Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Hush

by rojo - Jam Entry

You're a Clefling hanging out in the forest when suddenly disaster! Hushbert hates the songs of the forest and has unleashed his super secret weapon: the Voice Stealing Technique. However, you are immune and your voice can be used as a weapon against the silence. Break the Seals of Silence to restore the voices of the forest!

Everything you need to know will be explained in game. If you have questions get in touch with me on Twitter @rojomojogogo.

Hint: if you're having trouble figuring out the order to play notes in, remember to listen for the snap - it indicates the beginning of the loop. Also try looking at the middle of the screen. It may help you see the order in which forest critters are emoting.

I created the game solo.

Contact:
www.youtube.com/gameswithrojo
www.twitter.com/rojomojogogo

Tools:
Unity 5, Photoshop, Audition, Audacity, FL Studio, sfxr

Font:
Eskargot by Apostrophic Labs

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#112Innovation(Jam)3.78
#127Audio(Jam)3.67
#253Fun(Jam)3.41
#257Mood(Jam)3.43
#291Overall(Jam)3.48
#301Theme(Jam)3.67
#373Graphics(Jam)3.57
#423Humor(Jam)3.06
#1436Coolness46%

Comments

Paulozz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Classic, but fun.

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Cool idea! Played to the end and was quite fun figuring it out, good job

Wertle says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:48am

I like how you incorporated a tone matching game into the theme, it was a nice little story accompaniment. The tick to start the measure was helpful, but I wish there was also a visual cue in addition (something simple would work. Screen flash, perhaps?) mostly because it was sometimes easy to confuse the order of animations because I wasn't watching properly at the right time, especially if things were on opposite sides of the screen. I had a really hard time discerning the different pitches in the cows due to the very low sound. Dunno if this is my speakers or just an issue with my own hearing and difficulty detecting low frequency, but I unfortunately got stuck on the cow section x_x Nice work overall!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:18am

Wow! I loved the idea. The setting in the forest with the animals was a fun and charming way to express the simon-says type music player. The tunes you got to create were catchy too. I could totally see this becoming a really popular mobile game. My only complaint is having to keep moving the mouse between animals and waiting for their turn so I could hear their tone; maybe try some other methods of showing the user what each animal plays? Otherwise, I can't really see anything wrong with it.

Jajo says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:20pm

I'm very bad at puzzle games, but this was an amazing game. Very hard for me though...

AlcoTk says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:56am

Cool idea, dude

jtpup0 says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 7:09pm

I love it, reminded me of OoT and melodisle

Crowbeak says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 9:08am

My favorite graphical bit was the treble clef hairdo. This was a really interesting game to come out of the theme.

geekdrums says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 1:41am

I liked musical mechanics of this game, good job!

I think there should be some musical progress during a level(ex. add part when its finished).

Xanjos says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Very fun and unique mechanics and the puzzles were very well thought out (the snap definitely made things a bit easier) plus I liked the enchanted forest setting.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]