Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Weapon Regulator

by drludos - Compo Entry

Even the war has rules : some weapons are allowed, while others are forbidden.
They are called unconventional weapons.

You are sent to a battlefield.
Your mission is to seize any unconventional weapon that you'll see.
You are neutral, so the soldiers won't hurt you.
But beware of the stray bullets.

USE ARROW KEYS / WASD TO MOVE.
USE SPACE / CONTROL / SHIFT TO SEIZE A WEAPON FROM A SOLDIER
(you have to move over the soldier first).

THE WEAPONS CONVENTION CHANGE REGULARLY.
try to capture unconventional weapons only.

---------------

Tools used:
Flash, Photoshop, AS3SFXR and cgMusic/GXSCC

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#16Theme4.33
#60Innovation4.01
#70Fun3.84
#94Overall3.81
#380Humor3.05
#416Mood3.09
#523Graphics3.10
#530Audio2.74

Comments

Miziziziz says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:10am

Great game! I really liked the idea and it worked well

my only criticism would be that sometimes I would grab one persons weapon while they were on top of someone else so I'd ending up grabbing both of their weapons causing me to lose points. Not a big deal, just a mild annoyance.

Also, why doesn't the music loop? it's good!

ruthiepee says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:54am

Well, you've definitely got a fun game here, and addictive too! The difficulty ramps up at a good speed, enough to keep things interesting. Nice job on providing different keyboard options (you pointed out mine wasn't AZERTY-friendly, something I wasn't aware of, so thank you!). Controls are smooth and fast. Nice job! My final score: 430

skylinegames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:06pm

This game is so relaxing 10/10

Jakob37 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:10pm

I liked this a lot! Both the style and the gameplay itself. Also, the feeling of moving in an ongoing battle, it is interesting. Well done!

generic_ghost says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:13pm

I really like how the "unconventional weapon" was unconventional in the context of the game itself. I also like the hero is regulating the weapons instead of using them. Good commentary on the topic. The game was a lot of fun, good job!

Zielak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:17pm

228!

Great idea for the game. I almost thought I'm invincible because I'm neutral... until they started shooting :D

jhell says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Very very good idea, excellent realisation, tight controls, simple gameplay, nice difficulty curve.

Too bad we don't get anything to improve ourselves (an unconventional weapon magnet for example?) in pick-ups.

ccglp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:18pm

I never see a game like this, so I can call it a very good work, congratulations.

(Red team cheats more)

Komos says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Great game. Simple, fun, well polished, and fits the theme :)

Jagang says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:22pm

I favored blue, down with the red scum!
Great idea and execution of gameplay and presentation.
Good job!

Matsuki says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:29pm

An incredibly unique idea, i loved your use of sound and had a lot of fun playing the game.

Coban31 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Very good game! Original and fun, what else? :D

PaulJs says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Bonne interprétation du thème après un peu dommage la difficulté trop vite exponentielle et la durée de vie ! Mais bien joué en tout cas, c'était sympa !

DarkGrisen says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:42pm

This is the best game i've seen so far. 5 stars!
Scored 698!

Yoon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Those things are SOOO cute ! Also the idea is great. I'm definitely diggin' it.

Cryotube says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Nice original concept, great visuals and audio as well!

vortex says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Such an awesome game... great idea... Take all the weapons from red!!!

AtkinsSJ says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Really clever! Fun game, and a nice use of the theme.

AxeTheory says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Great idea, I love your take on the Theme.

Somnium says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:46pm

I like the concept, that what is conventional depends on who defines it to be so :-) The game feels fun and original as well.

stuffedgravy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:51pm

+1 for in-game instructions :)
The fact that you take the weapons of all people who are nearby is kind of annoying; I'd suggest only taking unconventional weapons if they're available, otherwise feel free to take points off haha.
Aside from that, this was an awesome game. Definitely innovative, I like the bullet dodging aspect of the game along with the weapon collecting. I feel like there should be some sort of penalty for not taking unconventional weapons, Overall it has great polish and looks/sounds/plays really good!

celisoft says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Very good game, I love it !! :-)

SelfTitled says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Idea is good, was fun and a bit chaotic.
Was difficult to ensure you were only hitting the dude you wanted too as control wasn't sensitive enough (8 directional).
I'd also perfer that disbarred weapons were in the same eyeline as the player character i.e. above his head as icons or somthing so I diddn't have to take my eye from my avatar.
Music is a plus.

Iak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:33pm

interesting use of the theme - I can only imagine a war where people run in between getting rid of unconventional weapons... XD

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:37pm

I really like this game! I just wish I could survive long enough to see if there are any guns after the SMGs haha.

drludos says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Thanks to all of you for your reply and kind words!

@ProjectX: There are two more "guns" after the SMG - a "cannon" that fire big bullets, and a plasma gun :).

EdwardGreysky says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:21am

I like the way you used the theme !

As said before, we sometimes grab few weapons at the same time wich is bad.
But good job

Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:33am

Scored 187 !
I enjoyed your interpretation of the theme. It's pretty simple but also really addictive ! I took me a while to realize that I had HP, maybe because of the word "neutral", but it's a cool little game overall. Good work, drludos ;)

ftvs says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:19pm

The scope and design were a good fit for a 48 hour game.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Very nice game! The weapon regulator idea is cool and the game played really well! Congratulations!

6DownStudios says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:05am

Great take on the theme, taking the player out of the role of warrior and into the role of warfare oversight. And quite fun to boot; good pacing with the weapons upgrades and soldier variation keeps manuevering/disarming interesting.

VDZ says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Overall a great game, but some minor flaws harm its replayability.

The gameplay of running into a battle is fun, and seeing what weapons come next (and which set of restrictions comes next) is an interesting motivator. It's all very well executed, too.

However, the scoring system and lack of early-game difficulty discouraged me from playing more than four games. Due to the way scoring scales, doing anything early-game is a waste of time and effort; the points you get are negligible compared to later on, and there's no danger to make it even slightly interesting. This means you're pretty much stuck waiting for the guns to arrive, at which point scoring starts to become useful (though still not all that relevant compared to later on) and you actually have to do something to not die. Still, at that point your primary goal is to survive so you can rack up the real points later on. Having to play the futile early-game every time discourages me from playing to improve my score (as less than 50% of my playtime is actually spent improving my score).

The game mechanics also discourage taking risks; there is no penalty for not doing your job, and simply surviving is enough to increase the amount of points gained per seized weapon. I'd have loved to see some kind of reward for jumping into the battle, like a combo system (increasing points for successive weapons seized if you don't take too long between weapons). Other rewards (recovering health? Score multiplier?) could also make early-game weapon seizing more useful.

Still, I enjoyed the couple games I played. The graphics look nice and, more importantly, are very clear (everything was recognizable without a problem), and the audio wasn't very interesting but fulfilled its purpose (though having a BGM beyond the first seconds would've added a lot). Though the interpretation of the theme was one of the more obvious choices, it was executed well.

High score: 841 (226 seconds)

P.S.: Is there any other set of restrictions beyond 'ban plasma rifles, allow bazookas'?

Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:37am

Clever use of the theme. Liked the way you kept the player wanting to keep going to see what was the next weapon to appear.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:05am

Love it

HeskHwis says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Great ! Fallout was wrong : war does change :)

wilbefast says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Interesting "mechanics as metaphor" as new weapons are banned and "old faithful" ones are allowed - I feel also that a player character without a weapon when the theme is weapon-based deserves extra points :) I got 286 on my first try (QFT https://twitter.com/wilbefast/status/593165866163908608).

Apr 29, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Pretty good however the chaos brought me a lot of confusion. And when the weapon convention changes, it's super easy to lose points instantaneously. I liked the idea of the 'contraband' interpretation of Unconventional Weapon. Good job, I hope to see more of these games in the future.

Javabot says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 10:06pm

LOVE THIS GAME. Gonna play it so much, its addicting.

May 1, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Great idea. Awesome use of theme. Interesting and funny mechanic.

Eggplant says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Really fun, addicting game you got! I thought it fit the theme well. I love it!

danielilett says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 1:57am

This is a really nice game! I liked the approach to the theme, and the simple gameplay was easy to follow, yet addictive. The art was pretty decent, and went well with the simplicity of the game as a whole. I think the player and 'soldiers' are very cute! The sound effects also work really well with the game's general aesthetics. My only complaints are that sometimes while picking up a correct weapon, you also pick up an incorrect one, because the enemies are on top of each other. Also, sometimes it's a little difficult to move AND pick up weapons at the same time - perhaps mapping the mouse button to 'pickup' will help with that? Oh, and you should make the music loop too! Really good job, I liked it :)

hexdie says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 2:23am

I liked this! Great take on the theme and an enjoyable mechanic with some nice difficulty curve. The only part of the gameplay I have any criticism for is that sometimes a conventional and unconventional weapon wielder will overlap each other and it can be hard to grab the right weapon, but that was only a minor complaint. Also, it would have been nice if the music looped. Overall, very nice work!

crazya02 says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 2:41am

206 points over 128 seconds!
Anyways, I *LOVED* the gameplay in this one. The mood of an ongoing battle was also extremely effective.

Trasevol_Dog says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 12:33pm

Really fun game ! Good concept and efficient graphics !

Photon says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Giving hammers the banhammer? Hand-slapping for bringing knives to gunfights? Giving the loathed rocket launcher the boot? TOTALLY SOLD.

This was fantastic. The progression of weapon categorization was done really well and this was a hilarious take on the theme.

seankimdesign says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 7:29am

Damn fine game. I really like the unique approach you took in designing the game mechanics. Really creative. I also enjoyed the decision to keep the player out of the danger zone in the beginning of the game and easing the players in. Really fantastic stuff!

Arche-san says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Great idea! You interpreted the theme differently than most others games. Good job!

RyanNielson says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Very silly, you should make a screen saver our of this.

igoramendola says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 4:57pm

The concept of gameplay is pretty cool and very innovative. Also, it has nice graphics and sounds. Good entry! :D

* My best so far is 666 >:D

Omiya Games says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 2:50am

It is a very interesting concept and take on the Ludum Dare theme by having different layers of context in the game. Everything else just seems fairly OK. I can see many improvements to be made.

goerp says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Ooh, nice! great idea and nice development of difficulty.
Our game mechanics are somewhat similar with the changing of right and wrong, but I'm sad to say that I think you implementation is better!

The only trouble is: when multiple people are at the same spot you can't tell the good and bad people apart.

May 11, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Oh wow best use of the theme I think I've seen. Really good stuff. The game is simple and fun too!

suppi says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 10:05pm

very nice use of the theme. i really liked the special effects. solid entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]