Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Hair Dryer Nightmare

by WetDesertRock - Compo Entry

Hair Dryer Nightmare is a game where your main weapon is your trusty hair dryer.

One day you were drying your hair, and then suddenly you were thrust into the limbo world between life and death where the spirits exist. Luckily you kept ahold of your hair dryer. Using your hair dryer keep the spirits at bay until you can figure out the puzzle and return to the world of the living. Unfortunatly your hair dryer has a short power cord so you have to run from power outlet to power outlet in order to avoid the spirits.

Description of the mechanics *important!*
Move with WASD
You need to plug in your hair dryer into an outlet (by clicking on the outlet) so it can work.
If you move too far away from the outlet your hair dryer will stop working.
You start in the room with seven puzzle switches. When standing on them press space to toggle through them. Your goal is to find the correct combination and switch the plates to the right colors.
When you get touched by a spirit they will teleport you to a random part of the map.
Always keep moving, use your hair dryer to push the spirits back as you run or to push them back as you glance at the puzzles.
It may be useful to take screenshots of the clues or notate them briefly.

Hints on figuring out the puzzle:
Various rooms around the map will have patterns on the floor made up of the same colors the switches use.
These patterns use the same motifs in the layout of the colors that the switches use.
The location of these rooms may be important too.
Important things to look for may be stuff such as general location that a color appears in, relative to the center and to colors around it.
Rooms all generally follow the same ruleset as the center does, but they may break the rules once and awhile.
Smaller rooms will tend to have less important hints and break the rules more often to emphasis one specific rule.

If you want more hints, go here: http://www.desertrock.ninja/


This game anonymously submits statistics to my private server. If this creeps you out, you can download a slightly different version of my game with the only difference is that it doesn't send stats to my server. Download that here: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/zzew2fyz6mnx3nk/AAAskUHsffwiiQq1EAPrbYQ6a?dl=0

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#95Audio3.67
#111Mood3.63
#211Theme3.78
#357Innovation3.39
#445Graphics3.21
#512Overall3.21
#684Humor2.47
#969Fun2.44
#2054Coolness28%

Comments

rnlf says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:43am

I've so far been unable to solve the mystery, but the game is pretty well made. I love the music and the somewhat dreamlike art style.

rxi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Firstly: top marks on audio! The music was excellent, as well as all the sounds. The noises the spirits make were especially good, the fact that they were positional combined with their attenuation curve based on their distance was just perfect. I loved how they had to be quite close before you would hear them, but it would grow louder quite quickly. From what I played it felt like much of the game's experience was in its sound, which makes a nice change from games where the focus is mainly on graphics and audio is an after-thought.

Pretty cool to see the art style, it felt like it shined in particular on the spirits, the motion and particles of them really felt fluent and gave it that moving-painting effect. I'd like to see the style expanded upon, integrating movement into all the elements.

The whole concept with the hair dryer and power cord definitely fit the theme well, and added a bit of humour to the game.

I found the puzzle element of the game wildly confusing, even with the hints, and the guide, and the map, I'm still unsure what I was supposed to be doing!

Overall I still enjoyed the game, mainly from the atmosphere which the audio and visual style created.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Neat game.

plams says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Couldn't solve it, but the music and the spirits are gorgeous.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:12am

I think you've done a really good job with the music and art here, really pretty. I also really like the mechanic of having to plug the hairdryer in! Really adds to the feel of the play

Tijn says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:28pm

This game is fantastically made. It plays, looks and sounds great. But I'm sad to say I'm unable to beat the puzzle :'(

oranebeast says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:29am

The game was interesting. There was no real penalty for death but yet there was. I also had a moment where I was trapped switching between parts of the level.

Damdoshi says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:07am

Good work, but difficult to understand where to go.
The graphisms are nice, but the ambiance is a bit strange...
The hairdryer and the outlet are a good idea, but I couldn't understand how to make the red things "die" or being repulsed.

nihilaleph says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 3:40am

Great game! Loved the graphics and audio! The concept too is great, and it's really fun to play! Just the controls felt a little stiff for the lack of diagonal movement.

Still couldn't solve it... I'm gonna think for some time before trying it again xp

IDidGame says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 12:13pm

very nice audio and interesting visuals
i think figuring out the puzzle would be more engaging if the movement wasnt as slow

iapc says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Gorgeous entry, fun gameplay, but I couldn't figure out the puzzle.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]