Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Bob the different bird

by joppiesaus - Compo Entry

Bob is a bird. Just like the other birds. But one day, he didn't want to fly to the south, he wanted to go to the north. He went to the north. And he's happy there.
Did I mention that he also has an eating disorder and thus can lay eggs very
quickly and often?
He realized that too. Not only he will go to the north, he'll also try to destroy all the conventional houses and offices. Can you guide him?

=========== CONTROLS =============
Arrow key up - move up
Spacebar - Lay egg
M - Toggle mute(sound)
R - restart(when possible)
Escape - quit

=========== INFO =============
This game was made for the 32th Ludum Dare Competition, a competition where you create a game in 48 hour.

The sourcecode is probably here: http://function1.nl/ld/LD32/Bob_src.zip
And in case you lost the game: http://function1.nl/ld/LD32/Bob.zip

License: Public domain

First I created a game where you needed to do something with quarks. It had gravity and all sorts of cool things implemented. But I didn't know how to make it fun. Then I got this idea, and started making it. I made this in very few hours, which surprised me.

Oh, and you need to have the XNA Framework installed.

Have fun! -joppiesaus

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#513Humor2.77
#800Audio1.86
#857Graphics2.52
#862Theme2.91
#967Mood2.26
#978Fun2.41
#1067Innovation2.06
#1073Overall2.44

Comments

Muffin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:51am

The game crashes for me before it starts, I can give you the error codes but not much else. Debugging in visual studio gave me this: An unhandled exception of type 'System.IO.FileNotFoundException' occurred in Unknown Module.

Additional information: Could not load file or assembly 'Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Game, Version=4.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=842cf8be1de50553' or one of its dependencies. The system cannot find the file specified.
Perhaps you are missing some XNA libraries? Or is this just me?

joppiesaus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:10am

Perhaps are you missing some XNA libraries? This is a common problem I've seen when someone hasn't XNA installed. I tested it and it worked on all my machines. I'll port it later to MonoGame anyways, so that problem will be solved.

Muffin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:22am

Oops, you are right, my bad, my XNA is not working for any game. Sorry about that! Cant delete my comment though :S

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:06am

HARD! but good fun. I like bombing stuff with eggs :)

Prowler says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:43am

Hard as hell! But great! The next Tiny-flappy-wings-bird. Seriously! Upload it into the app-store, you will be suprised! (I can help you uploading it or make an app out of it if you like).

This is a humor and theme full scorer for me. However, I'm missing some background music to push up the sound and mood score but it is fun and overall a seriously good game!

Keep up that good work!

Pat

P.S.: If you don't know how many stars to give to my little toy: give 5 stars to every category and you will see a lot of funny yellow stars on your voting screen ;)

Prowler says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:44am

Nice video on Youtube by the way!

elpaulo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Very Hard ! My best score is 8. I love the design of the "different" bird :-)

Hamsternator says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:58am

This thing is hard XD
I'd suggest placing the bird a little further to the left since you need some time to react to what's coming. The up/down movement seemed way to harsh to me at first, but I can kind of see the appeal to that now.

Fun entry =)

timmik94 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Don't workikng

Ghen says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:11pm

pain in the arse to play :)), but really fun, my highscore only 5 tho :/, this is harder than one of those flappy bird like game with swinging hammer
it probably much better if it using poop instead of egg :p

joppiesaus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Thanks for the feedback. It was not intended to look like flappy bird. In fact, I realized that after the competition.

@Prowler hmm. I'll think about porting it to Android or something, I want to learn that. Great idea!

@Hamsternator It was intended to have it in the front of the screen, so you have to act really fast! And it would be more convenient for the eggs too.

@timmik94 Do you have XNA installed? I can't do anything with "Don't workikng", please explain why.

nevet says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:30pm

wish I could play this, but i'm on a mac.....looks like a fun game!<3 Bob

Yozz says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Yeah, it's as hard as flappy bird.
Nice!

DarkGrisen says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Haha! Really funny game! It reminds me from the game Flappy Bird.
I scored 36! :D

Kardamom says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:41am

A very steep learning curve but was fun after a while of accustumization. Maybe have slightly less opponent birds at the begginning to let the player learn how to play?

sorlok says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:08pm

Has some interesting things about it. I like the egg mechanic and the visuals.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:49am

Classic but fun to play. You should have put the bird a little more on the right i think.

GameQuester says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 12:03pm

Very hard but fun game. My highscore was 27.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Wow, INCREDIBLY difficult. I feel like the controls were a bit too touchy, and the hotbox on the bird was a little to big. However, still pretty fun and addicting. HS: 14 :(

May 7, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Not bad. Gravity felt a bit too strong and the hitbox seemed to be just a bit bigger than the birder (or was too "boxy" where there's empty space on the birder graphic) - so it was very difficult, but otherwise good theme, graphics, and addition to traditional helicopter gameplay.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]