Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Stick Quest

by louis.denizet - Jam Entry

Stick Quest

Controls :
Arrows on keyboard
Left click and Right click with mouse to do stuff ;)

Team :
Mélissandre Samson - Graphist
Benjamin Baldassin - Music and sounds
Louis Denizet - Program and design

We really hope you like it, see you =)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#37Overall(Jam)4.00
#61Audio(Jam)3.93
#67Mood(Jam)3.93
#93Fun(Jam)3.76
#98Graphics(Jam)4.22
#201Innovation(Jam)3.61
#230Theme(Jam)3.76
#447Humor(Jam)3.01

Comments

terryg says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:29am

Wow!! This was a great game! I played all the way through. Took me a few minutes to find that I had to work the elevators to get through. Nice placement of save points. Nice music. I love the mur-murs sounds. Overall the best game I've played tonight. You did a fantastic job!!! What did you write this in? I couldn't find the source.

leondryaso says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:56pm

Really great game! It looks awesome and the music is very nice. I have got one problem with the text - it's blurred and pretty non-readable:

http://puu.sh/hlOre/876491ab0a.jpg

Nkoo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Awesome game ! super nice graphics, music fitting really well. The level design is really well done, no difficulty spike, except maybe the last normal opponent, the timing is a bit hard to crush him. That's one of the great entries it seems !

louis.denizet says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:55pm

@terryig : Thanks a lot! We used the software Clickteam Fusion 2.5 to make it, few use it, dunno if the source file is really useful :/

@leondryaso : Damn I've no idea how to fix this :/ The font is Courrier that is a Windows Font I think, should not be a problem :s

@Nkoo : Thanks a lot! :p

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:37pm

WOW, this game is awesome!! Excellent graphics and gameplay!

CowShark says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:41pm

First LD game I've played with credits.

Nice music and aesthetic.

Squidtank says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:11am

This is an amazing game! I made it to the very end and beat the boss. It took me a few tries but it was worth it! I love the puzzles - they were challenging yet simple. The music fits perfectly and the graphics are adorable.

One of the better LD games I've played ever.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:23am

Great game! Great art style! Polished and interesting!

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:28am

Great graphics!

asobi tech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:30am

Beautiful artwork and sound.
Lots of fun to play.
Well done.

strong99 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:39am

It's such a cool game! And like my sister says, it's adorable and cute! Well done :D

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:42am

I liked the gameplay, music, story, and graphics... A few tweaks and it would be a game I would buy. Arrow keys and the mouse feels unnatural, try WASD. The acceleration feels too slow which creates not necessarily a bad mood, but it's my personal preference. Also, make the screen bigger, my monitor is huge. Overall, very well done.

Zayron says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Nice job! Cool game mechanic and I like the art style and audio. The cute talking sound was cool haha. :)

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Cool entry, great graphics and the sound design was really good also. Nice

reiknight says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:12pm

The shadows and the graphics in general are beautiful and de music is perfect. Great game in general. Nice work guys!!.

BabaJaga says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Best one so far, lot of work went into this. I like how it gets progresively harder and harder, while smartly explaining environment around. I would love to see postmortem of this game

careless says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Great game and a nice mechanic. The sounds are really cute and love the main character. well thought out and a great level design.

Satisfying to see the black blobs break into lots of pieces oh and the shadows really added to the atmosphere.

Lots of stars!

Mak says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:57pm

I wasn't able to play :(. When I come to speak with the leaf and he is going to give me the stick, it goes floating making two arcs, and avoids me, merging into the ground and dissapearing.

louis.denizet says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:16pm

@Pikmin4000 : You can size up the screen with the little window in right corner ;) And I agree with arrows but as we use azerty and most of people use qwerty we wanted everyone to have the same keys :p

@Mak : Damn Never thought such a thing could happen :o Reallyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy strange!!

Thanks for feedbacks =)

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Cute graphics, simple but fun game mechanics, some music and sounds, I'd say it's a pretty complete jam entry! Anyway I liked th experience =).

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Amazing!! Beautiful!, for me the mouse button need to be switched :-)

tito2b says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:10am

Très bon jeu! Simple dans l'idée mais très sympa a jouer et avec visuel et son d'une rare qualité pour le peu de temps donné. Je vous rends votre hello de indiemag! Félicitations a votre équipe!

Split82 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:48am

Very very nice. Love the dynamic shadows.

renatopp says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:49am

This is a great game, the controls are very smooth and the characters are so fluffy. The music is the only bad side for me. Anyway, congratulations for you game.

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:05pm

A really cute game that feels good to play! love the art style and the music. well done, it's a great game!

-Neith

Borkleby says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:07pm

Wow, graphics and sound blew me away... I found all the puzzles to be pretty detached, but who cares! The game is awesome!

Yoon says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:15pm

I swear I nearly cried from the characters's voice extreme cuteness ! Just like asdfjkgljhf

I... I'm out of words. Too many feels to handle. This is a masterpiece.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Great work! The artwork, mood and audio have a strong concept and well executed.

jsmars says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Sweet little game and nice presentation!

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:40pm

One of my favorite entry. Nice graphics, a music that was perfect for the mood. Just one thing (a detail really), the checkpoint should be save point. If you finish one puzzle and you die, it's frustrating to be restart the already saved puzzle.

Frenchie says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:18am

Very nice game. Interesting mechanic. The lack of jump made for a nice change of pace on a platformer. Très bien fait!

blob says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:13am

Vachement bien ^^
Nice gameplay idea, and good game length. Quite enjoyed the musics too :)

Dumb question: how did you guys do the text appearing letter by letter for the cutscene, in Fusion?

louis.denizet says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:30am

@puppetmaster : I guess it's a matter of choice :p

@Borkleby : What do you mean by detached? I'm interested by your explaination ^^

@Team-KwaKwa : I didn't understand the save point/checkpoint thing :p Can you explain it i'm interested ^^

@blob : C'est une technique assez chiante, tu peux m'ajouter sur skype à louis83340 pour que je t'explique comment faire si tu veux ;)

Thanks to everyone for your feedbacks =)

ruerob says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:24am

very well made game! The only thing that took me a while was the elvator thing! Awesome graphics!!! Nice music!!! Well done!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:15pm

very simple and elegant. bravo!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Very pretty, awesome mechanic. WASD controls would have been nice, but doesn't take anything away.

Arche-san says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Really cute! I love the sound effects of characters. There is a good difficulty curve. Great work! :)

Bastienre4 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:17pm

Interesting ! Really cool game, cool graphics :)

sathorn says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Awesome game! Only thing i didn't get right away is that you have to kill the endboss multiple times. I thought he's just gonna respawn indefinitely.

jhell says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 9:20am

Really cool, gorgeous graphics, perfect music for the atmosphere, interesting mechanic. I was so sad to squish the bad guys, found them as cute as the white ones ^^. I feel like the light mechanic looks awesome but does little in the game. Or maybe I didn't go far enough to see it in action? Anyways, good job!

Stending says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Perfect !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]