Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Natural Weapon

by Manou - Compo Entry

Originally wanted to make a tower defense game, but couldn't find a way to use Construct pathfinding for side view game :/

So it's still not a game; couldnt work the first day cause of gf :P
Hope you enjoy, I wish I had more time to polish it.
Linux port coming tomorrow, going to sleep!

EDIT : linux port added; changed host for web version; updated dropbox links so you don't have to log.
(couldn't get web version work with dropbox so I used my personnal website, now dropbox is the host.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#19Graphics4.45
#67Mood3.78
#95Audio3.67
#703Innovation2.88
#816Theme3.00
#902Humor1.93
#956Overall2.68
#1085Fun2.06
#1497Coolness45%

Comments

TheBigShot says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:51am

Great visual. Beautifully crafted. Sadly as you said, it is not finished. Would be interesting to see what you wil do with it in the future.

Malsanity says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:51am

Shame it was that short, very nice brushed art!

Lancelot Gao says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:52pm

cool I love it so much!

ker0chan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:58pm

I love the art style and I love the music ! Liquids and physics are a great opportunity for interesting gameplay concepts, don't let this project die after Ludum Dare !

Manou says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:32pm

merci! je teste ton flipper ce soir !

zatyka says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Not much to it unfortunately. Lovely atmosphere though.

Rulrite says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:41pm

I would love to see where this goes! Well done on creating such a great atmosphere; you've definitely got the basis of something really cool.

colludium says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Unfinished but it looked beautiful.

thristhart says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Gosh it's pretty! Please expand on it outside of LD!

paulfysh says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:19pm

The art is absolutely beautiful. I also like the idea of putting out embers.

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:40am

Nice art and concept!

Bitterdeath says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:41am

Amazing. This is the kind of gem I hope to see in LD.

Hammer Games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:43am

Beautiful! I just want to play more of this game. Maybe with a betther gameplay to fell more the experience. Congratulations.

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:50am

Whooh!! Very smooth and stylish game.

JALgames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:50am

Great Visuals, but not really fun. After a bit more work on it, it can get a real great game!

Vulture Tamer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:59am

this is awesome! :-)

love the music aswell!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:03am

Very good start! I am excited to see further development in this. There are so many possibilities with this game

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:17am

Amazing graphics. the liquid has potential for interesting gameplay

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:26am

Nice art and mood music. Clever use of particles. Worth developing more imo. Nice effort.

cdrch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:30am

The start of a potentially fantastic game. This is the sort of thing I wish that I had thought of first. The aesthetics are incredible for a game jam game - actually, beyond that, they are great, period. The way the aesthetics and the mechanics played together with what could be a massive library of puzzles (I can see dozens of them, maybe even hundreds, just from the little preview you showed) make a game that I could play for hours.

Short it may be, but it evoked a much stronger emotional response than many other games I saw. I only wish there was more!

zuraguerra says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:35am

Wow, it looks beautiful!

ajopart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:43am

Graphical masterpiece. Needs gameplay now. Keep us posted as soon as you have something new ;-)

CptDustmite says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:57am

Looks lovely. Wish it were more complete!

Kaijuu says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:00am

It could be cool game

PanKamil says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:01am

Looks absolutely glorious. And it's actually playable, so I really enjoyed it.

guoboism says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:15am

Nice graphics and feeling! Too bad not completed!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:24am

Simple and beautiful :)

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:51am

I really like this. Excellent mood and visuals. Well done

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:55am

Man, the mood you created here was pretty stunning - great job. I really like the slow downward scroll with parallax, haven't seen that presentation style much in games. Very neat.

Embalaje says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:18am

Really beautiful!
The graphics are like a painting.
I´m impressed, keep working on this, you know that you can get a great game.

indigo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:05am

Gorgeous, too bad there is no gameplay.

Larzan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:30am

Beautiful gfx + music!

Zcience says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Really nice art work! I think if the gameplay works out, this could be a really good game!

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Nice graphics and overall atmosphere.

lunkhound says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:21am

Impressive for only one day!

goadrich says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:42am

Great parallax and use of focus on your scene! Hope you get a chance to work on this sometime later, you have a cool kernel of an idea.

Prowler says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:02am

Beautiful grahics! What did you use? Wacom, ArtRage? Great style! The music is moody and the game is way to short :)

Keep up that good work. I'd love to see a small adventure made by you!

Greetings!

Pat

Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:31pm

It would be nice with some sound for when the water hits the fire people.

jhell says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Definitely beautiful, would love to see some gameplay in there :)

Manou says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Thanks for the comments so far.
@Prowler : Artrage for the drawing and Clip paint studio (manga studio) for the paint job.

Headmade says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Too bad it was so short, it looked very promising. Really nice painterly art style and soothing music.

Drauthius says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Great graphics! Very Artistic :)

agmcleod says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:12pm

Yeah an excellent start, hope you continue working on it :)

ciaodavinci says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:18am

Great job giving a sense of visual depth with the blurry elements in the foreground and the sharp background ones. The stylized visuals and music contribute to an intriguing atmosphere. Looking forward to seeing what you end up doing with it.

Kate Kligman says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Beautiful visuals and good music. Hope you're able to continue with the game.

DKoding says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Not a game... yet...

jacobturn says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:11pm

very good

Erkberg says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:40pm

Beautiful graphics, nice mood, fitting music and a good use of the theme. This could've been something really special if finished. Still, it's pretty impressive.

MrShoestore says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 2:25pm

I think you have a nice style, and you manage to set a mood still with that short demo.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]