Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Serial Mother

by Agram - Jam Entry

In this game, the ennemy is your lovely baby, and the unconventionnal weapon is his cry. Try to calm down him, so he won t use his deadly cry.

Controls :
arrow to move (or zqsd, or wasd)
control or space to active things

I would post this game on compo because i work alone but sickness put me in bed during sunday.
So i worked a little monday evening and post a one-day-worked game in Jam.
But it is better than no game at all.

Enjoy this game that show the daily fight versus the most horrible ennemy that use his powerfull weapon against us !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#207Humor(Jam)3.48
#485Mood(Jam)3.12
#570Audio(Jam)2.56
#573Innovation(Jam)3.00
#636Theme(Jam)3.19
#719Graphics(Jam)2.88
#868Overall(Jam)2.78
#891Fun(Jam)2.48
#1347Coolness48%

Comments

Frozen Stick says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:24am

Not bad but It's not an Unconventional weapon!Maybe if you look it on the bright side it is!

Filoox says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:29am

I win this first level!
The baby are really stressful.
I like this pressure in the game.

chipcaramel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:30am

Not entirely sure, but I think I put the baby in the wardrobe... like all good mothers should do.

Demy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:43am

Mother's love as an unconventional weapon... Nice idea, I like it. (about mechanics: it's slightly distubing that she moves much slover up and down)

Agram says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:06pm

The unconventionnal weapon is more the baby's cry than the mother love ... But yes, mother need this to survive :)

kyyrma says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Oh my, is that Barbamama? Pretty cool take on the theme! I wasn't able to give the baby hot milk, was there some step I didn't know? I took a clean bottle, filled it with milk and microwaved it.

Fenaer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:02pm

For some reason the speed of the player when moving down is super slow, meaning the game gets frustrating. Doesn't fit the Jam theme.

oparisy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Nice rendering of the stress a baby can put on you :-)

I think I've won by putting the bay in the wardrobe? Is this possible?

Leandrus says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Cool game jejejeje. I lose so fast. thanks for sharing!

Benjamin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:27pm

funny entry. My best score ( without using the baby-in-the-wardrobe cheatcode ) is 1 cloth left. I think some feedback when you active the baby but have wrong conditions would help to understand what happens.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:48pm

I can't help to think you need to do a level where mum tries to visit the bathroom in peace.

pixzleone says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:47am

Cool idea, could have used some more content, but cool other than that!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]