Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Higgs' Gun

by Jeasonfire - Compo Entry

The Higgs' Gun is a 3D puzzle platformer. You get a gun that can solidify and un-solidify special materials.

Controls:
- Moving: WASD or arrow keys by default
- Jumping: Space by default
- Shooting: Left-click by default
- Changing ammo: Scroll wheel by default
- Flashlight: Right-click by default
- Pause: Tab

NOTE: In the web version, if you press Escape, the window will release the mouse. To get the mouse bound to the window again, click on the game, pause and unpause.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#305Overall3.45
#366Innovation3.37
#418Fun3.20
#482Theme3.43
#521Mood2.96
#631Audio2.50
#759Graphics2.70
#857Humor2.08

Comments

Ysty says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:31pm

A really neat idea. Short but nicely polished.

factorial says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Unfortunately with a trackpad I couldn't switch ammo. Thought the concept was pretty cool though. Wish the gun looked like it was aiming where I was looking.

stig1 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:59pm

I had fun playing this, well done!

SadSmile says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Awsome. Here are some tips tho: Parent the gun to the cam, so that it looks where it shoots, set the player on a diffrent layer and set your cam to ignore it. So you get a shadow without seeing your own body. Also a crosshair would be nice :) I hope that helped ^^

ChronusZ says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Nice concept. I feel like the puzzles could have been better designed to show off the potential of the mechanics, though (Something where you need to turn on a platform at one point and then later turn it off again, for example).

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Cool idea. Nicely polished. One of the few entries that wasn't frustrating to beat. I wished I had a cross hair during some parts. Overall, pretty solid entry. Nice job!

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:43am

not bad idea, like the level design

PyroSneak says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Fun game, short and sweet. really liked the mechanics, would be cool to see a longer version of it

Bitterdeath says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:43am

I wanted more levels. :) Great concept and level layout. I had a good laugh at the text on the wall taunting me. And yes, I did forget I had a flashlight, thanks for reminding me.

Pixelcyborg says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:49am

Clever mechanic, the song was somewhat repetitive but the game itself was quite enjoyable

Karai17 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:52am

An interesting idea, but could use a lot of polish. Keep at it!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:07pm

This puzzle platformer contained neither much platforming nor particularly puzzling challenges. I wish there were more different uses for the gun. Just switching walkways on and gates off isn't very interesting.

panurge says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:14pm

A neat idea, nicely executed. The puzzle difficulty and learning curve was spot on. The tutorial text was really well presented and in later levels had a touch of portal about it. :)

With a little more polish (and less annoying music!), this could be made into a really satisfying full game.

Romixal says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Aiming is a little bit hard, and projectiles flies through colored walls, but it's a very interesting concept.

farnsworth2 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Well polished and a solid idea. Some way to know where the shot would go would be nice, perhaps a laser pointer or just a target on the center of the screen. The levels could have been a little bit more difficult, with more use of the game mechanic (Switching things on and off through other platforms, ect). It's also a little confusing to be able to switch to ammo types you don't have.

Chaoseed says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 11:02am

Kudos for making an entire first-person puzzler in a weekend! It's a neat idea, a fun few minutes, although I'm not sure the mechanic has enough design space for an entire game. Also, I couldn't figure out how to invert the mouse, which was annoying.

amras0000 says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 6:05am

Main nitpick would be the lack of a crosshair. It's a solid game otherwise, well-polished, explored several mechanics, and felt like it ended just when it needed to. Well done.

chocobyte says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Love the idea, simple & fun.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]