Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Banana Bandit

by suppi - Jam Entry

Wow!

That was a long weekend. I didn't have much time to work on this game, but I'm glad I did. even though I didn't finish all that I planned.

This LD I decided to tackle an almost foreign programming language to me, Elm. This weekend for me was about trying to learn and explore Elm by creating a game for LD, and I feel like I accomplished that goal as much as I could.

Anyway,


Tools:
-----

Elm-platform 14.0.1
Vim
Pyxel Edit
Chrome
GarageBand(?)

Synopsis:
-------

Banana Bandit is (was supposed to be) a sneaking game about The Banana Bandit - a famous thief that uses a single Banana peel to sneak past guards and get to guarded treasures!


(Rant):
-----

I didn't have enough time to add the audio I made nor did I have time to create pretty screens, animations and levels, my maze generator is half broken (but at least I was able to generate one level).

I will continue to work during this week on this game, just to finish it.


also, Please use Chrome for best performance.


Thanks!

---

Post-mortem: http://www.gilmi.xyz/post/2015/04/21/weekend-with-elm

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#699Humor(Jam)2.49
#718Theme(Jam)3.07
#915Innovation(Jam)2.31
#917Graphics(Jam)2.20
#957Mood(Jam)2.20
#984Fun(Jam)2.27
#1061Overall(Jam)2.27

Comments

micahcowan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:00am

Okay, well there's not much to it right now so I can't rate it very highly - but I _love_ that you wrote this in Elm! And you were unexperienced with the language, which makes it so much harder. That deserves an extra point just because you're crazy brave. :)

I've played with the idea of doing my next LD in a language like Elm or possibly PureScript, _maybe_ ClojureScript. I'm worried about performance degradation in using those languages, but I feel like they probably win out for developer productivity (_provided_ I'm already good and familiar with the languages before I start), given the fact that (especially for Elm and PureScript) certain whole classes of runtime bugs go away.

I might use this LD's game as a template to try rewriting it in one or two of those languages, to see how comfortable I can get, and if I feel like it saves me troubles.

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:50am

Fun idea, too bad their aren't more levels.

hypp says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Nice idea, but way too easy.

suppi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Hey, thanks for the comments!

micahcown: thank you :) I know there's hardly any game there because i didn't really finish it, thank you for rating anyway!
You should definitely try to work with Elm/PureScript/ClojureScript at least once. I was a very fun and educating experience for me. you might enjoy reading my post mortem linked in the description above the links :)

Nomys_Tempar: thanks. will try to work a little more on the game to finish it. once i fix the maze generator i will add many more levels :)

Jungle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Cool idea but needs a lots of polishment. In my opinion it could be a great game but need to enhance controls, animations and UI, you can start with a retry button. The project is good, the idea is great, the weapon is unconventional and fits the theme! Go and enhance your project, bro!!

Jordan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Could really use more levels, but other than that, it's nice. As others have said, UI/controls and animation could help a lot.

Fabraz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Good on you trying a new language!

SimianLogic says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:17pm

I've never even heard of Elm, so props for using the weekend to learn something new! I was able to beat it without really using the banana--just by timing my sneaks just right. Was the banana supposed to make them fall down?

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Having a single deployable weapon that you must retrieve in order to use again is a really cool and interesting choice.

You may want to make the player's collision box smaller and position it just around their feet -- I had some difficulty getting through passages, because my head kept hitting the wall when I didn't expect it to due to the camera angle simulated by the sprites.

I'm glad to hear that you'll continue working on this!

suppi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:15am

thank you all for the comments!

SimianLogic, yes! try it :)

TheMeorch, thanks! i agree and will do as you suggested :)

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:13am

Glad you learned a new language. The game itself wasn't great though, as the weapon itself, "Banana", isn't really needed when you can just walk to the goal.

gormed says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:15pm

Good one for for a weekend with a new language. Never heard of it but looks worth a look. Cannot rate it high either, but if you add some more levels and a auto respawn it can be quite fun :)

mentatzoe says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:26pm

It definitely suits the theme! As someone who's the solo dev of a team that's also been busy this weekend AND unexperienced with the technology of their choice I can totally feel your pain, but isn't it worth it nonetheless?
I agree with most people, the game feels fun, it'd be great to have more levels and some UI!

frondeus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:10pm

This game really need polish. But there is bright future ;)

pythong says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:18pm

well ok, i think this still needs work? :/ the bounding boxes don't work correctly, your sprites sometimes show that ''image not found'' icon, and even though i got a policeman with my banana peel, nothing happened except him killing me :/

Hambone says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Cute little game! I didn't expect all the gore when you died! ha GJ.

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:55pm

There is quite a pause when you place a banana. Other than that it is a nice short game.

cdgugler says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:13am

Interesting idea, be cool to see it more fleshed out. I hadn't heard of Elm, but I am going to try it out for sure. I've done some functional programming in Racket, and have been thinking about trying clojurescript, but Elm looks much more approachable.

Jakob37 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Nice idea! Would have preferred a bit more responsive movement. Nice trying out a new language for LD, well done :)

reiknight says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:04pm

Nice game, the only downside is the difficult to drop the banana because there is high delay.
Great work with the new language :P

kristof says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Nice start. I could not really find out how to use the banana. The controls feel a bit slow and its hard to get through tight passages because the player does not slide along the walls.

rxi says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Quite a tiny entry, but a good effort considering it was made with an unfamiliar framework / language! Its also good to hear that making the game managed to fulfil your goal of exploring the framework.

I liked the look of the sprites, they seemed cheap to good comical effect -- the bloodied player death sprite was particularly horrific which added nicely to the humour.

Good use of the theme!

nihilaleph says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 2:07am

A really cool concept! I found the control a bit stiff though, and the animation is a bit laggy, even when running on chrome.

Great job with a new language!

Smirnov48 says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 4:37pm

+ Nice realization, good idea.
- very easy

lkpridgeon says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 8:02pm

I can see where you were coming from with it working better in chrome but the player movements still felt too stiff for my liking but not rendering it unplayable. There was an issue getting through doorways aswell I think it was to do with the hitbox of the player. Overall I enjoyed what I could of it...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]