Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Break A Leg

by jcsirron - Jam Entry

The time has come: you can finally get rid of those scene-stealing hacks in your theater group. You’ve been setting this up for months. Talking to the folks backstage. Making sure they are willing to drop the counter-balances at your signal. Flattering the other actors, to make sure they take part in the production. Pretending to listen to their flattery, so they aren’t surprised that you are willing to work with them.

In the last few weeks, you’ve been working out the timing. Where you’ll have to be on the stage. How to signal where the sandbags should be dropped. And, of course, how to look good doing it. We wouldn’t want the audience to get a bad show, now, would we? Even if a few of the actors… break a leg.


Instructions

First you must choose a starting position: where you will be at the beginning of the play. Such fine actors as yourselves will of course want to start with your own spotlights, so no one will start in the same portion of the stage.

The play itself will be broken up into a series of acts, each consisting of four scenes. In each scene, you will either saunter across the stage to a new position, or stand in place and soliloquize. You’ve found that soliloquies are a great opportunity to signal your accomplice in the rafters. Unfortunately, you will have to plan out each act before the curtain rises, in order to make things look professional.

For each scene, click on either a portion of the stage to move to, or a sandbag in the rafters to drop on the stage. A tile showing your action for the scene will appear, so you don’t lose track of where you are. If you decide you need to change your action, clicking on the tile will reset it. When you have blocked out actions for each scene (or decide to just wing it, if you want an acting challenge), then start the act with the old standard: “Break a leg!”

Any actors who are hit by a sandbag will, “sadly”, break a leg. They will be taken backstage for the rest of the act, so their remaining actions won’t happen. In the next act, they will come back in the same location where they were injured (“The show must go on!”), but a second broken leg will send them home.


Credits

Brian Williams
Brian Trotter
Thomas Gruenewald
Chandler Norris
Adam Williams

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#622Humor(Jam)2.63
#725Innovation(Jam)2.73
#806Theme(Jam)2.90
#850Graphics(Jam)2.50
#993Mood(Jam)1.95
#1052Fun(Jam)1.85
#1077Overall(Jam)2.19

Comments

Galan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:47am

Interesting concept, but I couldn't really find a way to strategize. Maybe I'm missing something (quite likely, even), but it just felt like a guessing game.

It didn't help that I had trouble telling whether the sandbag were upstage or downstage.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:53am

The gameplay is a neat concept and overall interesting, but it is not very intuitive. However, the graphics were nice. Having the curtain rise and fall was a nice detail.

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:13am

Great concept! But a bit confusing to play >.< It took me a while to understand how to do things, and still some random sandbags dropped where I was xp
Still good job!

terryg says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:54am

Like what Galan said. It felt more like guessing. The graphics are beautiful though, and the story was great. Good job!

Ryusui says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:26pm

I like the premise, but the interface could use some work, and the connection between my commands and the actual action seemed tenuous at best (why are sandbags raining all over the stage when only set one to drop?)

The lack of sound was a real killer, too, given the whole premise is about dropping things on people. ^_^;

Dagatts says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:22pm

I kinda felt like controlling some of it but most of it seemed rather random... a beautiful chaotic random. Loved the concept. Could use a better work on the graphics and It was kinda confusing about which bag would fall where.

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:05am

I know you don't want rated on audio, but I think if you had more time it would have been a nice add on. Overall a solid entry!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:07am

It's a good idea for a game, but the directions on how the strategy works seem a bit unclear. Wasn't really sure how to actually play, though I knew what I could click on. Fits the theme really well.

jplur says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Nice to see pygame being used!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Awesome idea, but the gameplay is so convoluted it is hard to tell what's going on and what you're supposed to do. I'd definitely love to see this expanded on though!

Jokerbomb says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:12am

Neat game and the graphics were fun. I may just have had a hard time understanding how to play at first.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:32pm

Nice idea, but I couldn't figure out how to play :/

Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:28am

Liked the idea of the play and stage, little characters were fun

elefantopia says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:13am

Really nice graphics (from the set to the costumes on the actors), but the game play was confusing.

tikilittle says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:06am

Wow this has an elaborate setup. That's very cool. I want to play, but there's no non-Windows version.

tininsteelian says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:56pm

I thoroughly enjoyed the WordArt title screen. Interesting game!

Wevel says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 9:00am

Interesting idea although fairly simple

May 6, 2015 @ 1:57am

IT really felt more like guessing than any strategy, which was a bit frustrating. Great concept, though.

CiderPunk says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 1:44pm

nice idea and excellent presentation but let down by a unintuitive gui and it all feels a bit random.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]