Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Udom Nebdon

by pLaw - Jam Entry

A very short horror-themed "Alone in the Dark"-alike.

You are the carrier of a magic mirror making your way through a dark temple to reach its inner sanctum.

controls: keyboard

use arrow keys or WASD to move (turn left/right, walk forward/backward) and left Ctrl to raise the mirror.

This game uses the Pravas font by @Jupiter_Hadley

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#4Mood(Jam)4.53
#21Graphics(Jam)4.61
#53Overall(Jam)3.96
#75Audio(Jam)3.86
#318Theme(Jam)3.65
#420Innovation(Jam)3.23
#438Fun(Jam)3.17
#882Humor(Jam)2.00

Comments

ianburnette says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Wow, that is spooky! Also, amazing graphics and a true recreation of the feel of Alone in the Dark. Nicely done.

TobiasNL says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:35pm

This was a really great experience. The athmosphere was top notch, and the camera work was like the old days when I had a psx :P (silent hill stuff) Anyway, great horror vibe and I liked your game in any way.

zacaj says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:41pm

love fixed camera games, great filter effect. controls in the description don't match. I couldn't figure out how to kill the first enemy I encountered :(

Azlen says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Amazing! I really like how the perspective changes.

devince says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Great atmosphere. There is a little bug: if you die in light you keep it.

NSoul says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:51pm

First thing i did, walk up'W' + mirror'ctrl'... browser closed instantly :D using arrow key i guess would be better^^
Very nice mood, i really like it. Dark and mysteriously

2kah says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Very nice graphics and it creates a good atmosphere. It makes me feel like I want to know more about who he is and what he's doing there.

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Pretty good! Stylish, moody and atmospheric, although the pacing a bit too slow for my liking. Also colliding with walls changed the orientation of my character, I don't remember if it was like that in Alone in the Dark, but it made the character feel unresponsive when close to a wall.

nassi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Unplayable on my main browser (Pale Moon v. 25.3.0 x64) as it either freezes the whole browser or has a really low fps. Seems to work on Chrome (v. 42.0.2311.90 m) though. I'm not sure if the blue grid-like texture on the mirror was intentional though.

During my second try I also found that I could shine light with the mirror even if it was dark, until I closed the eye further from the beginning. I decided to close that eye first, because the camera angle got me and I got stuck to a wall and killed on my first try. Took me a while to find the exit after managing to close the eye too.

The atmosphere is absolutely fantastic. Been a while since I've played a game with fixed cameras and tank controls, so it's quite nostalgic too. Good job!

MightyToast says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:58pm

Haunting! Man the atmosphere is incredible. I love the old school pre-rendered scene look. Reminiscent of Myst. The audio work is also quite eerie and adds to the atmosphere. A masterpiece my friend, great job.

Yozz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:06am

That's one of the best i've seen today. Really cool!

divegato says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:22am

Great work, this was really cool! The atmosphere is really mysterious.

ChronusZ says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:27am

Very well designed, from the color palette to the camera angles. My only problem was that the controls felt incredibly awkward.

uvwar says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:18am

Cant remember the last game I played with tank controls...
Very Resident Evil vibe with this, love the atmosphere and the cool graphic effects!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:19am

The different visuals are very nice, superb mood, good game.

Lissar says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:22am

Create atmosphere and visual style! I love it! The controls were just impossible for me though. I really wanted to see more of it.

akios says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:37pm

awesome environment, couldn't pass the enemy, respawn point is a bit far, but it looks very nice and spooky, good work

handkor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:39pm

I love the graphic filter you applied, very retro, good job

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:39pm

A little bit tricky with the controls! But i liked it! well done! :D

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:40pm

So creepy, nailed it!

nuprahtor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:42pm

Oh my, the feels! These camera angles, it's like I'm playing good old survival horror game.
Everything in this game is top-notch, except the clunky controls.

yak32 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:49pm

cool graphics and atmosphere and overall style.

SiENcE says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Great style and athmosphere! The fixed camera is a great overall!
I only don't like the Alone in the Dark control scheme, but it's no complain for your game.

I would like to see more entries like this!

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Limited palette reminds me of old amiga games :)

yuigoto says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:45pm

You totally got that AITD feeling. Nice FX on the graphics, too! Together with the audio it sets up a REALLY NICE mood, spooky! I specially love those big halls with a far distance camera.

I'd say "I miss a run button", but the absence of it also helps set up the mood, like "I want to run, but I can't for some reason".

This must be made into a full game. :3

gogo199432 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Very nice game, even if I don't particularly like the fixed camera angles :)

jmborden says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:46pm

I like shaders that you used to give this a retro CGA/EGA look. Really well done game. It took a bit getting used to control the character, but I got used to it really quick. I really wish this game had a run button.

joppiesaus says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:46pm

I love the mood constructed by the lovely graphics and audio. I am amazed by that. How do you even accomplish this in such a little time? Anyway, I got stuck at the light spot thinggy. I died there two times, and walking the whole way again isn't quite fun, but hey, respawning isn't realistic either. It felt confusing. The theme was in there as well, but not that clear to me.
But it was really boring if you leave the mood away. I felt like I had no goal, which is quite frustrating. Of course this is because I got stuck, too.
Anyways, great experience, but lacks a "game" - at least for me, because I got stuck.
Super awesome work!

pLaw says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 11:25pm

I agree, there isn't much 'game' in this piece. I had a lot of ideas for puzzles and machanics, but I got short on time and had to cut everything out... the mood is what left behind. Sad story.

mr_tag says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 3:08pm

nice one! i got really freaked out by the monsters, even though they were moving so slowly :)
VERY athmospheric, good job!

May 6, 2015 @ 1:12am

Cool, reminds me of the first games I've played, well done!

kristof says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 6:07am

Very atmospheric! I like the shader effect. Also the audio is top! I couldn't really get used to neither of the control schemes though. They both felt low and unresponsive. I also could not figure out how to fight the monsters :(
But still, great game!

May 6, 2015 @ 6:36am

Looks amazing and plays great

siryakko says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 10:14am

Nice graphic, and concept, the controls are a bit tricky and the first enemy encountered kill me without knowing what to do. But still, interesting experience

Split82 says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Excellent mood and graphics!

Embalaje says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Really interesiting and beautiful graphics! Great mood, love this kind of cameras.

Terry says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Gosh, this is gorgeous!

Clavus says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 4:24pm

A bit too slow-paced for my taste, but great job nonetheless. Lovely art direction.

mildmojo says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 4:57pm

This is fantastic. The fixed camera perspectives were gorgeous, really dressed up an otherwise boring corridor with an interesting camera angle. The whole visual style was beautiful and consistent. So, so nice.

After the first enemy near the first pool of light I was exploring and thinking to myself, "oh, you could totally throw a monster in one of these corridors and make the player lead it back for a kill," and then that totally happened. =D I never played "Alone in the Dark", but that moment felt a lot like the early pursuit in "Out of This World" (aka "Another World").

I picked tank controls because I'm not sure how direct controls would let you move backward. I tried replaying with direct controls, but the game didn't recognize any inputs (HTML5 build embedded in the submission page). Might have to reload it.

It really feels like this would lend itself to a larger game, if you were so inclined.

pi_pi3 says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 6:04pm

http://i.imgur.com/7e2KTuT.png

SimianLogic says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 6:12pm

fixed camera is giving me flashbacks to resident evil. love the modeling, appreciate what you were going for with the shader -- on a lot of the scene transitions i lost my character because he was mostly the same color as everything else. super slick entry!

MrShoestore says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 7:44pm

looks cool, and very fitting of the AitD homage, but the controls are a little too much like that era. Some less clunky controls and a run key would bring me back to this. When I died the second time is when I stopped, because I didn't want to do all that awkward walking again.

BIZM says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 8:58pm

You achieved an amazing mood! *shivers*

Druid says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 9:44pm

That retro wibe is really strong! Pretty dramatic camera alngles like from Alone in the dark games and enviroment like form heretic games... Really good entry!

crazyrems says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Nice interpretation of the theme. Everything else is well done, that was so amazing.

alvivar says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Beautiful, the camera, the graphics, highly enjoyable.

OadT says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 9:20am

Awesome work! Little tip: don't use ctrl as key, the whole time I am accidental bookmarking the page :P

Mach60KAS says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Very atmospheric and old-school adventure. I loved the use of shaders to emulate low colour depth! It's not often that you see games like this entered into Ludum Dare - and I think it's a genre that sadly gets passed over too often. While the audio added quite a lot to the ambience of the game, the low drone can get a little fatiguing after a while (say, if you die to one of the later monsters and have to play from the beginning).

Fantastic work, can't wait to see what you make next! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]