Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

It Came From The Sea

by adamwfindlay - Jam Entry

Hello! This is our game 'It Came From The Sea' made by 4 of us from scratch in 72 hours.

You are an evil super villain, hellbent on destroying the world! Build a dastardly creation out of unconventional parts in your lab and wreak havoc across the city with the monster that you built.

Inspired by Rampage and GTA 1 it is a score based game of destruction. Smash buildings, kill civilians and blow up vehicles. The longer your reign of destruction continues the harder the game gets, sending increasingly larger and harder waves of enemies after you.

Choose parts from:

- Shark arms
- Hot sauce cannons
- Tentacles
- Pig launchers
- Beer barrels
- Jet engines
- Puffer fish
- Dragon heads
- Eagle heads
- Bee hives

Different parts give you different stat bonuses and penalties!

Enemies:

- Policemen
- Police cars
- Swat team
- Swat vans
- Army men
- Tanks
- Choppers
- SUPERHEROES!

See if you can get a high score on our online leaderboards!

Thanks for checking it out :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#152Humor(Jam)3.60
#277Fun(Jam)3.37
#279Overall(Jam)3.50
#318Theme(Jam)3.65
#343Mood(Jam)3.31
#359Audio(Jam)3.11
#396Graphics(Jam)3.54
#598Innovation(Jam)2.97

Comments

jk5000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:58am

Some of sound effects are a little laugh. But the game is generally fun, and it's great to be able to destroy most of the city.

ianburnette says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:37am

That's great. Quite fun. I love the monster building screen - some excellent and funny choices. Visuals are crisp. It was a little hard to tell what was hurting me, but it was very fun to destroy buildings and fire trucks.

sebasRez says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Game crashed while I was playing but before that everything was great and I was having fun.

Taldius says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Nice game, I was sad I didn't have the proper glasses to play it in 3D.
Good job!

denycetm says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:32pm

One of my favourites so far. I would maybe like a little more feedback to know that my attacks are working. Pig launching gun was incredible; it gets top marks for theme. Some of the sounds could be reworked. Great core concept.

Kasmilus says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Null reference exception :D Game is great, fun to play, amusing weapons.

adamwfindlay says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Thanks for the feedback guys! :D There does seem to be an occasional bug that cause that null reference, not entirely sure what is it, it is still playable most of the time though!

I agree with the point about not always knowing when you are getting hit as the enemies on foot are tiny! haha. Also yeah we had hoped to put more building feedback in but as always ran out of time :)

anokta says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:42pm

liked the art style! good job overall :)

Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Very well done! (note: I get nulls when I eat people with the shark head)

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:49pm

I love the style but I wish I had a little more context for why I'm in there wrecking the city

MonoS says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:08pm

I liked a lot the fake-3d shader.

Interesting stuff in this game, but it need a bit more polishing and balancing.

adamwfindlay says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Thanks guys!

@OnePixelMonster Thanks for the heads up, trying to repro it but I can't get it to happen!

@kabutakogames The idea is you are a super villain creating this monster, we ran out of time for the intro screen showing that :)

Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:45pm

It was like top down rampage!

Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:51pm

I built a pufferfish with shark arms. IT WAS COOL.

Jyrkface says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Great game! some of the visual effects could kick in sooner I think, as well as generally ramping up the enemies faster. If you decide to continue development I would also add some more visual feedback for the player as it is occasionally hard to figure out what's going on.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:01pm

I found it hard to control, I think it would be better with controls like in GTA2, and it would be better if it had buttons mapped to H: left, J: head and K: right to be located as the same as on screen.

Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Good game to pass the time while destroying a city. Liked the title screen and name. Reminded me of the old monster movies which was great cause I know what I was getting myself into even before I played.

crazya02 says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Silly fun! The controls may have worked better by having you turn instead of moving directly. The mood was fantastic; it felt just like a cheesy monster movie!

May 6, 2015 @ 12:59pm

I always dreamed about being a giant monster! I loved the concept, and the game is very funny, I'd only give the player a better feedback on what is damaging him. The "3D" graphics are awesome too! 5 stars! :D

Indiestry says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 6:56pm

You made me fetch my old 3d glasses, which I would call quite unusual and cool. gameplay is nice, maybe a bit dull, sprites are fitting and the music is really powerfull. All in all a really good entry

Hyoga-3D says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 7:05pm

The controls could be a little better, because it's diffult to turn, also it would be nice some kind of feedback that my guns were charging, because i just keep pressing the buttons all the time to attack, because I didn't know when I could attack.

My arm was tired after playing this haha!
Good use of the theme too.

TeamSpatch says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 7:13pm

You can destroy buildings, that rocks : ).

Zeriver says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Whoa, pure destructive experience :D
Everything is matching; music, graphics and gameplay. This game is really fun to play, just driving around and destroying everything (even buildings) >: D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]