Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Out Of Mind

by Lyje - Compo Entry

Out Of Mind is a dungeon crawler in a Kafkaesque nightmare. Your enemies are delusions conjured by your paranoia, and your only weapon is to forget them.

Looking at them hurts.
Avoid looking at them for a few seconds to destroy them and regain some health.

Find the exit to each level (there are 4) and escape.

///////////////////////////////////////////

KNOWN BUGS:
There's sometimes a hole in level 3 at the bottom right!

///////////////////////////////////////////

Move: WASD / Analogue
Lock/Creep: Space / Trigger / A

Headphones and a dark room recommended!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Mood4.50
Coolness64%
#55Overall3.93
#76Audio3.76
#122Innovation3.82
#139Graphics3.90
#165Fun3.62
#171Theme3.85

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:39am

Wow! Freaked me out when the red and yellow memories showed up!

Great job!

stuffedgravy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:48am

The last level bumped up most of these ratings by 1; you should really have ramped up the difficulty at the 2nd level because that's when it gets really intense and scary and maze-y.

I'm so glad I kept going past the third level, because the next one was WAY fun. I can see how this could develop into something scary/exciting/fun. Keep at it :)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:51am

Great game. Love the art style and the implementation. Really impressed with how immersive a simple game like this can be.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:58am

Hello, thanks for the great game. You got a good scare out of me. Congrats. First, I love the atmosphere of the game. The sound effects are top notch. Love it. Second, I think I might have broken the game though, I some how ended up outside of the main wall I think. I'm not real sure. Either way, I ended up in a real fuzzy area and no boundaries. Maybe I didn't look long enough for the proper exit. Finally, this was pretty fun. A suggestion for expansion would be to add some story telling elements. This could be a really fantastic little game with a bit of story. Cheers!

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:42am

Really cool, though a bit creepy! Solid game!

nicotuason says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:42am

I felt a surprising amount of immersion despite the blocky graphics. Great job with the atmosphere and monster behaviors!

On level 3 I was able to leave the map completely, somewhere in the lower right area.

kindath says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:29pm

I think I left the map on level 3, but that actually made it even scarier.

agmcleod says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Rather excellent. Played the first few levels. Definitely had a scary feel to it, and i loved the effects for making the situation feeling tense.

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:45am

Looking interesting. But damn difficult game!

stevenlr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Really nice game! The mechanics are simple but very attractive. It's a really nice and dark interpretation of the theme. I like it a lot. The graphics are also very nice and moody. I have to admit it's a bit freaky. ^^ I was just wondering if it was normal that the HUD with the instructions wouldn't disappear. Also you get lost quite easily, but that's kind of the point a guess. Great work!

ljdp says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:06pm

ARGRGHGHGHGH I lost my mind on level 4. Great work, but you owe me a brain.

phi6 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:34am

This is brilliant!

jhell says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:15am

Incredible atmosphere considering the time constraint. Perfect sounds and clever visuals. I sometimes didn't understand why I was still getting static on the screen when I escaped from all the enemies. Original take on the theme.

ncannasse says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:33am

Nice mood !

Jyrkface says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:31pm

Great game! One of the best LD entries I've ever seen, honestly. Perfect execution on the gfx, reminded me so much of old-school silent hill.

nonetheless says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:32pm

I get a lot of null references, but the game is amazing. I like the graphics and filters, audio is appropriate and I love the idea of forgetting. Amazing job sir :)

Kevlanche says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:37pm

The only game I've given a 5 in mood this LD! Great game. Very intteresting interpretation of the theme :-)

Junber says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Really nice game. Quite scary. I especially like the pixelation style. The Console showed some NullReferenceExceptions before I closed it.

Lyje says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Many thanks for all the comments so far, really glad people like the game :D

local minimum says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Wow! Great game, top notch actually. One of the best games I've played this LD. I might be a little biased since my game feels mood kinship with yours. Really nice work with the effects, both graphics and visuals. Got to level 4 and I tried it several times before giving up. It was also great to see such diversity in the enemy behavior. The thing that I kept thinking though was that I would have wanted it as a rogue-like and just add a recuperation factor that sets in after some seconds without enemy contact. Really happy to have played it and hope you continue working on it afterwards.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Wow, great atmosphere here. The abstract presentation works very well and it's quite intriguing. Jump-scares are bad for the heart though ='D

Enneract says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:16am

Fantastic game! The mood was great, and I really loved the noise/pixel effect. Great job :)

yackeroeni says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:44pm

I really like the idea of "no weapon" being an unconventional weapon.

Apr 30, 2015 @ 9:33pm

I love the atmosphere of this game. Very interesting use of theme. Great job.

Arche-san says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Nice game mechanism and good experience.

OadT says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 9:45am

Best mood so far for me! Great work, unfortunately it wasn't dark in my room :D

May 6, 2015 @ 5:07am

Very stylish. Nice job.

Druid says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Wow! This game have probably best mood factor in this LD ! Well done! I really enjoyed this game!

Jakob37 says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:12am

Nice! I got very drawn in into this. It would probably have been a bit more satisfying for if it was a bit easier, but played to level four anyway and enjoyed it a lot :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]