Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

You Can Shave the Baby

by chikun Dev Team - Jam Entry

UPDATE: Mac OS X version fixed!

YOU CAN SHAVE THE BABY :

A minigame experience in which a number of unconventional things must be done to uncover the secrets of a mysterious Tokyo floppy disk on your personal computer. Some of these things are disturbing.

Proceed with caution.


HOW DO I PLAY YOU CAN SHAVE THE BABY? :

Mouse and arrow keys only. Arrow keys are pictured onscreen if you need to use them during the minigame.


PRAISE FOR 'YOU CAN SHAVE THE BABY' :

"I enjoyed shaving the baby. I have to admit - I enjoyed it almost as much as my husband Dennis enjoys shaving my hirsute thighs every morning."

- The late Margaret Thatcher, on an early development version of the game

"You know, if I were a single man, I might ask that baby out. That's a good-looking baby."

- Bill Clinton, 1998, on the in-game graphics of the baby

FAQs:

Q. The bird doesn't stop looking at me and I always lose.
A. Maybe you should just do nothing and stare back.

Q. What's Colin Mochrie's sweet spot? I can't make him shiver with delight.
A. Most people miss the very edge of his left shoulder. Try that.

Q. Is there an end to this relentless minigame hell?
A. No. There is only suffering.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
Humor(Jam)4.46
#20Fun(Jam)4.10
#72Audio(Jam)3.88
#89Overall(Jam)3.86
#104Mood(Jam)3.76
#396Graphics(Jam)3.54
#420Innovation(Jam)3.23
#863Theme(Jam)2.75

Comments

2Bit says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:54am

I run the .exe and Love.dll is missing from my system on windows. How to resolve?

JALgames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:28pm

love.dll and lua51.dll are both mission. Could you put them in a zip together with the .exe so I can enjoy this interesting-looking game? (I'd be thankful if you would comment under my game because it is easier to see the comment there for me)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Hey guys, sorry about that. All dependency issues are resolved, so please try to download the game again :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:54pm

UPDATE: Linux build now up!

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:35am

perfect jam game, a good 15 min of fun

Shimmergloom says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:31am

Love.dll missing

jhell says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:18am

Wario Ware style game, can't say I was expecting that ^^ Very, very well made, flawless execution, fun mini-games :)

Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:49am

@Shimmergloom: Have you extracted the game from the .zip file to a folder?

Bastienre4 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:51pm

I really really enjoyed this. Five Stars my good man!!

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Haha great work! :D

rgehan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Absolutely weird. But fun, really. Love the voice of the guy :p

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Crazy game. I didn't expect it to be funny judging by the title, was a bit surprised there.
Not sure it fits well with the theme though, but oh well.

grozamorei says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:03pm

This is so good.

I made it to 12 interfaces, but some of the challenges I did not understood, e.g. "don't scare the bird". Is there an end?

Anyway, congrats on great entry, lots of weird fun.

Alexbrainbox says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:03pm

This game was really fun. Some of the minigames were a little obscure (especially the ones where you have to use the arrow keys - i was pressing WASD and clicking on the prompts to no effect). The shave-the-baby minigame did make me laugh xD

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:05pm

@grozamorei: The way to complete "Don't Scare the Bird" is to not move your mouse or press any keys :) There is no end as of yet, maybe one day.

erdos says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:11pm

This is the first game I played for this LD, such a good start, I love it, I don't know how much it fits the theme but the music and art and the baby shaving and the buttering the guy in the tub made me smile. I'm keeping a copy of this game!

BTW, couldn't get the mac app to run, had to run from source

erdos says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:19pm

oh man the music on straddle the pool noodle just got me so bad!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Very interesting. Some of the games are a little finicky and it gets quite repetitive after a while. Is it even possible to beat this game?

terpin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:02pm

Hahaha this is such a weird game man, but it totally fits with the theme. Lovin' it! I

DarkwindMedia says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:06pm

cannot open on my mac :(

NoWandStudios says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Weird game but funny after all. Minigames are bizarre and catchy at the same time quite addictive

BeardoGames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:21pm

I'm keeping this one around for... you know, the right occasion. One note: I didn't expect that there would be a baby. Another note: The egg eating was unexpectedly alluring.

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:22pm

I always loved the zany weirdness of Wario Ware - it's nice to see a more "mature" version. Great combination of funny and weird. No complaints - even the terrible graphics are perfectly suited.

andreimarks says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:28am

Couldn't play the OSX version! I'm on OSX 10.9.4, standard MacBook pro.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:56am

Hey all! The OSX version -should- be fixed now.

Makay says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:38am

Really funny and amusing. Made me laugh quite a bit. Well done!

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:58am

oh, this is a weird game... but i liked!

ChronusZ says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:08am

I'm guessing the unconventional weapon here is the game itself? ;-)

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:19am

the art was great and I loved all the zany minigames. This is one of my favorites for sure.

2Bit says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:55am

Why is the baby so hairy... why....

Loved it. Great mini-game game, very funny and great visuals. The egg lady looks so sad.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:25am

Make me laugh. :)

Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:49am

Most weird sh.. shave that I saw on this LD. Genius!

Davikin92 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:05am

I played it like 10 times, it's kinda addictive and made me laugh. I can't still figure out how to avoid spooking the bird! Anyone?

Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:11am

@Davikin92: Just don't move the mouse or press any keys. Thanks for playing :)

retr0verse says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:27am

first 5 star game! i got to hack into 20 systems and shave a baby and eat eggs! omg!

zorfmorf says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:34am

Really really fun game!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:36am

I could see this being a full game. Very fun and funny.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:42am

I can indeed shave the baby. This game promised, and it delivered!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:16am

I found the concoct a disguise mini-game to be one of the harder ones I saw. Don't spook the bird was one of my favorites, I can't help but smile during those 5-10 seconds of silent tension. The bird really breaks all the other commotion up, very nice little sprinkle of contrast there.

My best run was 20 interfaces before running out of hearts. By that point I was starting to notice some pretty heavy repetition anyway though so I think I had pretty much seen mostly what the game had to offer.

I enjoyed this more than I though I would. Though I've never played them extensively, I don't mind Warioware-style games every once in a while. It's completely random but doesn't feel immature to me, just sort of like little snapshots of bizarre requests. And I like the surprising nature of the mini-games you've assembled. Lots of nice variation between keyboard and different kinds of mouse interaction.

Pretty nice job on this, it was fairly entertaining and it was a really nice deviation from the other entries I've seen so far. It doesn't really match with the theme very well in my opinion, but that aside I thoroughly enjoyed the time with your game.

Bardikus says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:07am

Best game this Ludum Dare so far, laughed so much :))

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:22am

I love the surreal setting, the art matches perfectly

Hjalte500 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:01pm

I downloaded the pope! This is game is great and your description fits.

peterfsat says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Funny as hell! Reminds me of the old Wario games :)

elpaulo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:37pm

21 points ! Most fun i had on a LD game so far !! Very awesome !
Music is great, graphics are hilarious, minigames are nicely made. Love it !

nassi says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:19pm

While not a new concept, games like these are definitely fun from time to time. Lovely minigames too, although buttering up was somewhat hard it seems. The face on the guy jumping for the pool noodle and missing was the best.

Before playing I was almost certain that the praise in your description was forged, but after playing the game everything checks out.

Drauthius says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Haha. Minigame hell indeed. :) Very nice concept. The weapon is the game, and the joke's on us!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:27am

Yes, yes I shaved the baby. I also did a lot of other fun things!

Awesome job!

josefnpat says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:50am

This is a great game. Not sure what was going on most of the time, but that's a good thing.

Nice job with the linux build as well.

ruerob says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:40am

Nice little weird game! The Wario Ware influences are great! Well done!

MonoS says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:20am

My best is 34 interfaces after about 4 tries.

The game is fun as hell, laughed harder than i's have expected to some of the minigame.
The music is also pretty good, maybe some of the track lost some point in the higher pitched-higher speed section of the game [but this is just a side note]

Cool graphics, but maybe some more detail would have helped.

Does the computer have the same face of the game icon??

Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:02am

It's weird as hell :)

thumbs up!

Druid says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:56am

Lol, i love those type of wario ware games! Pretty funny entry!

simon.parzer says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:26am

Very entertaining. I liked the graphics - while they might not be great they have a consistent style.
I didn't manage to beat the microgame with the guy jumping off the cliff.

pi_pi3 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:23pm

This is fun. Warioware, but funnier.

omaha says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:29pm

I would pay for this. Nice work.

flwns says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:33pm

cool, weird, frustrating, nice game

Benjamin says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:45pm

I love it. You took time to make different music for each interface, which is great for a 72h compo.

Tommislav says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Great game! I'm very impressed over the amount of content you managed to squeeze in! I made it to level 42, where it started to get a bit repetative. Some games were a lot easier (feeding the eggs) than others (make me beautiful). Wonderful humour! Loved it!

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Now I can say, that I can shave THE baby.

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Reminds me of Wario Ware, and the mini-games all seemed challenging without being too confusing. Good art style as well.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:35pm

I'm not sure what I just played but I'm pretty sure it was incredible. Seriously though I'm actually impressed at the amount of stuff in the game. Nice job!

stvr says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:46pm

YES YES YES YES YES 10/10

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:15pm

lol.. a little bit surprise...

abuzreq says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:44pm

What did I just played !

dos says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:00pm

I love it!

jdselsor says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:52am

That was really funny. Overall good job.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:59am

wow bizarre. hilarious though! its actually pretty addicting. i got 22 hacks

Curial says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:55am

Lol, I like this Wario Ware style. Congrats, there are lot of mechanics for a 72h game and graphyc style, even simple is perfectly fit in all its sprites.

GarethIW says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:48am

Shaved dat baby. Always love wario ware-style minigame entries, and this one was super fun!

Jwatt says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:10am

You guys get -it-. A lot of people don't get -it-, or might even want to distance themselves from -it-, but I really appreciated the absurd humor style here. Screw the theme, the fact that this exists was worth that sacrifice.

Tijn says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:22am

Well done, it's bat shit crazy and I like it :)

Meta-link says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:06pm

I totally love this game !
Wario Ware like, very funny, with cool graphics et cool music !

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:29pm

This is hilarious ! I got to 17 interfaces on my third try ! It plays really nice and it is a lot of fun. Freakin' cool entry, I love it !

Pierrec says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Well...
this is awesome.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:11pm

my only complaint is that the theme is reaaaaaally light

sararyCow says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:25pm

That's a fun game. Very playable but pretty easy and short when you get used to it.

But a nice experiment thought :).

sararyCow says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Whoops, the previous comment was for another game, sorry. But it is more or less applicable to this too. I loved the game, it catches Wario Ware style fairly well. I laughed a lot :).

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:34pm

A good attempt at recreating that Wario Ware Inc. vibe. I think the graphics were pretty darn good. Personally the game instructions were too vague to make out. Additionally, some minigames have incredibly small win-window that it's really annoying. Especially when keyboard is involved, I think more time should be spent carefully looking through how Wario Ware Inc. series (such as Touched! and Moved!) introduces each minigame.

tranzeve says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Thanks for your constructive evaluation. Answering your "Who is Ruth Ann Manning?" question: "Dr. Ruth Ann Manning has pursued a varied career path--biotech software company founder, supercomputing consultant, US national laboratory scientist, and college mathematics professor. Her current goal is to become the “Grandma Moses” of mobile app and video game design, prototype development, and distribution."

Jasonsumm says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 11:12pm

So flippin' weird >.<! :D

jprogman says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:12am

Some of the micro-games were tough to understand what to do. The mustache part I thought was obvious is what I couldn't win.
Interesting mix of games. Some weren't too suggestive but rather strange.

Anas Azmi says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 4:05pm

It's quirky, but fun! Didn't expect a WarioWare-style game here. Though it wasn't clear when I had to use arrow keys and most of the interface focused on the cursor.

Simon says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 9:58am

This is awesome! I love to see that kind of game here :)
Bravo!

felipeberquo says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 5:31am

LOL, that guy's face is creepy!
Very good game! Nice job

boateye says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 8:23pm

I love Wario ware, so i loved this game! I don't see how it fits the theme but it's amazing nonetheless. You made the low-fi graphics work for you!

Crowbeak says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 8:17am

Wario Dare?

Lady Beardo says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 12:27am

I downloaded the Pope!

Yoon says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 8:34am

Neat ! I'm digging the music and the minigames.
It's refreshing and WTF-esque. Loved it.

dallonf says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 2:45pm

What... did I just play? O_o

MrShoestore says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 1:41am

love it. doesn't fit the theme, but love it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]