Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

GAMUBòRU GUMBALL!!

by Robber - Jam Entry

GAMUBòRU GUMBALL!!

The freestyle GumBall TR!P!

all code, graphics and music created in jam-game-time by Rob Bothof
some audio-samples from the mighty Andre Popp

I do hope you like this little experience,
let me just say that the goal is to just have fun! ;)

enjoy, hope you do..gumball

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#88Humor(Jam)3.80
#98Graphics(Jam)4.22
#104Audio(Jam)3.75
#160Fun(Jam)3.61
#203Mood(Jam)3.51
#474Overall(Jam)3.27
#577Theme(Jam)3.28
#647Innovation(Jam)2.88

Comments

sxmn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:07am

nice shaders

Gunzil says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:10am

I tipped my trick over immediately upon starting up the game. There does not appear to be a way to retry so I refreshed by browser and drove around some more before falling in a hole.

Very stylish. The music track and weird camera filter over a truck full of gumballs certainly creates quite the trip.

This is more a toy than a game (no objective that I encountered, nothing to shoot/hit), but I would be interested in seeing a game come out of it! Shooting a gumball and then kicking it with the front of the truck is very satisfying.

Robber says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:15am

I've added the 'R' restart key!

BermudaCake says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:21am

Driving around felt satisfying! I love the idea for the weapon and the implementation is adorable. Kind of wish there was something to do with it, though, or that the lil' gumballs ran around after I fired them or something. Cool concept.

ChrisGaudino says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Everytime I play, right after I start moving the screen turns blue and I can't do anything without restarting.

Robber says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:34pm

with the unity or webgl version ? what os ? i will at standalone builds soon

MaesK says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Nice graphics, those shaders and how the floor falls into the hole is great. I miss some objective or something to do, maybe I did not see it. Nice work.

juaxix says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:48pm

This game is hilarious, i think the driver is from UK cause the wheel is in the right, right? XD
I finally was capable to feel what is a dark hole XD
and feel like Homer in that 3D episode, thanks!
You could add something like that, from the simpsons world, or add a score when the guys entered a hole...or they can be morphed into something else! :D

Mouch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Looks amazing.... Fitting abscure music and I think I spended far too long time in this game than I should have:D

Good Job

daredevildave says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Beautiful and seems like it would be fun. Unfortunately everytime I drive for more than a few seconds the screen goes blue and I have to restart. (Webplayer version)

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:52pm

i'm not entirely certain what's going on here, but it made me smile. music is fun, gameplay is... something. i dunno. felt very lighthearted and silly. i liked it.

kivano says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:55pm

This is very funny... and I had FUN! I could ride for hours with these little pink guys... love it :)

Dickie says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:56pm

fucking awesome concept! love the fiction you've created, especially captain gumball in the driver seat, such a shame it's not more finished.

Really enjoyed what you guys have put together.

Robber says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:57pm

thanx so much people! very sorry about the 'blue screen' issue's i do not know what the problem is yet, please try a different build

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Really neat looking, but what am I supposed to do with this gun?..

mildmojo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Man, you nailed the physics on that truck. Got any resources for making good vehicle physics in Unity? The truck is really satisfying to drive. I love how the driver sways back and forth when you corner, too.

The details like the loader/shovel on the front flipping gumballs in the air and the signs and traffic cones are great. It'd be cool to see where you could go with this. Maybe a wacky take on firefighting? Give it the Bossa Studios treatment?

Delightful music, too. I need a little more of an objective to keep playing, though, even if it's just exploration/discovery.

AtomicVikings says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Genius.

oparisy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:27pm

OK, very funny! Liked the rendering too. Would have loved to have a goal.

I had the impression that I could not steer and accelerate at the same time?

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Nice gameplay and graphics!

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Nice graphics, sounds and game-play, there is something to do with that!

Ossi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:43pm

That was pretty hilarious! Funky music and cool graphics really fit together with the goofy theme of those gumball guys. Very cool!

FeniX says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:45pm

As Gunzil said, it would be nice if it would be really a game with any objective with current mode as a "playground" option, as it's great. ^^

Logicon says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:46am

Was just fun to mess around with

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:52am

I really love this, it's just incredibly amusing and an enjoyable experience. I think it stems from the fact that the truck physics and motion were really nicely implemented. It's enjoyable to see how it reacts to different turns and whatnot.

The music fit perfectly, and I mean perfectly. It's one of the main things I liked about the whole thing to be honest, and probably kept me around longer because I just wanted to hear the whole thing. It's captivating.

I mean, the whole game is sort of just aimless... but it's great exploring it for a bit. My best moment I think... was going really really fast, and pretty much clearing one of the holes in the ground, tossing, turning, and the truck somehow landed upright haha. Great stuff.

Also, interesting note: the cannon doesn't shoot out with truck velocity + cannon velocity. So if you go fast speeds with the truck you can essentially outrun the shots you're firing haha.

I probably only played it for a 3-4 minutes or so but I thoroughly enjoyed my time with it. Very polished mechanics.

FrederickK says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:06am

I have no idea of what I'm doing or what I suppose to do...but I liked! :D

Taldius says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:20am

One of my favorite ! too bad there is no goal, but maybe it's what it make it so special.
Insane physics btw !

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:54am

so great looking toy - but not a game - i love tipping over the truck

iSamurai says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:12am

Great graphics, i like the distorted look, and music.

Novodantis says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:01am

Spent way too long firing out blackcurrent dudes and then trying to flip them into the back of the truck again...

AlexDJones says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Well made gameplay and visuals, though I wish there was something to do with it! Might also be a good idea to keep the camera a little further away from the truck so the player can see more.

lebrokholic says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:29pm

I've laughed a lot! The idea is great! The sound is incredible! The graphics is amazing!

farwyler says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:23pm

very Katamari-esque ... and also very enjoyable.
good work :)

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Really good truck model there. Handles like a... truck... Good game!

Bardikus says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Did anyone manage to flip that truck without falling into the wholes? I mean seriously, the stability on that truck is ridiculous and it should make Volvo Truck Manufacturers feel ashamed. Loved the goofy mood. Some basic objectives like shoot 5 signs, lift 10 guys etc. would have made it more interesting. Also, if you make a post-compo version, make the turret adjustable on height. Overall great game 5/5!

MrSchlag says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Cool game ! I like physics of truck and the atmosphere given by shader and music.

eddynardo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:50pm

like! :)

xandy says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:01pm

i have no idea what happened but it was great :D

Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Really nice little sandbox. The idea is smart and the game is kinda hilarious and funny to play.

sputnik says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Really good music!

OrkyOrks says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:37pm

great physics implementation, fun game but no real objective.. make this a sim of some sort!

taaboo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Other than the fact that there was no actual gameplay. I laughed my head off playing this for a min or 5. Realy wished there was some gameplay attached to this game.

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Super funny! Will play this with me kids! They will love it. :-)

allanolivei says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:02pm

beautiful

Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:14pm

I like the game and the truck handles nicely, I might like to be able to move the camera around. The graphics were quite nice. Overall well built, but it could do with some sort of challenge to make it a bit more gam-ey. Good Job!

sararyCow says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:19pm

I also had the blue screen issue in the Web Unity and OSX builds.

Finally I could play the webGl one. Graphics and physics are amazing but I'm a bit dissapointed there is no real objective.

PixelMind says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Great twisted mood and graphics but needs a bit more game to it. Loved the weird music too :)

hexdie says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:14am

Despite there not being too much to do in the game, I still have a lot of fun with it! The music is fantastic, the artwork wonderful, and there is tons of humor and charm. Very nice work!

richiebranson says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:45am

that beat tho! Really good stuff. The graphics are extremely eye catching.

Huo-cuo says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:53am

I lot of fun with the truck but not for too long. But the prototype is nice and smooth, there is a potential for a full game. I also like the music very much.

flwns says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:46am

I enjoyed driving around in a gumball truck canon!

SayHiBen says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:56am

Fun toy - this has a great look and feel to it.

SledKnight says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:47am

Hahahah! That was fun. Not much to it, but I loved watching the little truck driver lean into the turns, hahahaha.

goblin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:44pm

It has very good graphics but not what is the purpose of the game.
pasate my game and vote. http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

eemmbbeerr says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:41pm

It was really fun driving around, it took me a while to realize that there was no point of this game. At first I thought it was about modern physics, after the black hole and E=mc². But I couldn't find anything more on the level, maybe I haven't gone far enough, but even the “This way” signs just showed me into black holes. But I really liked the way the ground curved.

Also, I like the way you spell windows :)

vortex says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:05pm

At first I thought I would die of boredom if I would play this for more than ten minutes but when I did... I loved it... Amaizing game even thought there is no goal

vortex says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:06pm

At first I thought I would die of boredom if I would play this for more than ten minutes but when I did... I loved it... Amaizing game even though there is no goal
One of the best I played so far

jk5000 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:12pm

The goal were reached. Had a lot of fun.

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Very polished looking, really like the graphics. awesome job

crazyrems says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:32pm

The mood is a bit disturbing... Throwing gumballs away is rude, but catching them with the truc feels good.
Nice !

coderitual says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Hah! Nice one! Graphics and jelly movement are really great. Maybe you should focus on gameplay little bit more but otherwise I like it :)

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:56pm

I love the quirky atmosphere in this game, vaguely reminds me of the Mother series.

SiENcE says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Very fun game! Need a bit of gameplay, but as sandbox game it's a lot of fun.

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Music ---> freakin' good !

Lyje says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:41pm

I have no idea what just happened, but I loved it.

skylerWithAnE says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:02am

I had a lot of fun seeing how many times I could use the bulldozer to throw the same gumball guy in the air without letting him touch the ground.

yuigoto says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Loved the concept, the style and the physics! More like a toy-game, but a nice toy to play! :)

The little ball things are adorable (to look, to shoot and to drive over :P) and the soundtrack fits very well with everything here!

RyanNielson says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Great game, I especially like the look of it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]