Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Pew Pew Club

by lowcade - Jam Entry

Pew Pew Club is a classic plataform shooter.

This was my first time using the Construct 2. And I confess, make the art and programming requires much more than I imagined. Because of this I chose something simple. Hope you like it =)

<- -> Control
Z - Jump
X - Shoot

Made in Construct 2.

Art and programming - Fernando Perazzoli
Music - Adalberto Rodrigues
Art support - Carolina Perazzoli

I hope you like it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#108Graphics(Jam)4.19
#156Audio(Jam)3.58
#485Mood(Jam)3.12
#535Overall(Jam)3.19
#549Humor(Jam)2.79
#788Fun(Jam)2.65
#810Theme(Jam)2.89
#974Innovation(Jam)2.13

Comments

Larzan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:35am

Good gfx + music, but controls were a bit difficult, couldn't really jump over the first gap...

Rialgar says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Remember LD29, when I promised every commenter of my game a let's play? Wel, ... better late than never! Here is yours:
https://youtu.be/hnqxqFhDMQQ

Nice Music and Graphics, liked the surreal feel. A bit difficult for me, I could not figure out how to evade enemy bullets and I hate jumping into the unknown. Best Plattformer advice I ever got: let the player jump for a short time after they dropped off a ledge, so they miss it less often.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:21am

Ok so the sound and music and graphics kick ass.
But maybe I feel that it's still a shooter with a keyboard instead of a gun?
But the style is wicked.

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:11am

I enjoyed the mood, graphics and sounds were appropriate. Though I found controls a bit difficult, and the boss fight was a bit unfair. But a nice entry that can be well expanded, great job!

radmars says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:17am

Nice graphics & music (and keytars are awesome!) but the gameplay needs some tweaking. Having the enemies be almost totally evenly matched with the player is rough. If you could kill them in one or two hits it would probably feel a lot more balanced.

MiniBobbo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:18am

That was fun! I defeated the boss and restored the generator and basked in the glory of my interness.

Graphics were great (although the clouds appeared on top of everything else. Not sure if it was intentional, but to me it looked a little weird). The keytar aliens were a pain until I saw that you can outrange them. Also, the jump from the top to that small platform in the water was mean. I had to try three times before I made it, and the first time was frustrating because I had no way of telling where I was supposed to jump. Maybe raise the platform so it is on the screen to reduce the luck based leap of faith?

Great job!

stvr says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:19am

Looks amazing but REALLY tough! How do you even get past all those guys? I ended up just jumping on and then past them.

Kitsubi says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:20am

I really liked the music and theme even though I had no clue what I was fighting or how they managed to fit that whole place in the basement. The controls could use work and some of the jumps required that I exploit bug in the game to proceed.

6x13 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:23am

I really liked the media and art-style. The gameplay feels kind of dull.

UannaFF says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:25am

I got frustrated when i couldnt jump higher :C but i liked the mood set by the graphics and music, i think it's a really nice job.

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:31am

Great graphic style and animation. The platforming was good but enemies were rather tough--I gave up on the boss fight.

Larry says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:35am

I really enjoy the music and art style. I am terrible at jumping but I managed to get past the waterfall. I did learn I can jump over almost anything if I held down Z hard enough.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:43am

Great graphics and music! I'd say the gameplay was the weakest point. It was honestly pretty hard to fight some of the enemies.

Frenchie says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:44am

Nice graphics and music! Had a really hard time with the boss :( I think you need to make the jump a little higher or fast because you could barely jump over him so you'd get hit if your timing was perfect

roving-stone says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:55am

This game looks amazing. I love the colours. Gameplay wasn't that interesting though, just a standard platformer/shooter. But you guys really nailed the visuals. Good job.

BlakeB says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:55am

Good graphics, good music, difficulty scale was a little high. Found it exceedingly difficult to fight any enemy without taking severe damage myself. That's a difficult thing to balance though. Good job.

Ghen says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:02am

i love the graphics and the music, the control really nice

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:03am

Really great aesthetic! I really liked the music in the background too

MGhareeb32 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:18am

Awesome graphics, animation, and physics! Nice story and audio. The game plays very nicely but can be frustrating at times. Maybe I'm a noob :D Good job!

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:53am

Great music and graphics!
But The concept like normal weapon with another appearance.

Victor RENE says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:41am

I got frustrated. The collision, hit points and platformer theme...

lody says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:46am

very difficult to get the enemies without being hit but very fun! i love the graphics and music/sound! has a very nice style :)

Tselmek says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Very nice art style and funky sountrack. Controls were a bit difficult and I couldn't jump over the first hole.

Blunt says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:34pm

great colors and art style.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:39pm

I love those backgrounds, color and character style.
I instinctally press up arrow to jump so I felt some times.
Combat was a liitle unfair, if you wait for them to shoot you don't have time to jump, if you jump in advance they shoot up.
But overall the game is really nice.

The4thCircle says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:45pm

This is a fairly solid platformer let down by a couple of problems with the player being outgunned. The leap of faith after the waterfall was a dick move, especially when I died about 5 times getting that far.

The tiny hop when you press up mislead me into thinking that was the biggest jump you could do at first, but even when I realised my error the jump wasn't high enough to avoid enemy fire, particularly when all fire fights are at such short range due to the lifespan of the bullets.

The worst crime however is the first boss, whom I couldn't get past, because I spent all my time avoiding his attacks and didn't have the opportunity to get any fire in myself. When I tried I was forced to get close due to my weapons being much shorter range than his, and there wasn't enough time to jump out of the way when he attacked. Maybe if you spent the whole weekend playtesting it you'll have slipped into the flow and have mastery of these controls, but I doubt many people will attempt to develop such mastery when judging hundreds of jam games.

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Well made! The enemies take too many hits to kill though.

mike1101 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:09pm

What are the keys ?!? AAAAhhhh !

I had to restart. Why not WSAD people ! ... Sorry. Maybe I have right-handed privilege ...

Very cool graphics and music !

The shooting itself was hard. I kept getting hit by the monster ... Maybe like a block button ? He has such a faster shoot rate. Should I be jumping over those shots ?

Why am I transparent ? Is that my health ?

It's hard to criticise (how is that spelling wrong?) since your art would ... I would never have been able to do that. But the actual play was a bit wooden ... I wish there was some kind of law of good platformer physics. I don't think that it's as simple as F=ma ... He should snap up, and snap down ... Same with the bullets. Else it feels like you're just, well ... Playing something that came right out of game studio or whatever ...

I'm starting to feel bad for saying bad things. But that was my first impression - Neat graphics. Sucky physics ... That's what I would work on next (if I were you and I wanted to keep working on it).

Anyway. Hope that helps :)

Cstudios says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:10pm

I had one problem: the weapon. It took more shots to kill a monster than for the monster to kill me. The shooting range was shorter or the same as the enemy's. Also they could shoot in angle upwards, so the evasion of the projectiles was difficult. Some balancing of the game would be good. But a solid entry, nevertheless.

MaesK says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Nice music and graphics. A bit difficult, but it's ok. Good work.

Jellyhard says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Hey, it's really nice to see another team from Brazil! Your entries always look amazing, and this one is no exception.

kunzbe says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:20pm

I dont know why, but I really loved the leg animation :) the game was quite difficult, I died over and over again

spin-down says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:06pm

Great graphics and I liked the use of colours. As mentioned, blind jumps are not good and it could have done with a few checkpoints as its pretty tough.

psychonull says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Nice game . I like the music and graphics. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]