Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Ageless Machine: Cup of Tea

by ViliX64 - Compo Entry

A man unwittingly drinks a tea that leaves him at mercy of The Puppeteer, then meets The Redeemer who may have experienced the same fate.

The history starts to repeat itself in a disastrous way when the main character is asked to murder someone.



If you got stuck and need a solution to some puzzle, watch the walkthrough. For story explanation visit my page (vilix64.github.io/?p=2).

Warning: the gameplay is 25-35 minutes. Take that into consideration before plazing this game.


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#30Mood3.98
#131Audio3.55
#333Overall3.41
#452Graphics3.20
#562Innovation3.09
#728Fun2.85
#770Humor2.30
#854Theme2.93

Comments

nurabsal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:28am

feel like it would have been good smaller. hard to tell whats going on. good mood though. controls felt like i was skating?

Fanttum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:29am

Wow really cool game. Maybe a bit too artsy for my tastes, but it still gets a good score.

OneTrueAaron says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:34am

Definitely had me engaged pretty early on, but at some point (near the end?) i gave up on running around without any clear ability to see around me. I figure it was linear, but still. Wasn't sure what i was going after.

Great mood and music, though.

doitle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:39am

The controls on this I think are the biggest miss here. The way you are so far from tiles you interact with felt odd to me, because I couldn't tell in some instances if an item could not be picked up or if I was in the wrong place to grab it. Good story though, I liked how you saw the trap doors at first and were unable to use them, but once you started fulfilling your... new role they open up. Also I'm glad you posted a walkthrough video because I was able to play the game a bit to get a feel for it, but then just watch for the story to see what happens. A nice thing since I probably wouldn't have stuck around for all the weighting switches and switch flipping.

TheBigShot says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:40am

Very well put together. The only flaw with it in my view is that it is a bit too cluttered. But other than that, great mood and feel to the game.

PachowStudios says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:42am

It felt somewhat like a chore to play. The camera was also way too zoomed in and gave me a headache.

The graphics are artsy, but everything just ends up looking the same. The audio was really well done though. I did enjoy the music. The mood is great too.

Overall I feel like this was a little too ambitious for its own good. If you spent more time developing it, I feel like it could turn into something great, but its just simply not really enjoyable as it is.

Zipydooda says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:44am

I really really liked it! The art was a bit difficult to tell what was going on, but that was only above-ground. I loved the unconventional weapon!

Languard says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:48am

Very loose feeling controls. Was starting to get eyestrain from the chaotic background as well. I'm also not really seeing the theme at all. I mean I suppose the tea could be the 'weapon', but that's really stretching it.

MiniBobbo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:52am

I have to admit I certainly didn't expect an algebra problem in the middle of my creepy exploration game.

Great mood and the graphics went along well with the the whole experience. I like the sense of inevitability. You see what is coming but you can't stop it.

The game might have benefited from smaller sprites though. I found some things harder to navigate then they needed to be because everything was so big.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:39am

Unfortunately I couldn't play it for too long as it somehow made me nauseous, but the concept seemed pretty good. It looks like you've got a lot of content in too which is great!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:44am

Love the hints of cycling in the plot. Nice music to mood.

indigo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:47am

Great mood, but doesn't fit the theme at all. More of a graphic novel than of a game, but a good graphic novel at that.

qapn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:00am

I found the controls really frustrating. Unlike other top down RPG style controls, this one I felt you had to predict where you wanted to move in advance.

Nice atmosphere and some good sprites.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:29am

Looks good, very busy graphics though.

Havacore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:47am

Really liked the grayscale art and the music to fit. Really cool story driven game for something made for LD.

morgondag says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:42am

Cool!!

Dyn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:55am

Good job, man. I like this grey style in the game.

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Great game to produce in 48 hrs. Unsure about the weapon bit, but maybe I didn't play it long enough? Anyway, 10/10 best game ever, would play again. :-) Please rate my game at http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=16225

Zielak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:17pm

ARGH, MAAATH! good old brute-force did the job with it :)
I felt like playing The Talos Principle underground, you always have to remember the right order to pickup and place items.
I also got stuck on 3rd part. Got the duct tape, probably forgot to use it with the thing, and went straight to the door automatically blocking my way back.
Playtime: 25 good minutes. I like this kind of puzzles.

elpaulo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Wow. Just wow, awesome to manage to make a game like this in 48h. Good job.
Maybe you can make more visible the gatherable items, but they were't so difficult to find.

XeroCake says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:49pm

I like the aesthetic choice of grey scale, but the character is sometimes hard to see as it blends in. The controls are a little frustrating and they could use some tweaking.

Horsed says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:49pm

I ran around pretty clueless what to do and often did not recognize stuff lying around. But I guess that's part me not particularly liking puzzlers like this. I liked the music and the players face.

plams says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Great atmosphere. I found 4 substances, maybe I need more, but I couldn't figure out how to solve that.

Jungle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:57pm

I really liked the mood and the sounds, really indeed.

The graphics also were a really nice pixel art.

But at some point I started getting too confused! I'll definitly give it one more try later on. For a 48hs game it's amazing though.

Jordan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:09pm

I love it. Art style is pretty unique, and gameplay is straightforward.

Also, bonus points for tea. ;)

w1n5t0n says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:05am

The audio was amazing and the mood was perfect for the game!

cgmorton says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:20am

Er. The solution to (3x + 1) / 7 = 3x - 7 is not x = 2. It's x = 2.777...

I'm very sorry, but I'm afraid I have to give you 1 star in every category because of the enormity of this error. Rules are rules.

I mean other than that the game is atmospheric as heck and has a neat story and good mechanics. Anyway better luck next time! :)

cgmorton says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:36am

Hey ViliX64, just to clarify, that was meant as a joke! I'm pretty sure I gave your game 3 or 4 stars overall.

Kihira says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:27am

Controls were a bit oversensitive, and the "big twist" at the end was way too predictable. Just felt like it was trying too hard to be artsy.

leafo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:47am

wow this is great, really impressive amount of gameplay

Deal With It says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:03am

Nice graphics.

Druid says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:46am

I really love this kind of mysterious games! Great work!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Very good mood to this. Feels so dark. Suprised how big of a game you managed to get in there!

Also, you made me do maths. My brain hurts.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:15pm

I will tweet you with gameplay and review video.

grillaface says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Really great, superb mood! The audio for the phone was awesome. I did get stuck after killing the guy, wasn't sure what to do next. Good job though this is one of my favs so far.

shrapx says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:23pm

i found the full screen version a bit hard to swallow, the smooth scrolling made me feel a bit sick, i liked the piano music a lot! perfectly eery, i didnt get very far. I think ill watch the walkthrough to enjoy the game from a distance :D

Reccy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:37pm

The game manages to feel very mysterious and creepy, but the movement felt very strange. I gave up when I was asked to solve an algebra equation. Sorry, but I don't feel like doing maths today. Good effort though!

animanegra says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Really cool, but in order to quit on MAC I had to use cmd+space in order to execute a terminal and the use kill.
I fell really weird when the character tells you to kill the guy in the bed, the music makes you fell really disgusting, making the ambience absolutely dark and felling like a fucking psycho. ^^
The bad part is related with the size of the character and the rest of the screen. I would change the size of the tiles making them smaller or something.
Nice work, it is a really good game.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:54pm

This is really good..
The atmosphere of the game is really nice, but IMHO the graphic is a little bit to.. "heavy".. Too "dirty" ^^'
BTW GREAT JOB

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Reminds me of a game boy game.

Huo-cuo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Wow, so this was amazing. I really loved the puzzles. You have everything thought through. The difficulty is not easy but it is not hard either. I was concerned about the graphics at first, but after a few minutes it just seems all so natural. I hope you will win.

goblin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:02pm

This is damn awesome.
The fact that you interact with things from afar IS strange, but that doesnt really make the game worse.

***SPOILER***
Sad thing is though, there is no way escaping the loop

Miziziziz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:03pm

Great story! it took a while to get into it, but it was worth it for the twist near the end.
Personally, I feel it would have been better if it ended right as you (spoiler) make the call instead of drawing it out, since it's obvious what's going to happen after that.

The SFX was great, and the music was good.
I felt the art got a little too distracting in places, especially outside it was confusing to figure out where I could or couldn't walk

Os_Reboot says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:43am

Awesome job! The movement was a little clunky, but the visuals and audio were incredible. I love the distorted sounds from the radio.

ruerob says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:34am

What a great game! Great visuals, great story, great everything! Very very very wel done!

Split82 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:46am

Perfect mood and overall feeling. A lot of gameplay! Awesome entry. I should probably play it in window, because it felt just too big in fullscreen :)

Chris M says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Great story, although ending is stronger without Part IV making it explicit.

Ash K says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:16pm

I was really enjoying it up until I missed the boiler and locked myself out of completing the puzzle. There seems to be no way to go back and fix it, so after all that time spent I can't finish :(

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:24am

Very good game with a very good story. Puzzles weren't too challenging nor too easy. My only problem ever came up when I walked past the tile I wanted to be on when I let go of movement keys.

MonoS says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:44pm

The graphics is almost unwatchable, i'm not talking about the colors but for the sprite that make almost everything really confusing.

The best part of the game is the plot and the use of the theme, really really good, bat probably some better storytelling and suspance would had made the game top notch, in fact i understood the main twist just since the end of the second chapter.

But maybe i'm a bit to harsh on your game story-side, cause i liked how you told the story.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Nooooo! I got stuck in the cellar, after I went through the pressure gate to exit, but hadn't fixed the water and had no more weights to get back there.
Really involved game though! The graphics could do with a bit more contrast, to differentiate walkable areas, walls, pickups and such, but it looks really good.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:53am

I couldn't finish this because the movement was making me queasy. I think the problem was the size of the tiles combined with the fact that it was a little hard to tell the difference between boulder walls and ground. The art looks good, but the ground was just too busy.

I got as far as getting two of the components needed to get the door open, and I like the mood the game set.

Mase says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:02pm

The gameplay is impressively lengthy & consistent.
I like the cluttered low res graphics.
The plot twist & ending was clear about halfway through the game. The character seemed a bit dense to not notice the pattern.
It might've been more effective to just imply the stabbing at the end; it was obvious that it was going to happen that way.
Good work.

Jasonsumm says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:50am

loved the style but the gameplay could be slicker :)

Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:32am

Neat game, interesting story. I had trouble telling if I could walk in a spot or if it was a rock in my way... I included it in part 7 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/Cnio28O-EgI

MrShoestore says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 1:53pm

I love the mood that you created, but the monochrome look makes things a little difficult to know what I'm looking at. Im not sure how much this actually fits the theme of the jam, unless the unconventional weapon is all the keys and levers used to destroy the locks on the gates.

May 1, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Mood was nicely set up with the visuals and story. You got a lot into the game in the space of 48hrs. As others have mentioned I would probably just move the camera a bit further out to give a bit more breathing space when playing.

Filip says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 9:45pm

I got stuck in the cellar. I passed the boiler without fixing it and couldn't get back to it since I had no more weights.
Also, I was disappointed by the math problem. My guess at the safe accepted 2 as a solution to the equation was "(3x+1)/7=3x-7".

Dejvo says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 9:27am

nice longer game. the graphics were a bit confusing and i didn't like the tile-movement. but overall pretty neat with great mood

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]