Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Wand of FloatingSoaps

by aroymart - Compo Entry

The Wand of FloatingSoaps is an upgrade game where you control a bubble wand/fan that you can use as a weapon to trap and eventually destroy your enemies.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#205Innovation3.66
#281Audio3.20
#281Overall3.47
#339Fun3.32
#440Humor2.93
#482Theme3.43
#612Mood2.86
#828Graphics2.58

Comments

sawyerWeld says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:52am

I love this game! A very unique take on the theme and very cute. The music is great and the doopies adorable.

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:33am

Check your links. I had to use the mirror to play the game. Anyway, it looked kinda crappy from the beginning, but the mechanics is really fun! :)

Hexatin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:37am

Like Vili said, had to use the mirror to download.

Languard says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:39am

A bubble wand fits the theme quite well. The graphics are serviceable and fit the game, and the same with the audio.

Croze says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:42am

Very cute and relaxing, loved the art but couldn't really figure out how to properly capture with the wand, it seemed random if it would just pop or start the progress part

Boodog says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:52am

I didn't get it at first, but it got fun when I got it! I wish that there was a mute feature though, I got kinda sick of the music. Great job!

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:57am

As a note, your primary link is broken. It's pointing your you own computer you local network. The mirror link does however work.

The game is cute and fun, but it gets repetitive since it takes a while to get any upgrades. I would make two suggestions. Make it possible to get upgrades that would increase money making direct (such as increase star spawning). Secondly, I would move the bubble down farther on the screen; it was nearly impossible to dodge when fast falling enemy appears.

Also, the music is very good. Very few entries have music so it was great to get good music right off the bat.

Uruca Games says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:03am

Great ideia!!! Very cool game!!!! ^^ I loved!

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:29am

Very Unique, and the yellow guys look nice :)

Lord bobyness says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:33am

Pleasant to play. Pleasant to see. Pleasant to listen to.
Just a simple pleasant game :)

Finn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Not gonna lie, when I saw the screenshots, I thought this'd be bad. I was proven wrong. This is a very good idea that I've never seen before! It's fiendishly brutal too! The text could do with a rework, some font sizes are too small, and some text colours are hard to read against others, but it is brilliant!

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Really very good fun. Although the choice of collecting stars threw me off. I thought they were spikes and I was avoiding them! Great game though.

aroymart says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Thank you all so much! the feedback is great and i almost wish there was a round two!

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Kind of first person Bubble Bobble! Love it. :-)

gene-z says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:24am

Very good game ,,,

Marcus316 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:25am

This was the first game that really pulled me in, probably because I wanted to see how long it would take to buy everything.

I really enjoyed the game. The only thing that stood out to me as a possible area of improvement would be improving the upgrades. Every time I upgraded, I found I wanted to go back to the basic wand/blade/soap because I could earn more star pieces. Once I bought everything I did try and get as high as I could with the best equipment (I still have never reached the end of my endurance).

Also, it might be good to have a bit more warning for the enemies that drive straight down ... or maybe I'm just too slow to react. ;)

Anyways, excellent game!

aroymart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:37am

Thanks a lot!

And yea I agree with the upgrades, I'm actually considering going back and re-balancing and adding "special effects" to the shop just for my own personal closure haha

yea sorry for the bird things, those annoy me too!

Wdavemart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:10am

It's fun, but it'd be nice if you could move the bubble both horizontally and vertically, in order to allow the player to have more time to react to hazards, or maybe go faster if they move their bubble closer to the top of the screen.

MightyToast says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:48am

Super unique idea!

sawyerWeld says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:41pm

This was awesome to watch you livestream!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Very calm experience and interesting (upgrading) mechanic. I wish dodging the falling objects would be a bit easier in terms of time given to react. Why not place the bubble a bit lower or make the enemies slower?

Foxarya says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:16pm

I'm addicted to it. I love the chicks

taviandir says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:30pm

I didn't get any feedback on anything I did, nothing died and i didnt get any money so I'm afraid I did not quite understand this game! Cute music though.

peecestudios says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Fun game cool design

jmborden says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Very unique game. Simple music went very well with the game. Perfect mood.. very relaxing game to play. Having the shop component made me want to keep playing it. I could see this becoming a mobile app.

Smirnov48 says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Wonderful game! I've played more than an hour. And never seen the sun :( Very dificult to earn money.

KaiseanGames says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Nice game.

Maybe the bubble is too large so it gets hit easier by the enemy, but other than that, it's interesting.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]