Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

A Good Gardener

by C.Lodwick - Jam Entry

"A Good Gardener" is a wartime garden simulator. You are a prisoner spending your days in relative solitude growing strange plants that are used in the war effort. You're only human contact is with your "supervisor", who makes trips out from the nearby factory.

NOTE: A BUG IN THIS BUILD MAKES A SCENE REPEAT INFINITELY ABOUT HALFWAY THROUGH. SORRY! HOPEFULLY BY THEN YOU'LL HAVE GOTTEN THE GIST.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#52Mood(Jam)4.00
#56Graphics(Jam)4.42
#168Audio(Jam)3.55
#423Overall(Jam)3.33
#432Innovation(Jam)3.21
#788Fun(Jam)2.65
#803Theme(Jam)2.91
#1667Coolness40%

Comments

jk5000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:48am

The mouse cursor should probably have been locked. Otherwise a great game.

Mouch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:48am

The supervisor will haunt me in my dreams!
I don't know if the supervisor comes again or is something else happens, because the game crashed.

rogberth says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:57am

I think the player should move much faster, it makes the game to slow this way. Great graphic design btw

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:47pm

Very moody and sedate piece. Really love the art style.

RoryD says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:49pm

Very zen! I liked it for how different it is. Get rid of the mouse cursor and add a small reticule dot so that throwing the seeds and watering them isn't so hit and miss.

The spooky question I keep asking myself is, who comes into my room at night and takes the watering can and puts it back onto the table?

hadesfury says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Great mood and graphics, I got to the end I guess, with the cadet. Nice experience!

F. Wiktora says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Great design, nice idea, but I didn't figure out the goal of the game.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Woah. To anyone else who hasn't played it yet, it's definitely worth playing through, but it takes a good 20-30 mins. I played through to the end (I'm assuming? The last 'scene' seemed to loop), and this is my favorite entry so far!! At first I thought this was a "tweak my Grow theme idea" kind of thing, but I was wrong! Beautiful graphics and sound; the music reminded me of Animal Crossing, in a nice and relaxing way, and the graphics are really appealing. I especially liked the details, like how the foreman guy looks back at you when you get close. As far as criticism I agree with the others about the movement being a little slow (remedied by being able to hold shift to move faster?), and the mouse cursor is distracting when you're not in the seed box (you can just toggle Cursor.visible on entry/exit). But overall and in several categories, I'm giving you 5 stars, which I don't do often. Loved it!

Ogniok says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:18pm

For sure it's one of the most calming games in the jam

Detocroix says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Supervisor has some crazy eyes when you approach him from "behind".Very pretty game! :)

Rialgar says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:35pm

I made a Let's Play of your game (45min! It took ages to upload): http://youtu.be/_RM816nxeNI

This game is gorgeous in visuals and music. The vibe is soothing and relaxing, just like gardening should be. Yet the underlying story makes me feel just barely uneasy and a tad guilty. I wonder what this war is about. Why do they have concrete buildings but use swords, maces, spears and lances? Why am I in this Prison? Am I a political prisoner? Was I a rebel? What will happen to that senior cadet? Who are the parties in this war? This small room builds up an enormous story with the simple planting and growing mechanic and minimalistic dia... well actually monologue. I. Love. It.

May 4, 2015 @ 10:34am

Very solid entry. I liked the art style and the calm experience. The movement and camera feels a bit off, but anyway, it's a great and moody experience! Especially how everything builds up (in a figurative sense ;D).

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]