Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

TeleFrag

by HellBlazer - Jam Entry

Here is my very short game. You must prevent an alien invasion and your only "weapon" is your ability to teleport. Apologies about the terrible programmer art.

Controls:
WASD / Left analog stick: Move
Space / A button: Jump
Arrow keys / Right analog stick: teleport in the direction you tap
Hold ctrl (shift in the WebGL version) / LB: Show your teleport destination when also pressing a teleport key, release ctrl / shift / LB to teleport
Escape: Quit

Gamepads do not seem to work with the WebGL version.


Music by Jan125: http://opengameart.org/content/stereotypical-90s-space-shooter-music

Font by NimaVisual: http://www.fontspace.com/nimavisual/timeburner

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#116Fun(Jam)3.70
#128Innovation(Jam)3.74
#139Theme(Jam)3.89
#181Overall(Jam)3.63
#339Humor(Jam)3.23
#470Mood(Jam)3.14
#695Graphics(Jam)2.92
#1383Coolness47%

Comments

jmborden says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:24am

I like the unique game mechanic of teleporting through enemies to kill them. What are you supposed to do in the computer room?

HellBlazer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:13am

Ah, yeah, I probably should have put a hint message in there...

*spoiler* ;) You need to destroy each of the generators (the grey cylindrical things) by teleporting into them, but only the one that is currently blinking green is vulnerable.

JALgames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:25am

A very innovative way of killing enemies. I'd really like to see a post-compo version with more levels and more differnet graphics...

ccglp says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:27am

I like the game flow, it's quick, I get a crash with the WebGL version in the generators thing, after killing two enemies at the same time

dusho says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:13pm

cool one.. quite difficult to sync all the keys to press

borgi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Nice idea! Really liked the concept and the level! Good job! Using teleport as weapon, so cool :D

Kevlanche says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Pretty good game. The mechanic is fun and controls are solid. Fits the theme well too!

One thing though - after I beat the boss(?) the game crashed.
"Invoking error handler due to
uncaught exception: 16204368 - Exception catching is disabled, this exception cannot be caught. Compile with -s DISABLE_EXCEPTION_CATCHING=0 or DISABLE_EXCEPTION_CATCHING=2 to catch." UnityConfig.js:74:4

There was nothing more descriptive in the console unfortunately. Running firefox on Windows 8. Hope that helps

Sunsheen says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:23pm

WebGL doesn't lock out regular hot keys, so Ctrl still works as a modifier key (Ctrl+W closes tab, Ctrl+D bookmark)!

As for the game: good controls and an interesting mechanic. The enemies are a bit difficult to deal with though, and having to restart the entire game dying in the boss room isn't the greatest feeling.

HellBlazer says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:06am

@Sunsheen, oops, I didn't really think of browser shortcuts. :\ I changed it to shift in the WebGL version now, so that shouldn't be an issue anymore. As for restarting from the beginning, well, I didn't have time to implement checkpoints... it takes about a minute to get to the boss once you know the level though, so that shouldn't be a big problem. :) Sorry about the inconvenience.

As for people having crashes, it's hard to pinpoint what's causing it exactly. It seems to happen only in the WebGL version in Firefox, I think...? Unfortunately, I don't get any details about the exception if it's built for release, while if I turn on exception catching and development mode, I can't make it give an error anymore. :| Very hard to debug, sorry about that if it happens to you. Maybe try a different version or browser.

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:28am

Really cool!
Your 'terrible programmer art' was just fine.
But more importantly, the core mechanic was very well executed! LOVED being able to see where I was going before I went- but also loved that you allowed twitch control as an option too!
Just... great job.

Xanderzoo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Great idea, but it's hard to control the player

Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Nice little game! It was pretty fun. The teleporting mechanic felt very fleshed out and complete. The movement is a little slippery, but overall, the experience was enjoyable.

xplicitone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Interesting mechanic to kill the enemies! Pretty hard too which is good. Had fun

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:20am

Wow, this was lots of fun! The controls were hard to get the hang of, but once I did, it was super fun to run around warping here and there. I hope you'll continue to work on this idea, as you've got a really great baseline. If you can find ways to simplify the controls, that would be great -- maybe have the teleport destination always shown, instead of requiring another button to be pressed to shot it? Anyway, awesome job, thanks for making this!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:12am

It reminds me of the Spelunky teleporter, but I don't remember that having a telefrag ability. Telefragging is a lot of fun! The only real annoyance was no checkpoint (and not even a healing point) before the boss, so sometimes trying to rush back to the boss you would take damage that made it more annoying.

The soundtrack was pretty awesome! I'm guessing you didn't put sound as a rating category because you used a free loop or something? Still, good choice.

Kasmilus says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Best game so far(but I didn't play many :P). I'm pretty sure it can be totally badass game if you will finish it! Art is fine, animations are great! Caught myself dancing for few minutes(left, right, jump), it looks so cute :D

HellBlazer says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:02am

Thanks for the comments everyone.

@GAFBlizzard, yeah, it's just a song I found on Open Game Art (the URL is in the description above), but it's indeed pretty cool. :)

Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:07am

Fun mechanic! The game was designed very well. You did a great job teaching us how to use the mechanic, and rewarded us for using it well. I also got a bit confused in the computer room.

solarexplorer says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:07am

Nice work, teleport preview didn't work for me (web version, safari, osx) due to ctrl+arrow being a default OSX hotkey.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:10am

Oh man I loved Telefragging in UT. This game was so much fun.

SamH says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:12am

Very nice mechanics! I do hate the keyboard controls, though, there are too many keys to manage; I would suggest using a single key for teleporting and use the WASD keys input to choose the direction.
Otherwise the art is decent for a Ludum Dare entry (just one single frame of a “walk” animation might have helped), the level design is a bit empty but has nice puzzles and even multiple paths…

And you’ll be happy to know the Linux version works well.

Perjoka says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 7:25am

interesting mechanic, well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]