff on the right and had to restart the game. But then I colected a very long something a got killed in the first fight :)

Borkleby says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Awesome startup sequence, my favorite part by far. I don't get the unconventionality of my weapon, but it appears to get longer so that's a thing. I really liked it though!

jordinuco says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Origami Manriki Gusari has enough mood by itself, but the part I liked most was that sun... the most evocative element of the game in my opinion.

Great job!

Cstudios says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:44pm

The art style is amazing, also the sounds. However the camera should have some damping (dont moving intermediately with the player). its very sturdy this way.

Taldius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:44pm

The art is cool but the physic is weird (I get stuck on the side of the platform some times) and I can't figure if I'm doing damage to the enemies or not.
But nice game overall.

Dickie says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:45pm

um couple technical things, first the whole right mouse button thing and second you didn't add in a death plane so you just fall forever if you're dumb enough to fall off

otherwise character looked killer, liked the origami concept and the pulsing sun was a nice effect.

enemies were a bit derp and when you hit them there didn't seem like much feedback to communicate to the character if you hit or could hit them.

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Love the graphic design but controls need a little more love ;)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Great looking game with a really nice mood. A few bugs like falling out of the world but apart from that a good entry.

conniejoern says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Your game looks really good. Nice grafic style. I did enjoy the game but didn't really get how the battlesystem work.
I ended up by killing one ghost and getting killed by two new ones, wich spawned immediately.
The music gives a nice mood, by the way :)

kristof says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:52pm

The game looks and feels very nice. You have a very consistent art style going on there. I also like the idea of collecting weapon parts to build a unique sword. The gameplay however feels a bit clunky. I wasn't able to make precise jumps and sticking to the wall when moving in that direction feels wrong.
But still, you managed to build an astonishingly good looking game.

lumscum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Really dug the art style!

fixitteam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Great art style and the music is nicely combined with the game.

murilo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:16pm

I really liked the graphics and music. But no matter what I tried I couldn't kill that ghost. Even when I had a big weapon by accumulating those things :(

Nice game otherwise!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:46am

I really enjoy the art style of this game but it is a little tricky to control at times. The environmental assets are really well done. I really like the trees in particular. The character art is super cool. Well done!

Drauthius says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:50pm

So, origami is the weapon? Can it be used in some way except cutting air? I kept getting stuck in pit to the left as well. But I did like the audio. It creates a nice mood.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:37am

graphical style and the audio is awesome. Annoying that I can't right click, but otherwise this is a good start to something

Jasonsumm says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:22pm

great style ^_^!

Garris says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:40pm

This game was really pretty, and the music was very nice.

Frenchie says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:35am

Graphics are very nice. I don't think I've ever seen an origami sword before!

phi6 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Gravity is a little floaty for my taste especially with the quite responsive running and air control. But lovely graphics, mood and atmosphere, loved the look of it!

freaknarf says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 9:24am

Cool graphics ! I did not used mouse as right click brings a window on browser games...
I had some collision bugs and trouble controlling wall jumps so sometimes getting off the pits was hard...
I think i won ?
Idunno :/
Good level design btw !

lizard455 says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Really good! The ambient bird noises go well with the music and add to the mood.

eddynardo says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Well i somehow made the game bug 2 times randomly but other than that the game was preety cool.I liked the graphics part a lot!

oinariman says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 1:16pm

Beautiful graphics and good mood. It's not related to your work, but I didn't know "manriki gusari" even though I'm a Japanese.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]