Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Hug Arena

by Benjamin - Compo Entry

Instructions
- Hug those monsters until they become your friend.
- You're vulnerable when you hug stuff
- Friends will heal you if you are close enough
- A level full of friends is a completed level
- Earn 1 of 3 perks at the end of levels 1-3-6-10-15

Control
arrow to move
hold [z] near a monster to hug him

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#8Fun4.20
#10Overall4.20
#21Theme4.31
#54Mood3.83
#70Innovation3.97
#86Graphics4.06
#109Audio3.63
#128Humor3.66

Comments

mattfox12 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:24am

I like the risk/reward of the gameplay. Also, the title screen is amazing! Love it.

mtanton says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:21am

I love the whole look/style of the game. Very fun to play as well. Good job!

ehtd says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:01am

I was going to make something like this, nice idea!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:19am

This is a great entry, really enjoyed everything about it. As has been mentioned the title screen looks great and the hug mechanic is implemented really well. Liked the powers also, nice job.

Simon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:16pm

Really nice, it's cool to use love as a weapon :)

drludos says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Excellent game (as usual). I like the heavy retro feel (it feels like a GameGear game), and the overall gameplay - it's fun to play, easy to understand but hard to master (some bullet firing enemies are tough), and the "love" idea is great. The sounds is excellent too!

Chapeau :)!

Pierrec says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:56pm

My new favorite.
It's just great. I've got nothing more to say (or have I?)

JohnGalt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Extremely concrete and interesting!

celisoft says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Original idea ! The game would have been better with some sounds.

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:34pm

love this one, good color palette, great audio!!

Cryotube says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:41am

Amazing game, great graphics, audio and the gameplay mechanics themselves are interesting as well! Great job

nicotuason says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:25am

COME HERE AND LET ME HUG YOU

Fantastic little arcade game! Love the variety of enemies. The game feels very balanced and has good progression. Could play this for a while!

bpleonvong says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:37am

The game play pretty challenging, but the fun kind of challenging. The style was pretty cool. Really great work.

Sublustris says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:45am

5/5 for all! Great game.
I've spent couple of restarts to understand what to do, but when i got it, i fallen in love :)

PIXEL^3 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:27am

There was something about the game that kinda felt off to me, probably just a fine tuning thing like making the player move a little bit faster or something. It still looked and sounded really good and the risk/reward gameplay was interesting.

shimage says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:31am

I like this game so much. I remembered a tackle of martial arts. I think it is high quality overall.

Benjamin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:03am

@celisoft : There should be sounds playing. Plz tell me which os/browser you are using

RadStar says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:26am

Beeing rejected is so hard :'(

Really cool gameplay. Love it!

deepnight says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:47am

Another excellent entry, especially when you know it's a 32kb game :D
The gameplay is really smooth and efficient. My only grief is about the regen system which was not that interesting imo.

ncannasse says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Good but quite unforgiving, you have to die quite a lot before you get the different mobs timing right. Also don't know why exactly but I don't feel like I'm playing a hugging bear :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Awesome fun and replay value.
I wish the hugged bears could also hug the enemies.

GFM says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Was able to get to level 14... It gets really hard (or I'm getting the wrong upgrades... XD)

Amazing entry!

rubna says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:45pm

fun!!

MasterOfNaN says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Fun to play and good use of hugs as an unconventional weapon. Like the added rewards for completing certain levels. Good game.

dunin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:27pm

they don't want love me! so sad....

kaa says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Nice and risky!

PIXEL^3 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:51pm

I made a Twitch highlight of my playthrough. http://www.twitch.tv/alucardx60/c/6578682

Rubel says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:08am

Very very great game! A lot of cute :3
Love this very much!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Really well polished entry, I really liked the use of colour and design. The game mechanics are really simple yet clever and kept me coming back for more.

EwChap says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:02am

Love it. The polish of the attacks and effects make this feel really complete. Audio fits in perfectly too. great take on the theme.

jhell says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:41am

Really really cool, great progression, the customization choice at the end is also awesome. The only thing that I found a bit confusing was where I was going to exit an enemy I'm hugging (if hugging is not complete). It brought me many stupid deaths ^^.

BroCade says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:13am

Great entry! Love the style and theme, love that 8bit care bear feels. Nice variety on enemies to and an overall great polish.

oparisy says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:53pm

The LD32 game I've spent the most time playing so far!

Love the perks which help in developing a strategy, the cancel mechanic to move enemies, the visual SFX, the end of level animation!

The "power of love" take on the theme is great too.

TEAM-TIGER says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:24am

love it. teleporting into things to hug it. amazing idea. the love meter that has to recharge otherwise they break out of the hug, fantastic. and the rpg style upgrades at the end of each level just made me want to keep playing.

Frenchie says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:02am

This entry is incredible! I usually give feedback but I have no complaints here :)

Frenchie says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:30am

Je viens de voir ton nom - j'ai joue a Snowball Juggling et A Precious Arrow avant. Les deux sont aussi super! J'espaire que tu continurai a faire des bons jeux pour Ludum Dare. (excuse mon affreu Francais - je n'ai jamais appris a ecrire XD)

goblin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:12pm

hahahaha is so funny!! great job guy! http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

look my game!

remiv says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Really fun game

runvs says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Really nice entry. I love the retro style as well as for graphics as for audio. Truly awesome!
A big plus is the love and hug mechanic, which also works great!

Wevel says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Quite difficult but a nice game with some interesting mechanics

ianh says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:56am

I like how you can use the converted mobs as shields. I was killed by a robot who didn't understand my love :(

Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:27am

Wow that's actually a very good game! Very fun to play and well designed! I've made it to the level 10 for now. I'll try again, that's the kind of game you want to play again.
PS: you tried my game and yes everything disappear you have to click to see the world (once every 5 secs but i didn't have time for the feedback on that).

thaaks says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Great little game! I love your minimal pixel art style. The hug idea is also wonderful and well done with the "hug circle" and the hearts. Also nice powerup ideas. The minimal sound effects fit the game well and the title screen is beautiful too.

Impressive entry and great effort for 48 hours!

Dreauw says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:09pm

Wow, that's an awesome idea :D
Had a lot of fun playing this game, but I didn't go higher than level 10 (and believe me, I tried hard :p)

My only complain is that I would have liked multiple keys to move/hug, I'm not really good at moving with my right hand (more used to the WASD/ZQSD keys).

FungalCactus says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:01pm

I love the concept. I think this could make an awesome full game. Great mechanics, but they feel a bit unbalanced. Speed seems pretty essential and sometimes you can't get the upgrade before you need it. The enemy movement could also use some work. Still trying to beat level 10.

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Wow, that little shell program is awesome! Also, this game looks amazing! I found the timing and regen stuff a little fiddly, but not so much that it stopped being fun. Good job :)

diegomachado says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Always looking forward to your next game. This is amazing, using Pico-8 is all about bonus points for Innovation. Good job!

wilbefast says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Oh wow, I love this game so much ^_^ It's just perfect :) looking over your shoulder I thought it'd be a pretty classic arena shooter, but there's a lot of strategy and timing to it. Really nice!

DarkwindMedia says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Cool idea, nice graphics, fun gameplay!

jmborden says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 4:22pm

I like that I can just run this in the browser. I also like how easy it is to just restart the game.

Arche-san says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Excellent! The game is a bit hard but the gameplay is perfect. I love the way you need to stay close to the converted enemies to refill your love gauge. Good work!

oinariman says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 2:15am

Amazing graphics! And I love the peaceful gameplay.

RHY3756547 says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Incredibly polished, everything flows really well and the gameplay is well thought out. Sound design is really great as well!

Exeneva says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 6:27am

Overall, a wonderful entry. The hug mechanic is interesting, although it took me a few tries to really understand what was going on.

By the way, you can play Weathermage now :)

OddballDave says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 2:13pm

This is very fun and a surprising amount of skill/strategy is needed. I didn't get any sound at all on my Mac, is there sound? A great entry. Good stuff.

May 7, 2015 @ 5:29pm

"You're vulnerable when you hug stuff"

Aint it the truth... -c-

geekdrums says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 7:04am

Fantastic job! I love the mechanics and how all sound effects create this game into lovely music!

Plustech says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Awesome entry, loved the gameplay, easy to understand, great sfx, pretty particles, great art overall. Kudos!

ViKing Games says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:33pm

Tricky and interesting game! The graphics were spectacular.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]