Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Star Power

by NickMakesGames - Compo Entry

In “Star Power,” You play as the leader of a party of three adventurers exploring a goblin filled dungeon

Your party consists of:

EDRIC, THE ORANGE PALADIN who fights with his sword
Edric is also impervious to hammers.

LANA, THE PURPLE ROGUE who fights with her shurikens
Lana is also impevious to arrows

ERIYAL, THE BLUE MAGE who fights with her electric magic.
Eriyal is also impervious to axes.

and YOU, THE SLIGHTLY SLEEP DEPRIVED LD CONTESTANT who fights with ratings.
How does fighting with ratings work? Like this:

At the start of your turn, you may apply ratings to your party and to the enemies they face. When you hit “CONFIRM,” the following things will happen:

-enemies will attack first. They will attack with the weapon that you gave them the highest rating on, because that is the weapon they will feel most confident with. They will deal damage equal to their rating on that weapon. Enemies also target the lowest rated members of your party, because they appear the most vulnerable.

-players will attack second. Players will also target enemies with the lowest total star rating, and deal damage equal to their player rating.

-Finally, enemies will receive bonuses to any weapons that you rated with only one star. Receiving such a low rating makes them self-conscious, and motivates them to train more and increase their skill with that weapon. The bonus gets factored into their damage and their rating with the weapon when choosing how to attack.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#182Innovation3.70
#470Theme3.44
#679Audio2.38
#704Overall3.00
#723Humor2.39
#789Fun2.78
#982Mood2.23
#1021Graphics2.14
#1497Coolness45%

Comments

cubedparadox says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:53am

Not really a fan, I feel like the concept is just a bit too confusing, even if it has potential. A clearer implementation would go a long way, maybe even a tutorial.

nurabsal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:55am

enjoyable although a bit vague?

stuffedgravy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:00am

I went a few floors in before giving it up. From what I saw, it doesn't seem like there's much room for error. Since you can between rounds totally set everything up it's pretty easy to play perfectly and it just becomes a bit tedious to do the math for it. However I like the idea of the mechanic, and I think it could go somewhere interesting. It hit the theme well, and I don't think many other people will be doing this unconventional weapon :)
As for graphics, the things that were there were good, but it could have benefited from slightly more sprites. Also, the sound effects were a bit too noisy for me.

TaoPhoenix says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Hi Nick!

Doreen Konbberts remarked on this. I posted a self reminder to me over on DoCo. I'll try to take a whack at it when I have a good chunk of awake hours again!

--TaoPhoenix

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:01am

So, you have a very cool idea here wrecked by generic fantasy flavor. If this game was concepted as, say, LD raters trying to snipe each others' games out of the running, that would be hilarious, and the mechanics would make instinctive sense. (If you give out too few stars, the mods will ban you from voting!) As it is, there's very little reason WHY you'd be rating bows and hammers.

Still, it's a cool take on the theme and I really would love to see this idea fleshed out somehow.

TaoPhoenix says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:08pm

"stuffedgravy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:00am

I went a few floors in before giving it up. From what I saw, it doesn't seem like there's much room for error. Since you can between rounds totally set everything up it's pretty easy to play perfectly and it just becomes a bit tedious to do the math for it. "

Hi StuffedGravy.

Nick has a tendency to make hard, math-strategy based games. Setting up things in between each round is precisely the point - it's not about real-time attacks. It's whether you can find optimal strategies.

See Undermined from LD29 by the same dev. (Different online handle.)

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=29805

I got interested in that one because "playing perfectly" sometimes has a surprising twist strategy! That may apply here.

I haven't yet seen any recovery of health on this game though, so eventually your guys will just get ground down, and it becomes how many floors do you last until you do.

There's also no clear indication of how to "win". So it's a little harder to talk about except "I made it X floors".

Nick, it seems you found a new game dev framework. It might be nice if you ported Undermined over to this with that modular stats file we were talking about and then it would be interesting to see what it takes to make a 5-miner win.

--TaoPhoenix

NIGIC says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:01am

Hurray, shinies.

It's an interesting, original concept. Good difficulty curve. Interface is easy to use.

Two main gripes though:
- First, it's really slow-paced, especially on the later levels. Attack animations being pretty much cosmetic, a skip option would have been great.
- Second, the random stats are a bit too... random; I got a couple levels that were pretty much impossible, while my final try on Level 5 was litterally a freebie. (Then again, that last one is to be expected of randomly generated puzzles...)

Pretty good overall. Good job!

ajopart says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:29am

Such an original use of the theme !! 5 stars on this one.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:35pm

I really, really like this puzzle game. It takes a little while to figure out, since the tutorial is a written one instead of an in-game one, but once you realize how everything works, it's fantastic. I think if you spruced up the presentation a bit and added more gameplay twists, this could be really popular among a niche of gamers like me who love a good, pure puzzle. Great work!

One UI note: It's really handy to have the target reticule on whichever of your character is going to be targeted. By the same token, it would be really handy to highlight the weapon(s) of each opponent that will be used based on the current star assignment. You can currently just find the highest number, but it would be helpful for quick readability to have the weapon icon highlighted in some other way.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Found the whole turn-based combat where you have to carefully manage your resources fascinating, albeit a little confusing and easy for me to make errors. I thought it was really cool. Also appreciate all the screen shakes and sound effects!

I feel like the graphics could have used a little work, but it wasn't too distracting. A tutorial would have been appreciated.

Highly innovative take on Turn-based RPG. Look forward to see more from you!

(Also, hooray for TVGS!)

lucidsheep says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 2:55am

Original concept! It was a little boring and solvable once I understood the mechanic, too easy to bait the enemies into striking the hero that resists their weapon. Could be really cool with some additional depth!

Jezzamon says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 4:31am

Wow! This was really clever! I played it once, and then died, but I thought I'd try it again anyway, and I managed to beat it the second time!

I think you explained something wrong though. I assumed 'rating' meant the number of stars I gave it, but I think you meant the final value you get after adding the stars with the stats they already have. In that case, the enemies attack with the weapon that does the most damage, not the one that you gave them the best rating on.

Awesome game! I think the main thing that could use improvement is the graphics. It kinda worked in the minimalistic style, but it would be cool if there were better graphics.

Huo-cuo says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 7:02am

Pretty nice and simple concept.

23 says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 8:30am

This was pretty interesting, I played to floor 5. I liked the interaction of constraints, but because the decision space on each turn was relatively large and the outcome was non-random/there was no hidden information it started to feel a bit like doing rote math. Maybe if you had a much smaller decision space (like 5 stars total to hand out) and a time limit on turns it would be a bit more engaging?

TeamFlare says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 11:57am

Very original :)

May 5, 2015 @ 3:32am

Interesting niche game. Took me a few floors to really get it. Think it needs a clearer goal with some measure of how close you are to it to keep motivating the player. And maybe some rule variants that get randomly applied to keep you on your toes. But nice job overall.

Forlorn79 says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:56pm

This game has potential, and just could use more time to polish and add more feedback to the player about what's going on. I hope you keep working on this concept, if you wish.

dreamlogician says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:53am

I really like the central idea, and I think you have a strong foundation here that you could expand in lots of interesting directions. The cumulative factor of low ratings providing motivation for enemies to improve themselves and come back stronger is especially intriguing. I could see it lending itself well to an accompanying story, with ongoing rivalries and enemies that would remember and comment on how you underrated them in the past and now they've returned to settle the score. Nice work! ^_^

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]